Fiction logo

Test of Faith

A story of a crisis of faith

By Joe PattersonPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2024
Test of Faith
Photo by Marc-Olivier Jodoin on Unsplash

Marty received a phone call yesterday that rocked his world. He found out he might have pancreatic cancer after a visit with his doctor. He had to take a pay cut at his job amidst the rocky economy and as if that was not bad enough, he also broke up with his girlfriend after being together for the past two years and even being engaged. He woke up this morning with a lot on his mind.

“It’s a sunny day outside.” Marty started while sitting up in his bed. “It’s been a long week for me and I swear it feels like it’s getting even longer even though it’s almost over. Marty looked out the window at what was a beautiful Sunday morning, but while life was beautiful on the outside, beauty is not what he felt on the inside. Marty was stressed and he felt overwhelmed by his current life circumstances. “Work was already a pain, but now I have to take a temporary pay cut. It won’t last, but it’ll keep me in a jam for awhile. Me and Delilah broke up and she’s tried to reach back out to me because she really cares about me and wants us to be friends.”

Marty reminisced about all the great times he and Delilah shared together. From their first date to their first kiss. All the tears they shedded together and all of their laughs and smiles that seemingly outweighed the bad. “Why couldn’t we work out?” Marty asked himself tearfully. “I mean, she was my world and I was hers. It was supposed to be both of us against the world and we would be unstoppable, but now she wants us to spend by sometime apart. As if the salty separation wasn’t enough, now I may be at risk for cancer. It just seems like I can’t catch a break. Talked to my pastor about it last week at church and he said I have to have faith that everything is happening for a reason.

“I don’t understand why I have to be the one that keeps the faith all the time. I get tired of fighting. I just wanna rest, but it seems like there’s never enough time.” As Marty continued to wallow in what seemed like justified self pity he suddenly heard a knock on the front door. He got out of his bed, went to the front door and found his two best friends Ashley and Jordyn laughing and joking on the other side of the door. “What are you guys doin here?” Marty asked while opening the door in surprise. “We’re here to cheer you up, heffy.” Ashley said in a joking tone. “Don’t look at me.” Jordyn added sarcastically. “She just dragged me along for the ride, I didn’t have a choice.”

Ashley and Jordyn had a big bag of food from Waffle House to give Marty as they all sat down at his kitchen table. “Still sit and shiver?” Ashley asked jokingly. “You know it.” Marty replied. “Can’t believe this is all happening to me.” “No one can argue with you there.” Jordyn started. “But you’ve been through worse, added with the job setback and ya girl dumping you. Wait, nevermind, you haven’t been through worse, your life sucks right now duke.” After a brief pause, Marty bursted out in a pit of laughter. He laughed so hard that his cheek bones began to hurt and his eyes began to water. Ashley and Jordyn gradually joined him in his laughter.

After settling down the trio began acknowledging the seriousness of Marty’s dilemma. “I know this is hard, Marty.” Ashley began. “But you’re gonna get through this.” “How?” Marty asked. “Do you have the cure for cancer? Are you gonna raise the pay at my job? Are you gonna convince Lilah to come back?” “Hold up, 50 Cent, before you finish going all “21 questions” on us.” Jordyn said jokingly. “I didn’t say we could solve all your problems.” Jordyn started. “But we can be here to make sure you don’t have to go through them alone.” Ashley added. “You have something that you taught us to have in our darkest hours, Marty. Do you know what that is?” Ashley asked. “It’s faith.” Jordyn continued.

“I know it’s hard right now, but you have to have faith that everything is going to get better.” Ashley said to Jordyn with a smile. “Don’t just think it, but say it and walk around even in your darkest of times and believe it.” “Ok.” Marty said with a smile. “I guess I’ll get right on it.” “Make sure you have a shave and a bath while you’re at it.” Jordyn said jokingly. Ashley and Jordyn both rose to give Marty a big hug and left the house. In their absence Marty was now sitting with a bigger sense of optimism. He knew that he had a battle ahead of him, but that it was also a battle worth fighting.

As Marty rose up to walk to his bathroom his phone suddenly started ringing. When he looked at the caller ID he was surprised to see it was Delilah’s number. “Hello.” Marty answered. “Hi.” Delilah began. “I heard about your doctor’s appointment and was worried about you. I know we’ve been on some not so good terms lately, Marty, but I really do care about you and I want you to know that I wanna be there for you to see you through this, if you will let me.” Marty’s heart was suddenly warmed by Delilah’s comfort. “Yes, of course I want you to be here for me.” “I love you.” Delilah said affectionately. “I love you too.” Marty responded. As they both hung up from each other Marty’s eyes began to water. He was crying tears of joy because he was happy that he was not alone. He found his faith again. He knew life was an uphill battle, but that it was a battle worth fighting and he had faith that he would make it through, no matter the outcome.

HumorShort StoryLove

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Anna 4 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • C. H. Richard5 months ago

    Got to have faith ❤️ Congratulations on Top story 👏

  • tarun bhatt5 months ago

    Wonderful story. I write something similar years back on hope. Read it here https://medium.com/illumination-curated/an-earthen-lamp-of-hope-3b7d5743118c?sk=1d5c94398f7e1d9b4c00f74c807c36a1

  • Ruby5 months ago

    amazing story

  • JBaz5 months ago

    Wonderful, nice flow throughout the entire piece. And a nice character build Congratulations

  • Ayumi5 months ago

    I used to feel like Marty about life. “Me against the world.” None of us is free from some challenges and hardships in expected or unexpected. Over the years, I learned that there’s nothing to fight or go against. We simply need to learn to ride the wave with Faith. Relatable and heartwarming story to read.

  • Tushar17705 months ago

    . "Excellent story ! The depth of research and clarity of expression make this a must-read for anyone interested in "A story of a crisis of faith ."

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Loved how you ended your heartfelt story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Wonderful story. Congrats on the TS.

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    gorgeous storytelling Joe, Beautiful writing as well ; What a wonderful on-time message to Boot! Phenomenal job Joe! BRAVO!👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾👏🏾

  • sleepy drafts5 months ago

    Oh, I just adored this. This is so wholesome and sweet. The line, "Yes, I want you to be there for me" was so beautiful in this light. 💗

  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    Aww, such great friends he has and look at that Delilah!!

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.