Fiction logo

The deadly locket

Pretty little heart shaped locket

By Maria Tarquinio-Kuhn Published 3 years ago 4 min read
Heart shaped locket

So here’s a story about a heart shaped locket. When I saw this locket, I just had to have it. It was gold in color, pretty plain, with a very tiny, almost invisible diamond on the right side of you are looking at it. The inside was that of a normal locket but this in particular locket held a secret. So, I should go back and say this locket was a gift I bought myself but it was not from a fancy jewelry shop. It was from a pawn shop. Someone in a hurry sold it because they needed money quickly. I don’t think they got a lot for the locket but it seems like a piece of jewelry that can easily be discarded. When I saw it, it literally spoke to me and I just had to have it. When I opened the locket, inside I found a life of hurt, good times, and lonely nights. There was a picture in the space and it occurred to me that this was no ordinary locket and the person that pawned it needed to get rid of it and it waited, almost on baited breath, for its next victim. When I placed the locket on my neck I felt a pull from inside my chest, of course I ignored it because that was a crazy feeling and not from a locket I told myself. The locket seemed to pull me into its disparity and dysfunction. I felt a burning in my chest but I kept telling myself it was nothing and it couldn’t be the locket.I thought it was strange that I didn’t have these feelings when the locket was off only after the locket owned me, I was not able to get the locket off. So, here’s the story of my locket, the locket I grew to hate and the locket that ultimately took my life……

I put the locket on this morning but noticed that when I expected the burn in my chest and the despair that I see when it hangs from my neck, I have become accustomed to these feelings. The locket has power to destroy a person. When I place it on my neck, I am drawn into a life that is not mine but I am living it. It began with negativity which pushed all of my family and friends away. When I explained about the locket, they chalked it up to me being crazy and moved on. I also want to tell you that if I was on my way to work I would all of a sudden change route and go another place. I never knew where I was going or how I got back. The locket sucked me in and I became one with the locket. Seeing the murders began after the third day of wearing the locket. I would see women wearing the locket and watch them being hunted and murdered.

On the third day when I put on the locket, I had strange sensations throughout my body. I realized that the feelings were coming stronger each time I put the locket around my neck. I reached to take the locket off but to my utter surprise it would not come off, Nothing I did worked to get it off, I even tried using metal clippers and nothing; the locket remained around my neck or throat I should say and strangely, it felt tighter. This day, the third day of wearing the locket was the only day I recall putting the locket on, after that, it was automatic, like it was calling me and making me put it on even without my knowledge. The murders were vivid. The women would scream but the sounds was silenced by the locket. The women were made to do things, awful things. What it reminded me of was the movie “The Purge” where people went on killing sprees. Whomever wore the locket was purging and no matter what evidence was left behind, no one could find exactly what happened, so the locket walked away scott free. People were hunted like in the purge and then murdered for no reason, it seemed the locket was scorned and was now getting even like an eye for an eye or in this case a locket for a locket. I can’t tell you when I saw my family last or even went to work. I was owned by the locket. I knew I would die too because there was no one that I can talk to the only thing I had left was the locket. My life began taking a toll for the worse. I no longer cared about food, I just obliged the locket and murdered many people. My time was coming to an end again I tried to take off the locket but it was wrapped so tightly around my throat I could feel my bleeding and burning flesh. I went back to the pawn shop to see if they can help me get it off. I made it it to the front door, opened the door and collapsed. The last thing I heard was the owner say “here she comes, they always come back with this locket”. When the police found my body still collapsed in the doorway of the pawn shop, there was no locket around my neck; the locket was in my tightly clenched fist. As they carried my body way, the owner reached into my palm and grabbed the locket. He shined up the pretty little locket and placed It in the showcase again to be sold once again.

The coroner declared I was murdered, but there were not clues and no motives. I, like many other women have been captured and killed by this pretty little locket.

Short Story

About the Creator

Maria Tarquinio-Kuhn

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Maria Tarquinio-Kuhn Written by Maria Tarquinio-Kuhn

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.