Fiction logo

The Diary of Mishelle Gold

23rd April 2022

By Ruth Elizabeth StiffPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Well, at last, we have finally moved into our new place. It’s taken long enough, over three years, to buy it and have it renovated but finally — it’s just perfect for us to move into. Well worth the £5 million!!!

Our jobs are as busy as ever. Jack is off again on another tour, just one month this time, but I’m so busy with work that I’ve hardly enough time to sleep. I still look back to when I was fifteen wanting this job so badly and knowing the studying and degrees I had to get but yes, I’m here now and, it’s not just the money, but the whole enjoyment of doing something I just really enjoy.

My professional circle of friends are nice. There’s ten of us now and we have just opened a new office in Florida, so I’m flying back and forth at least twice a week. I love my life in London!!! The money ‘seems’ to be rolling in. A few of the other girls are a bit bitchy about Senora but I try to keep everything professional. I mean, I will meet up with the girls for an event or a special dinner, but I do try to keep work and play separate, which I personally think is really important. Besides, my personal circle of friends are girls I grew up with and went to school with. Joanne is having yet another baby (5th) and Angelic is getting married for the 3rd time, but we’ve all known each other for ???? thirty years plus!

I’m going over to see mum next week, we’re having a few days together. I phone every single day and since dad died, she is really making a life for herself, which I’m over the moon about, but I am her only daughter and so should spend more time with her. It’s a shame Shane is not interested, her only son, my only brother. If dad was alive, he’d soon sort Shane out but it’s none of my business, I just wish he hadn’t joined that religious cult — it’s not even Christian.

Mum wants another grandchild but after my three, I really can’t risk having any more, the doctor told me so, although I do love babies. John is just finishing University, Julie has started her apprenticeship at the Fashion House and Jake is still in high school — so Jack and I are kept pretty busy. I just wish they lived with us but they love mum and I know they are safe there, so at the moment, it’s fine.

Just sold a $5 million house in Florida to one of the stars, which has given us a nice commission of $500,000. $100,000 will go into the office and we get to keep $400,000, which will come in real handy after all the money we have just spent on this new house. It’s really nice because, although I am full-time, I don’t have to go into the office every day as I can work from home (or anywhere), and it is nice working in this house, so comfortable and airy.

Thinking of having an Anniversary party for this year, 20 years is pretty special and I’d love to have mum over to stay. Will speak to Jack about it when he calls later.

I think I’ll concentrate on the brokerage for a while, the Fashion House is doing better than ever and Sarah is doing a good job, looking after it for me. Little did I think it would ‘explode’ so well when I first started designing dresses — wow, before I even got married!!! Now, it’s well established and (I think) it’ll stay as a bridal company. I’m so pleased Julie is a part of it now, I’d like her to be a partner one day, she is really talented (but then I would say that being her mother).

Must close now diary, I feel a bit like Anne Frank writing “Dear Diary” but, of course, there’s no comparison. See you soon xx

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Ruth Elizabeth Stiff

I love all things Earthy and Self-Help

History is one of my favourite subjects and I love to write short fiction

Research is so interesting for me too

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.