Fiction logo

The Broonie (Brownie)

A Short Story

By Mother CombsPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
6
Image by Prawny from Pixabay

“Will you stop wasting that cream and come upstairs to bed, woman,” Gerard muttered from the hallway as Gurta put a saucer of cream and a small slice of cake out by the hearth.

“I’ll be up in a moment, Gerard; go up without me,” she responded to him.

“I don’t know why you leave that crap out at night; you're going to draw bugs, you hear,” Gerard muttered as he headed up the stairs.

When he was gone, Gurta stood by the hearth and looked around the kitchen. Eventually, she started talking, “You must forgive him. He’s an old fool. He wasn’t raised with the old ways the same as I. Good night.”

Gurta headed upstairs to get ready for bed.

“I’m missing my green pajama shirt, Gurta. Have you seen it?” Gerard asked as soon as she entered their bedroom.

“Not since we washed and put it away yesterday. Wear your blue pajamas,” she answered him back.

“Those came up missing last week. Woman, what are you and that housegirl up to during the day? This is the fifth piece of my clothing to come up missing this month alone.”

“Maybe the Bro….” Gurta started to say.

“Don’t you dare say it. Just don’t you dare,” Gerard glared at her as he interrupted his wife.

“It’s just you could be a little nicer to him and see if you get your clothes back,” She said instead.

“Gurta! Now, damn it, that’s enough of this nonsense,” Gerard bellowed at her, “There are no Broonies!!”

“Don’t you dare offend him! Don’t you dare!” Gurta stomped to the bed and crawled into it, pulling the covers to her ears.

Gurta was well-rested as always the following day, but poor Gerard was not. He was very cranky and had several bruises beginning to form on his arms and legs.

“Are you ok, Gerard?” Gurta asked her husband.

“Not at all. It seems your Broonie kept pinching me last night, no matter where I went or put on,” he answered.

“Oh, no, Gerard, you offended him. He’ll leave!” Gurta worried.

“No, I don’t think he will. I made a deal with him. I’ll quit bashing him and being mean to you if he will just quit pinching me,” Gerard sounded as if he was going to cry. He continued, “He immediately stopped, and my clothes were back in the dresser this morning.”

“Oh, Gerard”

“When you go to town today, buy him the best cream we can afford,” Gerard said as he left the kitchen.

Gurta and the housegirl watched in wonder as the most logical man suddenly started believing in Broonies.

HumorShort StoryFantasyfamilyFable
6

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin for the FB Group ViM

Mike Judey Dharr

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kathy McLain5 months ago

    I love this; it reminds me of stories grandpa used to tell me down in the woodshop! Thank you!

  • Test5 months ago

    Great story, like one's i grew up reading too myself. Haha, I believe. 💙 Anneliese

  • Your stories like this one, the Weedan, Pirate Joe, they all give strong vibes of Enid Blyton! I enjoy your stories so much. It's like being a kid again! I loved this story!

  • Test6 months ago

    I really enjoyed it.

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    This was kind of cute!

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    What ever you need to get your clothes back! Funny story!

  • Lana V Lynx6 months ago

    Lovely! Everyone needs to believe in Broonies.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.