Fiction logo

The Cats of Auschwitz

Somehow it is the cat, and not the train yard, that makes me weep.

By Eric DovigiPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
The Cats of Auschwitz
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

A bus, this time, takes us through the iron gate.

It is the same, yet not the same, the oldest of us, a woman past one hundred, remarks in pointed Yiddish.

A tomcat crouches on a windowsill, unbothered by the frozen air.

“I try to rehome him,” explains the guide, in English, “but he escape and come back.”

The tomcat nuzzles against my coat and purrs. "He just want food," the guide laughs.

I had resolved not to weep, to give them none of my tears, but I had not expected this soft heartbeat inside my coat, purring for food.

Historical
3

About the Creator

Eric Dovigi

I am a writer and musician living in Arizona. I write about weird specific emotions I feel. I didn't like high school. I eat out too much. I stand 5'11" in basketball shoes.

Twitter: @DovigiEric

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden12 months ago

    oooof, my heart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.