Fiction logo

The Day The Earth Stood Still

How to defy gravity

By T. K. WilsonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
The Day The Earth Stood Still
Photo by Ashley Bean on Unsplash

It started like any other Autumn day in November, but then it happened.... Everything began to float! "How could this be?", I thought, as I lifted from my chair, but my chair was lifting with me. As I got to the ceiling, so did everything in the room. I looked out the window, my cat, Shadow, went by and headed towards the clouds. She looked at me and meowed, as if to say "What the hell?". She grabbed the edge of the roof with her claws, but was unable to hold on and continued to float off into space. I couldn't imagine what was happening! I turned on the TV after I crawled my way across the ceiling to get to it. Nothing about the news broadcasts looked normal. Everyone was in a panic and trying to let us all know what was going on, even when they weren't completely sure yet. Apparently, the craziest thing imagined had happened....The Earth had stopped turning!!! The Earth's rotation is what causes gravity, so since it had stopped, there was no gravity. Everything that was not anchored into the ground was just floating into space! No one knew why, nor how this could have happened! Nor did they know what to do about it, or if it would begin to rotate again, nor when that might happen. They reported that all of the cars and anyone who wasn't in buildings had just floated away and that their fate was unknown. All airplanes, ships and other mass transit vehicles were unaccounted for. How could this be? I was no scientist, but I knew this wasn't a very good thing at all!! Although, I did enjoy flying through my home by just pushing off from anywhere...that was really fun! Nothing was going to work the way it always had unless something was done about gravity. No one could leave where they were, except the idiots that didn't believe in COVID-19. They didn't believe any of this either, so they just walked out of their homes and floated away. "HA", I thought, "Maybe this is the Earth's way of ridding itself of more than COVID-19, earthquakes, hurricanes and Tsunamis could, all in one fell swoop!" But, where had everything and everyone gone? Would it all come crashing back down, if the Earth's rotation just started back again? What a mess that would be!!

There was no way to do anything normal days consisted of. Make coffee nor breakfast, nor even go to the bathroom. Gravity was in control of all of that! I "laid" on the ceiling and tried to figure all of this out as the news rattled on about how this was affecting the White House. Each country was having a news conference, starting with the U.S. at 1pm. And going around the globe. It was almost noon, so I made a sandwich for lunch, which was a very daunting task indeed. "I sure hope this predicament doesn't last long", I thought. "I will starve and going to the bathroom is impossible. Maybe I shouldn 't eat until I'm sure what's going on!" I was hungry and had already made the sandwich, so I ate anyway, hoping for a quick resolution. Just then... I hit the floor! Nothing was out of place, shadow meowed at me from the couch that I had just rolled off of and the weatherman on the TV was just finishing up and sending it back to the head anchorman. My mind was blurry, but it was clear enough to realize it had all been a dream. "WOW", I thought, "I hope THAT never happens!!!" :-)

Sci Fi
4

About the Creator

T. K. Wilson

I've always told my true event stories to friends, but decided to try my hand at writing fiction. Wish me luck and give me any support that you think I might deserve! Even if it is a read and subscribe to read more... THANK YOU :-)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.