Fiction logo

The Amnesiac Bear

"Da da da da ......" There was a knock on the window.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

"Da da da da ......" There was a knock on the window.

The cat came to the window and saw the figure of a bear.

The cat opened the door and the cold snow particles hailed in. The cat shouted, "Bear, come in and rest for a while!"

The bear stepped into the cat's house with heavy strides, his fur covered with shiny snow.

"Go roast by the fire." The cat reminded.

The bear nodded stiffly and went to the fireplace to sit down.

"Aren't you cold? Bear, it's cold outside!" The cat inquired curiously.

"Not cold ......" Bear shook his head, "I have this." The bear touched the scarf around his neck.

It was a very bright red scarf, short, narrow and small, barely around the bear's neck in a circle, loosely tied in a knot, twisted and funny.

"I didn't even see it until you said so, and besides, can such a small scarf keep you warm?" The cat asked, "Can you show me?"

"Well ...... sure." The bear hesitated for a moment, subconsciously touched the soft scarf, took it off and handed it to the cat.

The cat got the scarf, lit up, and smoothly put it around, eh? Just right.

"Who gave it to you?"

"Why did you give it to you?"

"Why do you have it with you?"

The cat threw out three questions in a row, looking a little eager to ask the bear a little confused.

"I don't know ...... I don't know why I'm wearing it, and ...... how do you know it's someone else's?" The bear was puzzled.

The cat was stunned: "I just know, I knew it as soon as I saw it."

"I don't know why I'm wearing it, even if I don't know whose it is and why it's here with me, but I just don't want to take it off, I always feel like there's a gentle voice bugging me, bear, ah, remember to wear the scarf, so cold, make sure to bring it ...... "The bear rubbed his ears and swallowed slowly," he said.

The cat bent his eyes and smiled, and gave the scarf back to the bear: "Then did you wear the scarf properly?"

"Then, of course, I must have worn it properly! Otherwise, someone would be hurt." The bear blurted out, wrapping the scarf around his neck again like he had just done.

The cat propped up his fluffy head and smiled, "That's right."

"Do you always talk this slow? Bear?"

"No, of course not. Because, I always feel that I have forgotten something very important, memories are like gravel sunk to the bottom of the sea, they are scattered all over the place, how can not be salvaged, I am always thinking, thinking about the brain hurts, but how can not remember, I am very annoyed, and rarely think about how to communicate with people." The bear tapped his brain.

"And then what?" The cat looked at the bear and continued to ask.

"I was annoyed, so I traveled around to find answers to my memories." The bear replied.

The cat nodded and narrowed his eyes and smiled.

Bear stared at the cat for a long time before moving his eyes, "Haven't we met somewhere before? In the long ago past ......"

The cat laughed out loud, "Bear, your way of striking up a conversation is a bit old-fashioned, oh."

"Bear! Bear! Come back, don't go any further!" The cat shouted from below.

"It's okay, don't worry, I'm going to pick the most beautiful flower on the edge of the cliff for you!" The bear said with a smile.

"Snap ...... snap ......" The sand and rocks fell into the deep abyss of the bottomless cliff.

"Bear! Look out!" Cat shouted urgently.

"Don't come any closer!" Bear shouted a warning.

Bear bent down and carefully approached the flower and picked it, Bear smiled and looked at the cat.

"Click ......", a crack appeared in the earth beneath Bear's feet, while the ground beneath him instantly collapsed and Bear fell into the cliff.

"Bear!" The cat recklessly lunged at the cliff and also fell.

The bottom of the deep cliff was a lake, and they were quite lucky.

"Well ...... bear ......" The water gradually spread over her head and invaded her mouth and nose, Cat gradually lost consciousness, and on the verge of unconsciousness, she fell into a warm embrace of "O bear ......"

When she woke up again, the cat was already on the shore.

"Where's the bear? Bear!" The cat looked around eagerly and went to find nothing around her but the flower that had been plucked from the cliff.

The flower was in tatters, lying there wet, it was a bear's heart.

The cat built a small cabin at the bottom of the valley and made a bookmark of the ill-fated flower and stuck it into the story of her and the bear.

The cat touched her neck and suddenly realized she was missing her scarf, that one red scarf.

I remember that day after going out, the cat put on the red scarf, but found the bear's neck bare and questioned, "Bear, where is your scarf?"

The bear smiled nervously, "I forgot to wear it."

The cat began to nag, "You forgot to put it on again, and I have to remind you every time you go out. Bear, it's so cold, you must take your scarf with you, otherwise you will be cold, you must remember, I can't remind you every time, you must also take good care of yourself during my absence, otherwise I will be heartbroken."

The bear snorted, "Next time for sure."

The cat made the bear squat and put his tiny red scarf on the bear: "Not a bit of obedience!"

The fire in the house baked people to sleep, and the cat's head was a little foggy.

Over the years, the cat would always remember a non-returner in a trance during the cold winter, and this time, he finally came back, even though, he hadn't remembered himself.

The cat thought in a trance, actually, this is quite good, if you do not remember, it does not matter, we start over, we lose the past, but have the future.

"Cat ah ......" Bear suddenly leaned over.

"What's wrong, Bear?" The cat looked at the bear suspiciously.

"I think, this red scarf seems to fit you better, I think, I want to give this red scarf to you ......" The bear came a little closer.

"But isn't this a very important scarf to you?" The cat blinked and asked the bear with a smile.

"Yes, it's very, very important to me, and I will never leave my red scarf ......"

The bear's eyes were firm as he handed over the red scarf.

The cat rewrapped this red scarf again and leaned against the bear's body.

"It's really warm. ......"

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.