Fiction logo

The Child of Nibiru

Chapter I

By Facundo RaganatoPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

Chapter 1

***

At the Land of Nibiru tells the story of a child, who, blindfolded, could see better than others. And no other could tell the story better than I, since long ago, he was my best friend, long ago, when I was also a child.

Our land has a lake at its edge, and nothing else surrounds it more than pure trees, fresh grass and the sun’s dry land. This is our land of golden earth, where the sand is the same for every soul who lives here. Yet it is lost for those of the outer world, to guard the sacredness of spirituality and the heart of humanity. For this, Nibiru dwells in the unknown, through forgotten ages, through hidden paths.

We respond to no one, only Masters who once knew our days; they wander around guiding those who are lost; each of them with knowledge and wisdom of their own expertise. “Master,” one would ask, “I find it hard to talk into the eyes of my son; he’s distant no matter how close we are. How can I approach his soul?”

“Prove your admiration and generosity with the words from your heart. Every time he does something worthy and prized, give him a hug along with a smile, he’ll eventually do the same for the same art.”

Oasis was the only place where the grass grew and the birds flew. It was near the lake where the lines of the old trees listened to the outer winds, shading the shore with their curved arms. I don’t remember how I met Lendern, but it was near this path. He played a pipe to nature every dawn; long distant notes that echoed the trees and soothed the water passing by; he would play a tune to zen our souls.

We played on the earth drawing faces and symbols we made up, we danced on some hills and rolled races on the grass, we hid on the desert and waited to be found, we swam in the lake like no other child—but… he was oddly impulsive to a strangeness which, in a way, opened my eyes. ‘What is he doing’ I thought sometimes. ‘What’s going on in his mind?’ He was witty, quick and smart like no other, but he was something beyond *what* I could not understand.

Once we sat on the grass to rest and talk about things. But somehow we were led to talk about things we shouldn’t talk about as a child. “Don’t you ever get the feeling,” he used to ask, “ that there’s more to what see? Do you wonder about to the World outside of Nibiru? The Outer Lands?”

He told me he used to hear voices whenever we were playing around certain trees, and although he didn’t hear them clearly, he instinctively knew what they were saying and, surprisingly, who they are…

In the lake we were once sunk to our waist with our feet in the sand, and through the splattering he stood still and stayed calm. “What’s wrong?” I asked, but he shushed looking at the water as if there was something at the surface he was trying to find. He moved slowly and looked down, his hands swaying the movement of the water, his face with solemn eyes. Soon, the silence made us listen to the sound of the lake, calmly tuning its voice to the stream of a lullaby. Whenever these silent episodes occurred, he closed his eyes and became a man; his hands swayed with the water as his body moved with the tide; he walked around strangely as if the water was moving him from side to side. It only lasted a few moments before he would wake up, look around, apologize politely, and simply give out a smile.

He said they were impulses from his inside, in a way they let to connect to the moment of the surrounding as well as learning something from oneself, or as he said it: bring the darkness into light.

We walked to the shore, and an old man sat there on the grass. “Lightning does not strike by chance…” to what Lendern responded: “…Neither does the apple when it falls high.” I stood confused; he said it in a way that completed his sentence. Without any doubt, I recognized he was the Wizard from Nibiru; he held a long beard mixed of gray, and a green pointy hat. His tunic was greenish gray marked with lines of gold, and he carried a staff made of wood with a crystal sphere on its top. Although I haven’t met him before, he presented a familiar simple smile.

We walked through the trees as the Wizard related how he enjoyed watching children play free and pure as we were, and described how he used to play like us when he was a child.

“Friendships can be bonds that never break, and last lifetimes.” He fixed his eyes to me, filled with his heart, “no man can never recall his days of yonder, his days of freedom unless that man is again a child.” Lendern walked distant, aiming his sight to his toes. Step by step, his words made him ‘listen and walk around the world.’

“Let’s play a game,” the Wizard said and took out a blindfold of purple strains and jade marks. “It’s a game that will test how wide your instincts are, how high are your souls, and how deep are your fears. The winner will own the blindfold and a secret prize.”

“I’ll go first” I said, and they were surprised when I raised my hand with the thought of my head. The Wizard blindfolded me as he told Lendern to stand distant and look at me from afar. “Lendern, you may not create a sound, or even a single clue to expose where you are, your friend must instinctively find you, using his third eye.” I was blind from that point on, but I was aware to notice how his words always spoke in riddles and rhymes, as if he was carefully saying everything once, but a lot of things at the same time. My biggest question was: How did he know my friend’s name was Lendern?

The Wizard let his hands off and whispered “Querent” as my vision was absolute dark. I took a step carefully imagining where the roots were, how the earth was; I took a chance to go left and my hands did not encounter anything, so I turned right…

“If you guide yourself with your eyes, you won’t find anything but what you found; those eyes are blind. As you can imagine the roots with your feet, imagine the surrounding of what you feel. Do not question, do not mind, conquer the fear and let your intuitive instincts guide you, the friendship your friend has is a bond that lights in your soul; you cannot see the path, but you can feel it; let it out.”

It took me long to process the things he said and let me be myself, but I was accustomed to think, to reason, to react, so as I thought and assumed this I cannot do; I took my blindfold off and met Lendern not too far. “I can’t, it’s too hard.”

“Don’t feel discouraged, it’s a game, only play to play.”

Now he was to put the blindfold, and perhaps I can honestly say that I meant to stand further than he did. Although now I regret and wish that I could have stood on closer of where I was.

The old man also whispered to his ear and stood back to simply give out a smile. I stood against a tree looking straight at him; in my mind I wanted him to find me, but to my head, I didn’t want to lose. Maybe Lendern acted odd and sometimes said very strange things that I did not understand, but once he stood blind before me, his nose pointed directly at me and his smile made me see, he was a child. He didn’t extend his arms like I did, neither hesitated where to go or how to step, with patient feet, an open mind and a flaming heart, he walked straight to me as if his child was better than any man.

Close enough, he let a hand on my shoulder with a “here you are” and I understood where I was. The Wizard was nowhere to be seen, but we did not mind, my friend had just won a blindfold and a secret prize.

- Facundo Raganato

Read about The Mystic Mountain

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Facundo Raganato

Author, Composer, Artist, Alchemist, Designer,

@FacundoRaganato

www.thecharactersshortlivingstory.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.