Fiction logo

The Devil came in Triplicate

Three innocent faces of Eve.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 9 min read
2
Shawn Henry>Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own.

The occupants of the Mary Magnalena Children's home were fast asleep. The old building creaked and groaned the way of many an old house. Matron was awake though, as she was on many a night, trying to make the checks and balances align just right for the continuance of the everyday activity of the old creaky building. Some days, when her bones hurt, she felt just as old and decrepit as the faithful walls that gave the poor children a safe place to call home.

I was always awake whenever Matron was in her office. I like to sneak up to the attic with a flashlight, even though it was usually quite bright up here, the moon shone happily through the great window, I imagined that it was happy to see me and have company at nights. I would usually play with the discarded toys and read the old books that no one wanted anymore. Most of them were scary ghost stories. I loved those a lot. But tonight I had other more inquisitive escapades planned.

There was a large mirror in the corner which was covered over and tied up with a great deal of rope and with an old lock protecting it. We were all curious as to why the thing was wrapped up, even more so as to why we were forbidden to go to the attic. Tonight, I brought scissors and the key which I had stolen/borrowed from the caretaker Martin, while he napped. I cut all the ropes off and used the key to open the lock. Before doing anything else though, I had to return the key.

Martin was forgetful, so if I shoved the key under some furniture downstairs, he would fully believe that he had lost it. I stuck it in the sofa and crept back to the attic.

As I poked my head through the opening I realized that there was a large glowing mirror which was no longer covered over. It had somehow been able to uncover itself. I almost fell down the stairs at the shock of the mirror's appearance. Considering flight or fight, I chose curiosity over safety. I slowly approached the mirror, the middle of it was glowing blood red, while moving in spiraling circles.

Suddenly two arms appeared, the head of a young girl followed. I fell over backward and scooted away on my backside, preparing to run downstairs as fast s I could. The girl walked out of the mirror, followed by another, then another. They looked completely identical. I was too terror stricken to move. The mirror was either cracked, or the faces of the girls were broken, I could not tell.

Behind them the ghostly mirror moaned, wailed and groaned in agony, sounds of scratching could be heard, like nails clawing on splintering wood. As if the souls of the dead were trapped somewhere, futilely trying to claw their way out.

By Aimee Vogelsang on Unsplash

I tried to run. My body didn't move.

"We are Eve". They intoned together. "We have come for the children".

Hell no, nope. I suddenly found my ability to move. Dashing down the stairs, I ran towards Matron's office. Hoping that she had not gone to bed. I collided with her coming around the corner and fell flat on my butt.

"Josanna, what the dickens are you doing tearing down the hall at this hour of the morning"? She stuck her hands out to help me up. I was out of breath.

"In...in the attic. Girls..three girls..Eve"! Was what came out.

Matron Lavernia jumped back as if someone had slapped her in the face. She grabbed me and shook my shoulders.

"Did you uncover the mirror child"? She asked in alarm.

"Um, yes Ma'am". I replied.

"God help us. Go to your room now, and lock the door, Hurry"! She shouted.

But I didn't do that, I followed her. She ran all the way to the Caretaker's little house next door. Sleepily he opened the door at her insistent knocking.

"Martin....attic, curious child...Eves out.....". Was all I heard.

"Oh F%$#@, s$*#t"! He gasped. "Let me get my things".

I hid as they ran back to the main building, then I followed.

"Call Esmerelda now"! Matron shouted to Minerva, one of the teachers. People were waking up, the noise in the attic had gotten louder.

"Phillip, get the teachers, round up all the children and get them to the great hall, quickly now"! She admonished.

"But... what is..."? He began.

"Explanations will follow shortly. Just do it". She called as she ran with Martin up to the attic.

I ran behind them. Martin was first up the steps, he was just in time to see two children disappear into the mirror. Matron was shouting to Martin to grab the kids. He was too late.

The image on the mirror was beautiful as I peeked between the two adults. Now a beautiful song was being sung. The view of a lovely white and red tree lined road hypnotized the senses and drew the children in. Too late they saw the long witchlike fingers grab their arms and yank them forcibly into the mirror.

Wolfgang Hasselmann- Unsplash

The three Eves started walking towards us. "We need the children". They chanted.

