Fiction logo

Tapioca Snow

Graupel is my somewhat snow

By Josey PickeringPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
5
Tapioca Snow
Photo by Pavel Neznanov on Unsplash

In Los Angeles, we rarely see snow. Decades go by before a snowflake remains and winters only reach a desert cool that chills your bones but never reaches snowfall. Not the cold needed for that soft layer of flurries like a fresh shaven snow cone. I longed for those winters, not because it fit the perfect picture of an icy paradise. Under those layers of snow, perhaps I could discover lost memories of my father. The times before we moved to the sandy beaches where we built snow forts instead of snow castles. There were memories of him I had long forgotten, buried & frozen in snow.

I knew why Demeter sobbed in the wintertime, why the skies wept in sorrow. Missing Persephone changed the fiber of her core. I had changed too. No longer did I miss the snow flurries because it meant no school and sledding. I missed the snow because in those little ice fragments were whoville-like villages that contained pieces of my fathers life. Snow heavy winters with crockpot soup meant he was still here.

Sometimes, we get little pieces of icey wonder called graupel or tapioca snow. Water droplets that freeze on falling snowflakes. Holding it in your hands it seems like hail, but for me, it’s pieces of my past. Not quite snow, but something new layered on something familiar. I couldn’t bring my dad back, but I could layer the memories I had of him like a warm blanket on a cold night.

Microfiction
5

About the Creator

Josey Pickering

Autistic, non-binary, queer horror nerd with a lot to say.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Joe O’Connor3 months ago

    "I knew why Demeter sobbed in the wintertime, why the skies wept in sorrow. Missing Persephone changed the fiber of her core." love the allusion to losing a loved one, especially with the connection to a season. This feels personal and powerful.

  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    A link to the past. I like this tapioca snow imagery.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.