Fiction logo

On Killing A Deer As An Old Man

I saw the licks of blood in the dirt.

By Eric DovigiPublished 12 months ago Updated 12 months ago 1 min read
2
On Killing A Deer As An Old Man
Photo by mohammed OUZZAOUI on Unsplash

Far away from the white boat, and the sun, and the shade of the orange crates, I came to the head of a trail.

I saw licks of blood in the dirt. Shouldering a rifle, I trod on.

I found the deer laying with its cheek against the soil, chest rising and falling slowly.

Far from where my grandfather showed me seagull necks in his red hands, twisted like bottle tops, I came to the final deer.

How deep a trough the intervening years have formed between a broken seagull and a bleeding deer.

family
2

About the Creator

Eric Dovigi

I am a writer and musician living in Arizona. I write about weird specific emotions I feel. I didn't like high school. I eat out too much. I stand 5'11" in basketball shoes.

Twitter: @DovigiEric

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)12 months ago

    ❤️😉

  • Kendall Defoe 12 months ago

    Why do I keep thinking of Coleridge as I read this? A very vivid and poetic tale, sir!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.