Fiction logo

The curse – part 3.

Home sweet home

By Anna Published 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 3 min read
4
The curse – part 3.
Photo by Nathan McDine on Unsplash

Don't miss the previous parts!

~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

After some silent seconds I start to target Tom with my questions. I feel like someone who lost their memories. Actually I did... I only have some faded seconds, but definitely no idea what is going on. I don't even know whether to trust him or not. I mean he sounded quite convincing about Paul. Something is wrong though... I can tell it.

"Sooo... how did we actually end up here?" – I ask a bit nervously.

"Well in the morning you said that you were gonna get some firewood... remember?"

Yeah, right... – I try, but I do not remember any of this part of the morning... – aaand what's with Paul? Where is he?"

"Paul... ohh, yeah... he was supposed to come with you..."

"But?"

"But I offered him that I would come, so he could stay at home and recover from his illness."

Tom is a cool guy. I've known him ever since I've known my friend. He was only a teenager when we first met. Now he's a grown up man who'd do anything for his older brother. I appreciate that in him...

Paul had a serious cold indeed... I remember that. The Paul I saw was probably just an illusion. I must've been hallucinating...

"And the last thing I know is you falling off of the ladder... – Tom continued – I'm so sorry I couldn't help, it all happened so fast..."

"No, no, no, you already helped me a lot..." – I say smiling, looking at my cloth-covered chest wound and then at him.

"Ohh, that was the least I could do" – Tom smiles back at me.

"Thank you though! You got your phone on ya by any chance?" – I ask him with some hope in my eyes.

"Yeah, why you asking?" – he pulls out a mobile from his pocket. The brand new iPhone 15. How could I forget? Tom had a job with an extremely high salary. And he never missed to show it by buying the most exclusive things he could. But he also donated a lot generously, remembering with respect to the poor, where his family also came from. The only thing I'm jealous is his never ending persistence... and good heart.

"Awesome!" – I grab it – "Now we can finally use a map to get outta here ASAP."

"Look, Johnny, I don't think this is really necessary..." – Tom begins.

"Ohh, you're totally right! I should probably just call Paul and ask him to pick..."

"Jonathan!"

"Hm?" – I look up and see our apartment – "How is this..."

"...possible?" – Tom shakes his head.

"Yeah I mean I can't believe that a minute ago we were in the middle of nowhere surrounded by creepily rustling trees and now you're telling me that we got home? That's too easy! – I laugh.

Well, that's exactly what it looks like... We're lucky I guess... Let's go inside and clean your wound! – Tom suggests.

"Great idea!" – I agree and follow him.

thrillerMysteryHorrorCONTENT WARNINGAdventureCONTENT WARNINGfiction
4

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Andy Potts10 days ago

    Not gonna lie, it was the pic of Cragside that drew me in. Glad it did - that triptych was an engaging read. Thanks.

  • Oh I think I missed the previous parts. Wait...

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.