Fiction logo

The Attack

As told by one of mankind's greatest protectors

By Amy LindopPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Attack
Photo by ShareGrid on Unsplash

The attack came in the middle of the day. I was sleeping fitfully at the time, my eyes twitching rapidly beneath closed lids. My limbs jolting as they subconsciously mimicked the quickening actions of my dream.

It was the terrible noise that first awoke me from my restless slumber. A high-pitched buzzing sound, that gradually grew louder and louder, until it eventually became too bothersome for me to ignore.

I reacted slowly to begin with. Eyes tiredly opened and I yawned, then stretched lazily, before a flash of bright light dashed across the room and flickered erratically before my feet. My head shot upward to follow, as it darted away, my ears pricked high and my body hurriedly sprung into full alertness.

In one quick motion, I bounded across the room and jumped up onto the couch, propping myself on its back to give myself best vantage through the window of the garden beyond.

A large metal bird hung in the sky above the far fence. Sunlight glistened off its back, casting shimmering light out towards my eyes. It was blindingly bright, and still emitting that awful humming noise as it crept forward and descended slowly into the yard. A large box dangled beneath it, swaying wildly from side to side as thing lowered itself towards the ground.

The hackles rose on my back, and I let a low rumbling growl escape my lips as the creature continued trying to land. My warning, however, was ignored. So, as the box hit the floor and the metal bird dropped to the earth beside it, I released a barrage of angry barks.

My master was away, and it was my solemn duty to guard the house in his absence. This intruder had breached the barricades. Crossing the fence, it had brought itself firmly into my territory. I continued to bark then paw frantically at the window, my claws making a loud tapping noise against the glass.

After a moment of urgent barking and scrambling, I finally remembered my special guard hatch. At breakneck speed I turned and leapt from the couch. Rushing through the house, my body skidded around corners as my feet found no purchase on the hard wood floors. I bolted out of the plush sitting room, past the stairs and into the delicious food making room. I dashed under the great table, past my biscuit and water bowls and came to a sliding halt before the back door.

There was a quiet beep as my snout pushed forward towards the guard hatch and my collar activated the lock. My personal exit through the back door opened as I pushed against it and I was immediately assailed with all the wonderful smells and sights of the garden.

I contained my usual rush of delight at the wet, earthy grass that greeted my paws and the thousands of scents that drifted towards me on the gentle wind. Instead, I fixed my gaze dead ahead, at the metal creature grounded before me.

The buzzing sounded louder now that I was outside and so close to the thing, painfully so in fact. I growled at it again, pulling back my lips to show the whites of my fangs, then I gnashed my pointed teeth threateningly.

The metal bird started to rise slowly back into the air. Veering wildly left and right as it did so. In that moment, I decided I did not want the monster to escape, so I raced down the length of the yard towards it and jumped high into the air. My jaws snapped to a close just a hairs breadth beneath it and I fell back to the floor.

I landed lightly on all fours, then turned about sharply. Watching and continuing to bark as the metal bird flew higher and higher into the sky. Retreating back over the fence and disappearing past my line of sight.

I slowed my shouting, letting my barks die down as I instead began to pant, although my earlier cries of alarm were soon picked up by a gruff voice further down the street. I cocked my head and listened as fellow canines spotted the airborne threat and began sounding warning calls from their own back yards. The train of growls and shouts echoed for a time, before eventually they all turned to yelps of victory as the intruder apparently fled in fear.

I felt a great sense of satisfaction, at both myself and my fellow hounds for recognizing the attack and warding it off. Keeping our humans and homes safe from further intrusion.

I gulped heavy lungful's of fresh summer air as I panted. My heartbeats calming as my breathing slowed. A warm feeling spreading through my body as I relished the days accomplishments.

I turned as was about to head back inside when my eyes found the lone box sitting on the grass before me. I froze. In the heat of the moment, I had forgotten completely about the parcel the bird had landed with.

Tentatively, I took a step towards it, head low to the ground, snout reaching out before me, my nose began to twitch, sniffing deeply. The box was cardboard and smelled damp now it was sat on the wet dewy grass. At the same time, it was dusty on top and the fine particles that covered it made my nose itch. It smelled of people... many people. Like it had been handled by multiple sets of humans before now, though none of them were my master.

The unfamiliar human smells and the fact it had been carried in by way of air made me distrust it. It was a potential threat and so, to protect my master and my home, I attacked it.

I lunged forward grabbing a corner of the box with locked jaws. I ragged and pulled at it, though found it was not overly heavy and so it came easily as I dragged it towards me. The cardboard felt good to chew as my saliva moistened it and my teeth punctured and ripped it into strips.

I began to enjoy tearing at the tattered box, grabbing the thing and swinging it, launching it into the air as I spun round then released to send it arcing away. At first, I didn’t notice as I broke through, that beneath its cardboard shell were layers of paper and then finally fabric.

It was only after many minutes of gleeful play; did I finally look about and find myself surrounded by now ragged strips of cloth. The fabric around me actually looked like some of the layers my master covered himself in each day. I pondered for a moment. Then considered that maybe he should see what I had discovered.

I grabbed the remains of some leg shaped fabric cloth and carried it back with me towards the house. It took a few trips back and forth to bring in all the bits and I left muddy paw prints through the halls as I ferried the items one by one back into the cosy sitting room.

After my work is done, I curl back up in my spot and lay patiently awaiting my master’s return. My tail wags excitedly as I consider the praise and treats that I will get, after he finds that today, I defended against a dangerous threat and brought in the spoils from my victorious attack.

AdventurefamilyMysteryShort StoryHumor
Like

About the Creator

Amy Lindop

I am and always have been, a big fan of reading. High fantasy and science fiction novels have always captivated me in particular. As an aspiring author myself, I now hope my own stories can captivate others in much the same way.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.