Fiction logo

Tales of the Sentinel Space Guard

Part 2: Onward To Enlistment

By Dante Maroni Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Multi Planet

“Counselor Jon, I’m here with my papers?” I said excitingly while entering the counselor’s office.

As I enter the room I realize no one is in the immediate area, so I just decide to wait here until I see him. I look out his window at the vastness of space and marvel at the glorious ships LB-2 and LB-3 as they are traveling right behind us. Who would have thought a race as primitive as us could develop ships this grand in the year 2350? As I’m looking outward, I see 3 Sentinel Space Guards repairing a small breach on the hull of LB-2.

“You know, they had to go through 5 years of intensive training to be able to do maintenance on the outside of the ship in the vacuum of space without any incidents, right?” asked the counselor as he entered the room

“Oh, you startled me sir, sorry. I brought my papers like I said I would sir.”

“You can drop the sir kid, we’re both adults.”

“Yes sir, haha, sorry.”

“Once I sign these papers, you will be started on the path that you have always dreamed of, are you ready for that?”

“Definitely, I’ve wanted this for as long as I could remember. Becoming a Sentinel Space Guard is the greatest achievement in my life so far; I will do whatever it takes to protect the people of LB-1 and the rest of the ships.”

“Ok! Thank you for your service Sentinel!” he said as he handed me my papers back, signed.

“I will not let you down sir!” I replied with a stern look on my face.

I then got myself situated and started to head out of the counselor’s office and to the Sentinel Space Guard Enlistment Center. As I reach the Enlistment Center I see some old bullies of mine lined up to enlist as well. Michael Fastbender, Sam Cutlass, and Freddy Lungden have been bullying me ever since I first declared I wanted to be a Sentinel.

“Hey guys, look who it is! If it isn’t Jason “dumbelton”, haha!” said Michael as all three approached me.

“It’s Stapleton, jerk. Still don’t know how to read yet?” I rebutted.

“You wanna try and say that again with my fist in your mouth?” he said as he took off his jacket and showed off his Northern Gorillas tattoo on his chest.

The Northern Gorillas are one of the few secret gangs among the 5 ships; other than being one of the biggest they are also the most cunning. Not a single person will report them and not a single lawyer can prosecute them.

“No, nothing, nothing. Surprised you’re enlisting, never took you for a man of the people.”

“Shows how much you know, punk. I’m here because I know these 2 dimwits won’t make it without me, haha!” he replied.

“But boss, you’re here because you’re grand- “ said Sam.

“Shut up!” Michael said cutting him off.

“NEXT!” said a Sentinel to speed up the process of our enlistment.

“Be seeing you, punk haha!” said Michael.

I couldn’t help but wonder what his real objective was for being here and enlisting. After a few minutes standing in line, it was finally my turn to hand in my papers.

“Jason Stapleton, what makes you want to be a Sentinel?” asked the guard as he looked over my papers.

“Sir, I want to be just like David Sullivan, sir!”

“Then you have some pretty big shoes to fill and very little time to do it, think you can handle it?” he asked.

“I shall fulfill the duties of a Sentinel Space Guard no matter what the conditions are; whether in a black hole about to die, or sound asleep in my cot, I will protect the 5 great ships and the people on it. I fight and protect so that others may live and carry on my humanity through the stars.”

“You already know the oath? Impressive greenie, but you don’t know what you’re getting yourself into. Go to your right, fall in line, and wait for your instructor.”

“Yes sir, thank you sir!” I said as he handed back my papers.

I quickly run into the room on the right and see 17 other men and women all sitting on the floor chatting and waiting for the instructor. As I scan the room I see Michael and his crew a ways ahead of me in the line; once they notice me as well they got up and started walking towards me again.

“Why is numb-nuts in my class?” said Michael.

“Haha, numb-nuts, good one Michael!” said Sam.

“Why can’t you be quiet all the time like Freddy?” asked Michael.

“Sorry.”

“I see you still keep your dogs on a short leash; must be hard to piss huh guys?” I asked.

Instantly, Michael swung on me with a wild right hook, I dodged. Then he threw a left, a right, a left, and then another wild right hook, aimed for my face. I was able to step back and continuously dodge every punch thrown.

“Hold him still you lunatics!” Michael demanded of his crew.

As soon as they start to rush me the instructor entered the room by kicking open the door in the front of the room.

“It’s nice to see you maggots are already pumped and eager to go because this will not be an easy job. Now, line up and shut up before I come over there and beat y’all up myself!” the instructor demanded.

“My name is Instructor Hannon, and you will see this lovely face of mine, every day for the next 5 years. Welcome to the worst decision you have ever made, haha!”

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Dante Maroni

My Novel and Light Novel will be published someday, follow my journey through short stories into the big leagues!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.