Fiction logo

The Big, Bad Brute

The Threat Below the Surface

By Jacob C SadlerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I happen to love the beach. A lot of my people do not particularly like it. Whether because of the crowds, the stench, or the noise, most sharks stay away from the surf.

Not me, though. I love watching people play in the waves, fish from the docks, or ride their surfboards. I know how they feel about me, though. So, I try to keep a low profile. I figure, it is best if they do not know I am there.

Yesterday, I decided to head down the coast and try my luck at fishing. Most of my family would probably laugh at me if they saw me at the beach. I am actually not that great of a swimmer. Nor am I a very good fisherman; not like those old timers on the docks, casting their lines tirelessly into the waves. Still, fishing is good fun and I wanted to relax.

The beach was already crowded when I arrived. I stayed on the outskirts, making sure no one had reason to fear me (or even notice me, for that matter). You see, I have a bit of a bad reputation. A lot of people gossip about me and my family. They say we are bloodthirsty and mean. They say we are predators. I am sure some of us are rather aggressive, but that is true of everyone.

I approached the docks, careful not to disturb the fishermen. I simply watched the sardines school and scatter. I was so captivated by their precise and orchestrated movement, I forgot to catch any fish.

In hindsight, that was probably a good thing. As I eyed the animals, I overheard several men gossiping about me. They stared at me suspiciously. I minded my business for a while, but when an old man lost his line and blamed me, I realized I had overstayed my welcome.

I stayed in deeper waters for a time, but soon I felt lonely. I watched from afar as many happy humans swam out to me. Then, without so much as a nod, they stood on their surfboards and sailed away. After watching a few surfers casually disregard me, I felt I should make an introduction or two. I approached a young woman.

"That seems like a lot of fun," I commented. She must not have heard what I said, as she tilted her head. "Maybe you could teach me how?"

The surfer's eyes widened. She screamed, "Shark!"

Panic ensued. Feeling embarrassed and knowing I should not have approached a stranger so carelessly, I darted out to sea. I watched as a hundred little legs fled from me. As they did, I cursed my mother and father for giving me such a broad frame and big body. I wish I was smaller, I frowned.

Luckily, I come from a pretty resilient family. We have survived a lot of catastrophes, you know. I waited for things to calm down on the shore before venturing near the swimmers again. When the lifeguards went back to their roosts, I knew I could approach safely.

It may seem odd. Why would a shark, so deplored by its environment, want to stay amongst those that hate it? Me and my kind might get a better reputation if we just stayed away. Or maybe the myths would grow until we were hunted. I do not know.

On that day, all I knew for certain was that I was hungry. I did my best to stay away from the beachgoers, but I wanted a snack. I got a few curious glances, a few doubletakes, and even a hasty whisper. Still, I made my way to the shore.

I got out of the water and quickly readjusted my swim suit. I looked at my black skin and realized I would probably need to put on sunscreen today. Although nobody could see the burns, I was hurt just as easily as the white people around me.

I approached the ice cream stand. I smiled at the young man behind the counter. "Could I please have a cookie-dough sandwich?"

I received only a confused blink.

"Sir?" I chuckled, half-annoyed and half-nervous.

"Sir," finally came the reply, but not from the young man.

I turned around and found two police officers staring at me.

Before I could say anything, one of the officers pointed at the water. "We have reports of a skulking individual matching your description. Please come with us."

Satire
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.