Fiction logo

The chosen ones(?)

Your time is valuable! Don't waste it!

By Anna Published 26 days ago 3 min read
10
A photo of Luna

I'm outside, in the garden.

Thinking...

I can't tell how much I love my dogs. I mean, I just look at them, and... how can they be so adorable? There are days when they're just much better company than any of my friends... They listen whether I'm sad, or happy... whether I cry or laugh... I'm grateful for them...

I often wonder if they can feel what I feel.

Some people say animals don't have feelings. It's bullshit! Why would we deserve more than them? Why would we be able to feel, when they don't? Why would we be God's favourite? We aren't...

Last week my biology teacher said, that we aren't at the top of the food chain. We aren't even close... It got me thinking. We, humans just have a higher IQ level than all of the other creatures on Earth. That's what makes us outstanding from the other creatures. That's the reason we can survive. We learned it through experiences... Is it a bless? It can be... However what we got from nature, we shouldn't use against it.

But is it really an advantage? Our knowledge comes with problems... lots of problems to solve... These little dogs are just playing and jumping around in the garden. They've got no issues. They're so simple... They can't even understand life yet they're happy about it.

We can never be like that, no matter how hard we try. There will always be a thought floating above our head that one day we're gonna die, no matter what we did on this planet. Do you think dogs worry about it? They don't even know what death means...

I just admire them a lot! Sometimes it hurts to know that one day I'll have to say goodbye to them... As they say: "A dog is a part of your life, but you are everything to your dog." My eyes are still full of tears when I saw somewhere and read this line...

So the most important thing: love your dogs! Spend time with them! Because time is the biggest value we have in our life. One day everything and everyone will be gone... You can't change that... So if you chose your dog, make their life happy, and don't let them wait for you while you're sitting in front of the screen! They cannot go back to the shelter or to their parents and say: "Hey, I want another owner, because this one doesn't care about me." They wouldn't say that even if they could. Because they love you! And this is what matters! They love you with their whole presence. That is rare!

Humans can't love like a dog... They think they can... But we will never really understand these creatures. And they will never really understand their own selves. But they will still love you unconditionally!

If you're reading this, you still have time. Go out for a walk with your dog and make memories!

Thanks for reading! If you liked my story, please let me know by leaving a tip and a comment. Subscribe and check out my work if you'd like! Have a wonderful day!

Short StoryLove
10

About the Creator

Anna

I love writing poems and stories so I decided to turn my talent into money to help out my family a bit. Please subscribe and tip or pledge if you enjoy my work. Any support is appreciated!🫶

You can buy me a coffee HERE😊

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Esala Gunathilake14 days ago

    You cleverly did it!

  • The Writer 17 days ago

    great advice for dog owners

  • John Cox26 days ago

    This is a lovely piece and an important reminder that we are not alone.

  • Novel Allen26 days ago

    Dogs are ok, I am more of a cat person. I would be ok with dog if not for the OCD, poop on the streets freak me out. Doggie diapers come to mind. Your story is great by the way..

  • You may be interested to know that one of the orignal cynics, Diogenes of Sinope, was a renowned lover of dogs. The word cynic comes from kynikos, the Greek word for dog. Diogenes, who was known to sleep in an urn in the streets and poke fun at his fellow philosophers, loved dogs for all the reasons you give here. From a modern Cynick to a young and bright hope, I say: Well-wrought! Write on!

  • I loved this story. I have to admit, reading it, I got distracted and debated with myself whether we are at the top of the food chain, lol. But the truth embedded in this story sparked an even more gripping debate. You are so right! Is our intelligence a gift or a burden?!! Side note: I'm glad I caught what auto-correct did because it changed gripping debate to gripping death, which would have made this comment a bit awkward. Great entry, and so well written Anna

  • TheSpinstress26 days ago

    "...what we got from nature, we shouldn't use against it." is a very powerful line. This story is so uplifting - we should definitely appreciate the little things in life.😊

  • ema26 days ago

    This is so true, they live simply but they can be happy, also they suffer loneliness when we don't pay attention to them. I can't imagine my life without my beautiful dog!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.