Fiction logo

The Cat's in the Cradle

Mea Culpa

By j.d. davisPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3

“I have been waiting for you.” He said.

White as the sheets on which he laid. Beckoning me to lean over by him, he kissed my forehead with pained lips.

“I love you, son.”

He was agitated so I handed him his Bible.

“My favorite book.” He said - his last, coherent words were “ my favorite book”.

I remembered Psalm 23; I sang hymns that I didn’t know I remembered. Blood trickling out of his every part. I sang even more.

One last heaving breath…

I’ll see you soon.

And I shall dwell in the House of the Lord Forever

familyFamily
3

About the Creator

j.d. davis

Seeker. Thinker. Melancholy. Conflicted believer. Evolving human. Bipolar being. And sometimes I use bad words.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    This was very sad and well written.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.