Fiction logo

In The Closet

Don't Believe Everything You Hear

By ToyaRenee Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1
In The Closet
Photo by Maithilee Shetty on Unsplash

Something told me to go home early that day.

Brent left for work at 7:30 am, despite him coming home late the night before. At that point, we were a couple for three years. I often questioned myself what those years meant to him.

"I'll see you later," he said.

Without a hug, a kiss, or a second look, he was out the door. I was lucky if he even looked me in the eyes those days.

I sat alone on our apartment floor for about fifteen minutes. Just then, the jingle of his keys hit the knob to the front door. As our closet door closed, he came into the living room.

"Come on in," he said. "Vicky won't be home for about an hour. We have some time."

I leaned my ear as close to the door as I could without being heard. The apartment was old. With the slightest movement, the floor would creak. I was beyond tempted to look. Who was he talking to on the other side?

The thuds of footsteps came closer. It made shadows form across the carpet. It was too late for me to move.

"Should I put my coat in here? I know Vicky is a neat freak!"

Brent coughed between his chuckles. "No, just leave it on the couch for now."

The thudded footsteps walked away from the closest. There was no need to peek anymore. I knew exactly who he was talking to. It was my best friend, Shirley!

It took everything inside of me not to open the door and demand an explanation. Shirley and I had been good friends for years. She was the one that introduced me to Brent; she was the one who suggested we move in together. Now she was in my apartment, with my boyfriend, without my permission, nor prior knowledge.

"Let's get started," Shirley said.

There was a chime from what sounded like a phone turning off.

"This looks good right?" Brent asked.

Shirley paused. "I don't think Vicky would like that at all."

They laughed together.

The double dates we had with her fiancé came to mind. Did she want to be with my boyfriend at that point? How long was this going on?

Brent cleared his throat. "We should focus."

Shirley sighed. "Are you sure you want to do this?"

"Yeah," he said, "I'm sure."

I couldn't tell you if it was getting hotter in the closet, or if it was me getting more heated. Either way, I couldn't take it anymore.

"Do it!" I yelled as I burst opened the door.

Both Brent and Shirley stood right away. He clutched so hard onto his laptop, his fingers were turning red.

"Vicky, what are you doing here?" He held the computer screen close to his chest.

"What are you hiding from me?"

"This is not what you think, Vicky," Shirley said. I ignored her and marched towards Brent.

"Let me see the computer," I said.

"Vicky, please don't do this," he said.

I didn't say a word. I glared at him and demanded the computer again. He looked at Shirley. She shrugged, took the computer from him and handed it to me.

The screen showed a large engagement ring. The shipping address was under Brent's name. It was due to be sent to our apartment. The estimated time of arrival was my birthday.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

ToyaRenee

I love creating stories that uplift and motivate people, even though they're through fictional lenses. I wrote my first story at 12 years old and have been writing ever since. I'd love to connect with you, and I hope you enjoy my stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.