Fiction logo

The Abandoned Asylum

A Tale of Terror and Madness

By Ummema MansoorPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

It was a dark and stormy night, and the wind was howling through the trees. The rain was coming down in sheets, and the lightning was flashing in the sky. I was driving down the deserted road, my headlights barely penetrating the thick fog that had settled over the area. As I approached an old abandoned asylum, I saw a figure standing in front of the entrance.

At first, I thought it was just a trick of the light, but as I got closer, I saw that it was a woman. She was soaking wet, and her clothes were clinging to her body. I pulled up beside her, and she opened the door and climbed in.

"Thank you," she said, her voice shaking. "I've been walking for miles, and I was afraid I was going to freeze to death."

I asked her what she was doing out in the storm, and she told me that she had been on her way to visit her sister when her car had broken down. She had been walking for hours, trying to find shelter, but everything had been closed or abandoned.

I offered to take her to a nearby hotel, but she said that she didn't have any money. "Please," she said, "can't you just drop me off at the nearest town?"

I agreed, and we set off down the road. As we drove, I couldn't help but notice that she seemed nervous, constantly looking over her shoulder as if she were being followed.

We finally arrived at the nearest town, and I dropped her off at a diner that was still open. I watched her go inside, feeling a sense of relief that she was safe.

As I drove back to my own home, I couldn't shake the feeling that something was wrong. I couldn't put my finger on it, but I felt like I had just narrowly escaped some kind of danger.

The next day, I decided to investigate the abandoned asylum. I had always been fascinated by the old building, and I had heard rumors of strange happenings there. As I walked through the deserted halls, I couldn't help but feel like I was being watched.

Suddenly, I heard a noise coming from one of the rooms. It sounded like someone was crying. I cautiously opened the door, and there, sitting on the floor, was the woman from the night before.

"What are you doing here?" I asked, confused.

She looked up at me, her eyes wide with fear. "I... I don't know," she stammered. "I don't remember how I got here. I just woke up and found myself in this room."

As I helped her to her feet, I couldn't help but feel like something was off. There was a strange energy in the air, and I felt like we were being watched.

As we made our way through the asylum, we started to hear strange noises. Footsteps echoing through the halls, whispers that seemed to be coming from nowhere. And then, we heard a scream.

We followed the sound to a room at the end of the hallway. The door was locked, but we could hear someone pounding on it from the other side.

I tried to force the door open, but it wouldn't budge. Suddenly, I heard a voice in my head. It was like a whisper, but it was loud enough that I could hear it clearly.

"Leave now," it said. "This place is not meant for you."

I hesitated, but the woman grabbed my arm. "We have to help whoever is in there," she said.

Together, we threw ourselves against the door, and it finally gave way. The room was pitch black, but we could hear someone breathing heavily.

As our eyes adjusted to the darkness, we saw a figure huddled in the corner of the room. It was a man, and he was covered in dirt and grime. He looked up at us, his eyes wild with fear.

"We have to get him out of here," I said, moving towards him.

But as I got closer, I saw that there was something terribly wrong with him. His skin was covered in scars, and he was covered in bruises. He looked like he had been tortured for weeks.

"We have to get him to a hospital," the woman said, her voice shaking.

Together, we lifted him up and started to carry him towards the exit. But as we made our way through the halls, we could hear more noises. It sounded like there were dozens of people, all whispering and moaning.

Suddenly, the man started to thrash around, screaming incoherently. We tried to calm him down, but he just kept getting more and more agitated.

And then, we heard a voice. It was soft and sweet, and it was coming from all around us.

"Leave," it said. "You don't belong here. This place is ours now."

I could feel the panic rising in my chest. We were trapped, with no way out.

And then, something grabbed me from behind. I turned around, but there was nothing there. I could feel its icy breath on my neck, and I knew that it was something otherworldly.

We started to run, but it was like the asylum was alive. The walls were closing in on us, the floors were shifting beneath our feet. And all around us, we could hear the whispers.

As we burst through the front doors, I felt like I had been running for hours. The rain had stopped, and the sun was just starting to rise. I looked back at the asylum, and I saw something that made my blood run cold.

There were dozens of figures standing in the windows, all staring out at us with dead eyes. And then, they were gone, like they had never been there.

The woman and I got into my car, and we drove away as fast as we could. Neither of us spoke for a long time, both lost in our own thoughts.

As we drove through the town, we saw that something was wrong. There were no people, no cars, nothing.

And then, we saw them. The figures from the asylum, standing in the middle of the street. They were all staring at us, their eyes empty and lifeless.

I slammed on the brakes, but it was too late. We crashed into them, and the car flipped over. I could hear the woman screaming, but it was like I was underwater. Everything was distorted, like I was in a nightmare.

And then, I woke up. I was in my bed, covered in sweat. It took me a moment to realize that it had all been a dream. But as I got out of bed and looked out the window, I saw something that made my heart stop.

There, in the distance, was the abandoned asylum. And standing in front of it, staring up at me with empty eyes, was the woman from my dream.

Short StoryMysteryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Ummema Mansoor

I am a writer who is passionate about what I do. Going forward, I wish to develop my own unique voice that captivates readers. Whether its fiction or non-fiction, I always aim to make my writing thought-provoking, insightful and engaging.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.