Fiction logo

Tales of the Sentinel Space Guard

Part 3: Class 067

By Dante Maroni Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Docking Bay

The instructors loud, brazen voice immediately demanded the upmost respect whenever he talked. Michael and the others released me and the entire class stood up tall and ready to start the journey of a Sentinel. As we’re standing straight and looking ahead of us, instructor walked through the crowd and personal sized up everyone in the class.

“This has to be the worst excuse for a class I have ever seen since I started my career 8 years ago. Here I am, 30 years old, and I must train you twiglets and cheerleaders? Hahaha, oh y’all are gonna hate me; exit this room, move to the door and enter the hallway, now!” he said.

Everyone rushed out of the room, single file, into the hallway adjacent to the room. The hallway was a catwalk inside one of the many docking bays that are around LB-1. This docking bay was different from the others you would usually see here. I’ve seen all the other 10 docking bays except for this one.

“Just like everyone else on this lovely ship, you were born here and have seen some, if not all the other docking bays. This one you haven’t seen because it is kept secret from civilians until they choose to start the journey you all are starting today. Any questions so far?” said Instructor Hannon.

Everyone in line had raised their hand except me; this was something that I dreamt about ever since I was kid, so I did not care about the blood, sweat, and tears that I would have to shed to be here and become a Sentinel.

“Put your hands down, no one cares! Follow me down to the staging area.” He said.

As we head down a flight of stairs I couldn’t help but admire the Sentinels that were already here repairing their equipment, sparring, and working out together. Everything was done together to encourage teamwork and trust into one another; it was marvelous and I couldn’t wait to get started. In my haste, I started to stray from the rest of the class to look at the Wall of Fallen Heroes; I noticed the picture of David Sullivan immediately and stared at it enviously.

“So, I see we have another fan of David Sullivan in our mist Sentinels!” Instructor Hanno announced to the entire docking bay.

All the other Sentinels and my entire class started laughing at me and mocking me, but I didn’t care, because none of them could match up to my determination to be just like or even better than David Sullivan.

“QUIET!” yelled Instructor Hannon.

“Son, if you don’t fall back into this line and stop gawking at something you’ll never reach, I’ll come over there and throw you through an air lock with no suit.” He demanded.

Before I went back to the line I proceeded to take a knee in front of the Wall of Fallen Heroes; that was met with anger and confusion.

“Boy, don’t you dare disrespect those men and woman.” A Sentinel had said as she picked me up from the floor.

“What, what do you mean?” I asked her.

“Taking a knee in front of the Wall of Fallen Heroes is a sign of disrespect. Any person that takes a knee in front of the Wall shows that they don’t stand with these men at all. To take a knee in front of these men means you wouldn’t stand with them on the other side either. We stand when we face the wall; it’s a sign to show that we ask them to stand with us here as we would stand with them there.” She explained.

“All of you should learn that and learn it now; we stand when we face the Wall of Fallen Heroes!” said Instructor Hannon.

“Yes sir!” shouted the class.

As I fall back in line, Instructor Hannon starts to explain everything we would need to know for our first week of training.

“Class 067, you will be trained by yours truly, Instructor Hannon. I have been ranked as one of the top 5 trainers out of all 5 ships and out of ever splinter group in the Sentinel Space Guards, so be thankful you have such a devoted teacher. Today, you will learn the basics of being here in this docking bay and the safety rules so you won’t fly out of the bay by a simple shake from our booster rockets.”

“Before y’all get started, let me introduce myself; hi, my name is Yalla, and I’m the doctor attached to this unit, but unlike Instructor Hannon, I will be with you throughout your entire careers. Namaste everyone!” said a woman as she creeped out from behind the instructor.

The differences between these two people were like an ant to an elephant; Yalla was at least 5’4” and dainty while Instructor Hannon was an obvious 6’5” and built like a mountain. Even with that small stature and the calmest demeanor given off by Yalla, I could tell, if push comes to shove, she could handle anyone that got in her way with ease.

“Well, now that we got that out the way, let’s go over the creed that will dictate your entire existence. Burn it into your souls and live by it no matter what ladies and gentlemen. Stand up big and tall, hands by your sides and everyone repeat after me.”

“I shall fulfill the duties of a Sentinel Space Guard no matter what the conditions are; whether in a black hole about to die or sound asleep in my cot, I will protect the 5 Great Ships and the people on it. I fight and protect so that others may live and carry on my humanity through the stars.”

“Abide by this creed and do whatever I say, when I say, and you will survive these 5 years with me.” Said Instructor Hannon as he faced the class.

Sci Fi
2

About the Creator

Dante Maroni

My Novel and Light Novel will be published someday, follow my journey through short stories into the big leagues!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.