Fiction logo

The Best Gift Ever

Some Gifts Can't Be Wrapped

By ToyaRenee Published 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
1
The Best Gift Ever
Photo by Olga Kononenko on Unsplash

“What do you want for Christmas?” Melanie asked. She grinned her usual bright smile that could make even the most beautiful model envious. Karen didn’t respond at first, for she didn’t really know the answer. She was only certain that she wanted things to change.

“I want the usual: clothes, money and more money,” Karen replied. Although she was smiling, the pain in her eyes was clear.

Melanie, like a true best friend, detected her pain. "What's wrong, Karen?"

"What do you mean?"

Melanie shook her head. "We're not going to pretend like something isn't bothering you. What is it?"

Karen sighed. She was hesitant to talk about it as she didn't want to put a burden on other people. She didn't want her problems to become someone else's problem. Nonetheless, she opened up because Melanie was her best friend; she deserved to know. "Dad is really sick. Mom told us that he's lost complete functioning of his kidneys."

With her hand to her heart and mouth agape, Melanie said nothing. She allowed her friend to continue.

"He's on dialysis and he's on the waiting list for a kidney transplant," Karen explained. "Dialysis is keeping him alive, but it drains him. He can barely function after it, and he has to have it three times a week! You asked me what I want for Christmas; I really want my dad to be healthy."

Melanie handed her a tissue to wipe her fallen tears. She felt bad that she had no idea what her friend was going through. "Was there anything I could do to help?"

Karen's hand shook as she fought unsuccessfully to hold back more tears. "I don't know."

The cellphone timer beeped indicating their lunch break was over.

"I'll call you later tonight, Karen."

The young women embraced and went their separate ways.

It was the week before Christmas when Karen received some exciting news. She called the first person that came to mind; she called Melanie.

"You're not going to believe this," Karen exclaimed. "They found a donor! He's going to go into surgery next week, Christmas Day!"

"That's great news, Karen! I'm happy for you and your family."

"Thank you for being so supportive during this time. You're truly my best friend."

Melanie smiled. "I do what I can to help."

Karen continued. "We should celebrate. Did you want to meet me for drinks soon?"

"I'd love too," Melanie said, "I have a doctor's appointment in a few minutes, though. Maybe another time."

"Sure, I understand. We'll talk soon, right?"

"Of course, Karen. Congratulations, again!"

Karen was crying again. This time they were joyous tears. They were tears in hopes that soon her father wouldn't have to suffer anymore.

Christmas morning brought an unexpected snowstorm. As the whooshing wind howled outside the hospital window, Karen and her mom, Susie, waited in anticipation for the results of the surgery.

Dr. Davidson appeared a few moments later. He sat in the chair directly across from Karen and Susie next to the bubbling fish tank.

"I have good news and even better news for you ladies," he said, "The surgery was a success! Both Gary and the donor are recovering now."

Karen and Susie let out a sigh of relief.

"Could I answer any questions for you," he asked.

Karen spoke first. "That was the good news. What was the better news?"

Dr. Davidson glanced at Susie. "I think it's best that your mom explains. I'll let you know when it's fine to come back and see the patients."

As Dr. Davidson walked away, Karen turned to Susie.

Susie had tears flowing nonstop. When she was finally able to catch her breath, she faced her daughter.

"There's no better way to say this, Karen. I'm so grateful for Melanie," she said.

"I don't understand."

"Melanie is an amazing person," Susie said.

"Mom, what are you talking about? What does that have to do with Dad's surgery?"

It was at that very moment that Karen noticed Melanie's parents and siblings arrived at the hospital waiting area. They were across the hall speaking with Dr. Davidson. Within seconds, Melanie's mom was hugging the doctor.

"She wanted it to be a surprise; she asked me not to tell you.

NOTE FROM THE AUTHOR:

This story is dedicated to my dad and many others who suffer from chronic illnesses. May you find peace and comfort in the form of other people.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

ToyaRenee

I love creating stories that uplift and motivate people, even though they're through fictional lenses. I wrote my first story at 12 years old and have been writing ever since. I'd love to connect with you, and I hope you enjoy my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.