Fiction logo

Tales of Azuria

Part 2- The God of Nowhere

By Sara Splendore Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
1
Tales of Azuria
Photo by Sebastian Unrau on Unsplash

It’s not easy – being a god.

Everyone thinks that you are born with all this power and the ability to use that power to torment mortals or to aid them… depending on your taste in entertainment, of course. But alas, it is not that simple. Gods are not born with power or ability. Just like mortals, we are simply born with potential. Whether or not we live up to it, well, that depends on the god.

The burning potential that I was born with, is what eventually led me here, to a half elf girl with a penchant for thievery and an innate magic that very few are born with. I have watched Ellijah’s life progress for many years now. I was there when her fair elven mother, Endeis, returned to her homeland; heartbroken as she walked through the gates. There still, when she birthed a child with dark hair, caramel skin, and soft gray eyes – those eyes, the only part of her that fit into any of the elven standards. The only part of her that she has left of her mother now.

I must admit, it was rather difficult not to do something when the elders inevitably told Endeis that she must get rid of her child. They could not allow her to stay, for her differences tainted the Iilyranei, the kingdom of the elves. Her mother had refused, arguing that Ellijah’s presence was not causing the trees to die, or the ground to rot, instead offering that Ellijah added warmth and liveliness to an otherwise secluded and indifferent realm. She even included that, although elves learn at an accelerated rate, Ellijah was able to keep up and contribute her own thoughts. Unfortunately, this argument served only to separate Ellijah and her mother. The elders had their guards imprison Endeis for a later punishment, as they brought Ellijah to the outskirts of a small human settlement, intending to leave her there with a man she did not know, at the fragile age of nine.

Now, I am a god of many things: Thievery and firelight (the two go hand in hand after all), entertainment and illusion, and most importantly, wonder. So, while this girl was a wonder, yes, and an excellent source of entertainment, I knew she was the one who could truly help me become the god I deserved to be, the day she also became a thief.

Initially, I had been drawn to her because I could sense the innate magic within her and that could make her a powerful ally, but this moment, when she was forced to brave a new future without the love and comfort of her mother, is what decided things for me. She had kicked and screamed the whole way, and though to many, it may have appeared in vain, I saw that this fight served a purpose. Ellijah would have done anything to get back to her mother, but she knew how unrealistic that thought was, and needed a plan if she could not break free. All that kicking and screaming, beating her fist against the guard’s grasp… It was a guise, one that got her what she knew she would need to survive on her own: The man’s coin pouch.

With that coin pouch, Ellijah could attempt to forge a life for herself. One that would not make her prisoner to a human man who would show her no kindness. She could be free to make her own path through Vaerilan, to hone whatever skills she would need to survive and keep that freedom. Her determination and quick decision making had certainly intrigued me. And of course, her desire to defy those that had ripped her away from the life she should have had. If only the world of Vaerilan was a kinder one, perhaps then she would not have had to suffer so, would not have needed to develop the skills that left her with a small biting sense of guilt. For though I knew her method of survival invigorated and excited her, no thief can truly escape the things they have done to others to benefit themselves. Regardless of her feelings though, I had to admit she was perfect, would be the greatest follower I would ever have – if I could only build her up, and then convince her to join me and my cause.

Since that day, I have done small things to aid her when she needs it. When she was younger, she was not much good, and needed me regularly, though she did not know it. But now, she is a refined little thief, she never makes mistakes. That’s how I knew it was time. I had been laughing with her as she wove her spell, casting her whispers in different directions to teach that elven boy a much-needed lesson. I enjoy how much she has come into herself, she used to fight it, wanting to be “better” than a thief. But who is to say what’s better really? Those that would see children torn from their parents and forced to live with men they do not know? I don’t believe that is how it should be. My way may not be right either, but at least it is not that, and only Ellijah can help me bring this about before I am no more. So, shortly after her little trick, I stepped out and brought us here, to the moment where I have just informed her of who I am. Aramis, the one who will be her god.

“You? You’re going to be my god? The people of Vaerilan get to choose you know, it’s been forbidden for the gods to claim people as their own for centuries now,” Ellijah said, laughing at me.

Her laugh was strained, as if she was attempting to shake off some of what had just happened, letting me know that I still held the power here, regardless of what she pretended. This girl was everything I hoped my followers would be, and she would undoubtedly be the best of them. I smiled as I pictured her leading the way into a new world. A brilliant world of my own creation, where people would be safe and free to hone their skills. Somewhere that Caerda would not be able to reach no matter how many followers she gained.

“Now, now, Ellijah. You act as though I would not let you make your own choice,” I said, folding my hands behind my back and frowning in concern, “By the time you are done hearing me out, you will want to be on my side. I can assure you of that. I have much to offer, and I think you will find that it appeals to all your desires.”

I stepped closer to her as I said the last part, bringing with me a small breeze that carried the scent of mead and flowers. That ought to do the trick, I smiled to myself. She did not hide her emotions well, so as the scent drifted toward her, I was able to watch some of the tense insecurity she had been feeling, fall away, despite my closeness. She blinked slowly, and then looked up at me.

“Very well, Aramis,” Ellijah said, putting emphasis on my name and making a point to leave out any titles of respect, “I will listen to what you have to say, but know that I am only doing this as a kindness and that I will be walking away once you’re done tossing your glitter covered filth in my direction. After all, we both know how pretty words can be when they’re dressed in hopefulness.”

She then walked over to a nearby tree, crossing her arms as she leaned against it and began to stare at me. I cannot deny my pleasure at having been given the opportunity to be heard, especially by this half-elf I seem to have begun caring for throughout the years. I clapped my hands, and head butted the same tree she had chosen to lean against. The feel of my horns against the bark was one I so enjoyed and startling her with my enthusiasm certainly did not take away from that fun.

“I am so glad you have chosen to listen; you will not soon regret it” I said, as I began forming leaves and flower petals into images before her.

By the time I was done telling her of my ambitions, my “hopes”, I could see a fire had been lit in her eyes, one that helped to fuel my own. She was smiling at me, a determined grin that I swear on all the gods I will never forget. As her choice was made, flowers began blooming around our feet and every fire in Vaerilan burned brighter. I could feel more power than I had ever known flowing through me and I couldn’t help grinning back at her. The last words spoken that night, were Ellijah’s vow to me, and mine to her. Together, we will forge a world of mischief, where none need be harmed, and darkness will never be allowed to overtake.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Sara Splendore

-Fairytales, fiction, poetry… I have been telling stories since before I knew how to write them on paper.

-Just a fairy, pursuing her dreams until the end.

-I hope you love reading my stories as much as I enjoy writing them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.