"RUN"! Matron yelled, almost tumbling over me. She sighed deeply and grabbed my hand.

The Eves came swiftly behind us. They kind of floated as I looked quickly back. The mirror too, was floating behind them.

"Matron, the mirror". I said.

"I know, child. Just get to the main hall".

I heard Martin yell.

I glanced back in time to see a huge black raven grab his throat, blood dripped as it lifted him high and tossed him like a ragdoll onto the floor. Matron shoved me into the hall and quickly locked the door behind her.

The younger kids were crying, teachers were trying to console them. The older ones were milling around, everybody had questions. Matron and Martin were the only ones who knew the story of the three orphan girls.

Fifty years ago, a poor family had triplet girls. They did not have the means to care for all three. The mother had run off and left them with the father who took them to the orphanage, then he too went away. They were strange kids from the very beginning. As they grew older all sorts of weird things began to happen. Pets died, animals and birds were found dead all around the property. They had discovered a secret in an old mirror in the attic. It had belonged to the original owner of the house a century ago. People had tried to destroy it, but to no avail. Anyone who tried to remove it from the house met a tragic death. The house was eventually willed to become a home for orphaned children by the last owner. The last descendant of the Magdalena family.

The Magdalenas were a rich and powerful family who gained riches by nefarious means. A witch had cursed them long ago, saying that nothing good would ever come from the family. They had all died before the age of thirty, except for Georgina, the last living Magdalena. She just disappeared one day. It is believed that the entire family is trapped inside the haunted mirror which leads to somewhere in hell.

One night while everyone slept, the triplets lured all the children, except one, into the mirror's clutches. They all entered it and were never seen again. Matron was the only one who had survived. She had hidden herself in a huge drawer filled with clothing and watched helplessly as the children disappeared into the floating enticing mirror.

By GVZ 42 on Unsplash

Esmerelda, Matron's older sister, was versed in witchcraft and the occult. She knocked and knocked at the door when she arrived. The doors had been shut by evil and could not be opened. A huge crow came flying towards her as we watched out the window. Esmerelda threw some powdered stuff at it, it squawked and flew into the sky, then came charging down again, she barely made it into her car, but the bird was pecking and squalling awfully. She drove a short distance and the car crashed into a tree.

Jason Hawke -Unsplash

It was no use trying to call the police, the phone lines were dead. They would most certainly all be killed anyway. Their best hope was in the car, no one knew if she were even still alive. The parish Priest was out of town and could not reach them in time. They were on their own.

"Come here Josanna". Matron called to me, she was standing by the window while everyone sat in groups trying to console each other.

I hurried over to her. She handed me the necklace that she always wore around her neck.

"Promise me that you will listen to what I am about to tell you and do exactly as I say. Hang this around your neck and under your clothing. It is a charmed necklace, this is why I am alive today". She whispered words of bravery and instructions on how to survive this night. With tears in my eyes I hugged her and turned towards the door.

Matron had explained briefly about the girls, the mirror and it's potential for magical and evil deeds.

I turned to beckon the children to follow, but the great door splintered and crashed to the floor with a rending and tearing of wood. The mirror sailed swiftly through the door. All the children stiffened as the Three Eves began chanting. They all turned and walked towards the mirror. The adults tried to stop them, but black menacing ravens stormed from the mirror and began pecking away at their eyes.

Blood was everywhere. The children had gone into the mirror. The Eves sniffed the air, trying to locate me.

"Go now". Matron whispered to me as the birds converged upon her.

I crept out the back door and ran through the woods, wolves howled, but I was beyond caring. I just needed to get as far away as I possibly could.

Alexander Fasto - Unspalsh

I ran all night. The necklace had been charmed with a protective spell against evil. I was sensed, but not seen.

The mirror she said, always beckoned to someone. It had been calling me for a long while up to the attic, had made me do their bidding. Around my neck hung the key to it's destruction.

I just had to make it to Esmerelda's house. She would be waiting, alive she could fight them, dead she would be sure to succeed. I wanted her to be alive, but dead would be decidedly better.

The mirror's end was near. I just hope to get to the children before their time ran out.

Esmeralda was home. She shimmered and floated towards me. We had work to do!

HorrorFantasy
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Canuck Scriber L.Lachapelle Authorabout a year ago

    Truly frightening.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.