Fiction logo

Forgotten Friend

She should know...

By Mufeetha Published about a year ago 4 min read
1
Forgotten Friend
Photo by Caroline Hernandez on Unsplash

In a quiet corner of my heart,

There lies a memory that won't depart.

Of a friend I used to play with.

But now, I see her face no more.

We met on our street when we were young. Our friendship had just begun. Together we laughed, we played, we dreamed and our bond was stronger than it seemed.

But life has pulled us different ways. I wonder where my friend has gone and what she does now. Is she still the same as before? Does she think of me?

Until she got married I was there with her. Does she know of my baby boy? The moments we had are now memories to be treasured. But now it seems so far away.

Inseparable we were, so pure and so true. We used to ride on a single bike together. We used to sit and chat forever. We would play hopscotch in the warm sun, until the day would end.

One day on a summer vacation, the sun was shining so bright. I wept sharing the memory of my father who left us. She held my shoulder and assured me never to let our bond apart.

Through thick and thin, she was always there;

A friend who is so true, beyond comparison,

In the hardest times, she stood by my side,

With a pure heart and a bright soul.

Even when life was simple and good, I wanted you for all the time. Now during this toughest phase of my life, I couldn't find someone who just convinced me. And I keep searching for you.

I remember the day when I confided in her, about a crush I had. She noticed the change in me, as I spoke his name. I told her all about him and how his presence, made my heart skip a beat.

Years passed,

On that day, I sat there in silence with tears in my eyes, told her that he broke up with me. She knows how I loved him like the back of her hand. She listened to me with an open heart.

She held my hand and hugged me close, as I shared the pain I felt inside. She promised to be there with me forever even then. But where to find the promise now? Still I see her face no more.

And that was a beautiful day with a sparkle in my eyes and a smile that lit up the sky, I said "yes" with tears of joy to the man of my life. She was there with me when I planned a life with my love.

She was the witness of my tale. She was the one I shared each and every step of my unimaginable life. With each passing day, we didn't know what was there waiting in our path.

For our memories, having built a bond so strong,

That no time nor distance, could ever do them wrong.

Still I wonder what bothers her finding the way to me

And it hurts like a thorn in my heart.

I know she fell in love and started her own family and she became busy. But I don't know whether she stays here, or, she went off to explore and travel the world with so much fun.

Years went by and as time passed, I doubt whether she finds it an excuse not to meet me in person. Does the life she had made our cherished memories fade away?

I could clearly listen to the birds chirping outside.

I could obviously smell the garland in my room.

But the presence of the one who means so much to me still feels absent around me.

As I wait for you this long, my mind is awake and my love for you is alive. I heard that you didn't come to see me. Perhaps you may have thought that I would never know.

I look for clues in the corners of my mind.

Is that because of my mistake which I don't remember?

Is that because of her busy life that made her forget me?

Is that because she couldn't see me in this comatose state.?

Can someone reveal this to her I enclose herewith..?

Oh my lovely friend!

I wish I could cry to you that I missed you so badly.

Nobody knows how I feel. Please come and realise me.

I can't seem to escape from our beautiful memories.

Where you are and I could ask no one.

I can barely know when I will wake from this deep and dreamless state.

Or I may end my journey in this mystery sleep.

But I want to hold my breath until I hear your voice saying

"I'm here to by your side with indelible memories of us".

familyShort Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.