Fiction logo

Talking about friends

Today is the era of high-speed development of the Internet, no matter where we go, there is a network

By Celia R MuellerPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Talking about friends
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

(I)

Today is the era of high-speed development of the Internet, no matter where we go, there is a network, which brings great convenience to people's life and works, but also brings a lot of trouble and helplessness. Walk anywhere, whether it is the young people in a hurry leisurely middle-aged and elderly, or even junior high school older brothers and sisters, on the road, on the bus, on the subway, or at the dinner table ...... you can see them mostly doing the same thing: playing with cell phones. As if everything outside has nothing to do with them, their attention is completely on the phone, as if the phone is their inseparable "friend". I don't know if the old saying, "you can't lose the opportunity", is the scenario of people playing with their phones nowadays!

I occasionally play with my parents' phone, do online homework in English, read articles on the teenage client, and of course play games and brush up on my shake when my parents aren't looking. But I think a phone is just a tool, not a "friend", I will not be as close to it as my best friend. But many people treat it like a best friend. I think real friends need to understand each other, no words are not light when there are difficulties to help each other to encourage each other, when there are happy things to share, common progress, to be considered a real friend. In addition to talking, playing games, shopping, and payment, a simple office, social life, etc., cell phones facilitate people's lives, but more is to hurt our eyes, take up a lot of our spare time, pull away the distance between people's hearts, hindering the exchange of feelings between relatives, walking and driving when playing cell phones will also have safety risks, so I just want to use it as a tool, do not want to be friends with it.

(II)

This summer, I made a lot of friends, a mentor and a friend in learning, and a fun companion in playing. One of my best friends is "Bamboo Pole". He is my age, 9 years old, but a head taller than me, he has a pair of black and bright eyes, a high nose, and a curved mouth, always with a smile on his face. Thin and tall, no matter where you go, always stand straight, like a small moving bamboo pole, so I call him "bamboo pole".

My "bamboo pole" friend is very funny and caring. Once we were playing in the neighborhood and I picked up a bird with an injured left foot, and everyone came to see what was going on. Then he suddenly ran away without a trace, and I froze for a while, wondering what he was doing. After a few minutes, he came sweating, with a bottle of Yunnan Baiyao spray and a piece of gauze in his hand. He quickly took the bird from me, sprayed the medicine on the bird's injured foot, and carefully wrapped it with gauze. Then the bird was carefully placed into the woods, and he imitated the bird's call, making a "chirping" sound in his mouth, hoping to lure the mother bird over. Everyone watched his imitation show and laughed while giving the mother finger.

My friend turned out to be such a caring person. Such a friend has taught me to treat people and things around me with love so that my life will always be optimistic.

(iii)

A few days ago I went to sing with my mom, dad, aunt, and uncle. They ordered Zhou Hua Jian's "Friends" and Zang Tianshu's "Friends". I saw them standing in a row, shoulder to shoulder, singing with great devotion. At that time I did not quite understand the meaning of these songs, I think they are in a blind roar, and a relaxed mood, but now I have a little understanding. Especially those lyrics "Friend, friend, have you ever remembered me, if you are suffering from misfortune, please tell me, if you are suffering from happiness, please leave me". It also reminds me of the poem written by Li Bai, a poet of the Tang Dynasty: "A gift to Wang Lun": "The water in the peach blossom pond is a thousand feet deep, not as deep as Wang Lun's love for me". Wang Bo wrote the poem "Sending Du Shaofu to Ren Suzhou", "If you know each other in the sea, the sky is like a neighbor". Aren't these lyrics and verses the author's appreciation and praise for the love of friends? Although friends in the eyes of the ancients and modern adults are not the same as the friends in the eyes of our children, I think: our friends should be the people and things around us that have the greatest influence on us and help and encourage each other!

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Celia R Mueller

Read a million books, travel a million miles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.