Fiction logo

The Courage and Cowardice

A Life Unseen

By Mufeetha Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
The Courage and Cowardice
Photo by Anatol Lem on Unsplash

The horizon was shining gold. The birds' chorus faded since it was time to rest.

Her welcome seemed to be a curious surprise,

A smile so sweet, it spoke of hidden ties,

Her eyes, a window to stories, made me surmise.

When she saw me she waved her hand.

She is newly moved in the house across from mine. But she didn't strike me as someone new. After waving back at her, I went inside my own house. No conversation had taken place between us.

On questioning my mother, she said that she was going to stay alone.

Her smile shone like a pearl in the shell,

Her character, an added property to tell,

Her loneliness, a forest cuckoo's cheerful song,

Did I envy her or simply adore her, I couldn't discern.

Some were gossiping about her, saying she wasn't quite right.While others were disdainful about her behaviour outright.

To fellow women, her behaviour was kind. She was always inclined and saw them as her friend. To the men, she had a special trait. She had shown a character that was firm and straight. She was like a little girl to young children, full of energy, joy, and a playful soul. While dealing with adults, her manner was gentle and meek.

Through all her behaviour I saw some quality and no fault could be shown. She was a symbol of goodness and might.

It had only been a few days since she moved into the neighbourhood, but already everyone was talking about her. Rumours and speculation spread through the community like a wildfire, fuelled by the curiosity and gossip of the locals. Whatever the truth was, one thing was clear, she had captured the attention of the town, and her presence would not go unnoticed.

As a woman, I couldn't help but I did admire her. From the stylish clothes she wore to the uninhibited freedom with which she lived her life, she seemed to embody everything I longed for.

One day, she invited me to her house. I had been there before, when the previous owner was still living there, but it felt like a completely different place now. The walls were adorned with colourful paintings and tapestries, and the air was filled with the scent of exotic spices and incense. It was as if the house itself had come to life, mirroring the vibrancy and vitality of its new inhabitant.

The meeting made me more inspired about her and I wonder how people could despise such a genuine and kind one.

To them, she was just another person in the crowd. But to me, she was so much more than that.

One fine morning, it was time for her to leave for work. As I had done many times before, I waited for her by the door for long but I realized she must have already left without me noticing. I set off for my own job.

After a few hours had passed, I arrived at the street and was met with a scene of chaos in front of her house. The street was overcrowded with people. Ignoring the confusion and commotion, I made my way straight to her front door, my heart racing with worry and concern. As I stepped inside, a disaster had struck, leaving her home in a state of disarray.

All I could see was her, laying on the floor lifeless and still. I felt numb and everything seemed to blur. I don't remember leaving the house, but the next thing I knew I was outside, gasping for air.

An unfathomable sorrow pierced my soul,

A momentary halt of my beating heart,

My mind with queries raced and took its toll,

As I stood still, stumbling from the start.

In that same place where I first saw her grace,

Where she shone like a radiant star,

Now she lay still, with an empty face,

My world crumbled, like a house of cards.

The small town was buzzing with gossip. Some said that she had taken her own life, but I knew she wasn't a coward. Despite not knowing her story, I felt a deep connection to her. She might have got her own struggles but carried with an admirable strength.

The funeral was quiet. No one came to claim her as their own, and I wondered about the pain and worries she might have carried alone.

I was inspired. It made me want to live my own life in a way that reflected her strength and determination.

I felt a deep sense of sadness knowing that she had chosen to end her journey, and that she had done so without letting anyone know the reasons behind it.

The mystery surrounding her death remained unsolved. She lived a lonely life, without anyone to care for her. The society failed to protect her and no one knew what was going on in her mind.

Even now, I see her in mind's eye, standing there. So many questions remain unanswered.

Why did she choose that path, even though she knew it was wrong?

Wasn't she courageous enough to overcome it?

What was she thinking in her final moments?

What pain was she enduring?

I ask for her forgiveness, as I failed to reach out to her. I should have stood by her side as a member of this society. She will always be in my thoughts, and I'll think of her whenever I feel down. Thank you for crossing my path, my friend.

Did you really leave as a coward?

Sorry...!

Short StoryLoveFable
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.