Fiction logo

Tale of Mongomery Chapter 3

Journey

By Lily CaudillPublished 10 months ago 7 min read
2

"After years upon years of looking at your cursed face, I will finally be free from you. You will be getting exactly what you deserve," she said with a smirk.

My stomach sank.

"You, Lilith, will now belong to the guardsmen. You will no longer be staying with your 'friends,' Carac and Wilbur. You will be doomed to a life of serving the guardsmen," she let out a cackle of laughter. "Also, don't worry; they are under strict orders not to touch your gorgeous face." She reached out and grabbed my jaw, giving it a shake.

The guards came and grabbed both of my arms, dragging me back to their lair. One of them bent down and smelled my hair, while the other grabbed me around my waist to prevent me from escaping.

"Wait!" I screamed. The guards stopped momentarily. "My dearest queen, I have an offer you absolutely cannot refuse!" I shouted.

Montgomery motioned for the guards to put me back down.

"Let me go out into the Kingdom and find the most strapping man in all of the lands and bring him back to you. Then you can do whatever you want with me," I said quickly.

This was a very dangerous job. Going out into the Kingdom alone could be a death wish. There were gypsies, barbarians, wild animals, and anything else you could think of. There had even been rumors of Dragons by the Pirates who sailed around the oceans.

Montgomery paced in a circle. "Slave, you have given me a very intriguing offer, but you must think I am stupid to believe that I would just let you go out into the Kingdom to run away."

I thought for a second. The guards grabbed my arms and began to carry me. They reminded me of hungry dogs.

"Then put a bounty on my head that no one could refuse if I am not back in 2 months' time! Five sacks of grain! The people of Utuk can't refuse that offer." I hoped that maybe if I found Frog a husband, she would have mercy on my soul and let me stay with the other slaves when I returned.

Montgomery once again motioned for the guards to halt. I could hear an audible sigh from both of them.

"My queen, any man would be honored to take you as his bride," I said.

"Slave girl... You are a woman, I assume you have desires..." she trailed off. "I don't want a man to pick my husband. A man would choose a man with rough hands and a face that scratches me when he kisses me. Maybe this would be in my favor," she said.

The thought of Montgomery kissing anyone with that foul breath made me sick.

"Fine, release her. Now go, girl, you have your orders," shouted Montgomery.

"Yes, majesty, I will go," I said with a bow.

"Girl, you will need to fetch a horse. That is far too long of a walk for your legs."

I actually felt appreciated for the briefest of seconds, and then Montgomery said, "Girl... Did you think that was for you? The horse is for you to get there quicker. Don't forget your place. Find me a husband. You have 2 months, and if you do not return, I will hang your friend Wilbur from the gallows... Now go! Send number 5 over as you leave."

"Yes, My Queen," I said, and then I swallowed deeply. This was not the deal I wanted to make.

I quickly exited. How am I supposed to find someone else a husband in 2 months? That was the most ridiculous offer I had ever made.

I ran to our quarters. I couldn't waste a single second. Once I got there, I grabbed my share of the bread and a slice of cheese and put them in my satchel. I went to the royal stables. Wilbur was in the stables brushing the horses.

"Wilbur, I need a horse," I said, panting with my hands on my knees.

"What? Can't understand you, missy," asked Wilbur.

"I need a horse. Right now... I have to find a husband for Frog," I stammered.

"Well, you've come to the right place. I have a fine young donkey right over there..." he said with a mischievous grin on his face.

I had finally caught my breath to speak.

"You know that's not what I mean, Wilbur," I said as I gave him a glare.

"I need a horse to cross the kingdom, and I must select a husband for Montgomery," I said.

"Good luck, missy. You're gonna need it... Take Saturn. He runs faster than any of the others."

Saturn was a beautiful black stallion with a cotton-white tail.

I grabbed a saddle and took Saturn from his stall.

I led him out of the barn. As he walked, he almost seemed to know he was going somewhere far away. He was prancing so much that dust was kicking up all around us.

Once out of the barn, I put the saddle on him and fastened my satchel to his back. I needed to find Carac before I left, I thought to myself. I quickly tied Saturn to a tree and ran to our quarters.

There was Carac weaving a basket.

Carac! I say as I run to him.

I quickly tell him what Montgomery has requested from me as I catch my breath and tell I must leave immediately and Frog was requesting him. He stands up.

Have you lost your mind? He says blankly. .You cannot possibly go throughout the entire kingdom by yourself in 2 months. There are gypsies, barbarians and who knows what else.. I will follow the river I will be fine. I tell him. I worry about you… You know one else here is even worth talking to Lilith. You are my favorite. The words he said sent me into a daze for just a moment. Then he followed it with saying I was the best choice with the options he had… that comment angered me.

“What is that supposed to mean?” I ask accusingly

“Lilith if I wasn't captured by the king’s horrible guards I would have my own village right now my intelligence is wasted here.” He said in a patronising voice

I just stare at him. “ And you don't think mine is?” I say

He doesn't say anything but I don’t think he realizes how awful he sounds.

“I just mean I am above everyone here. You're a good person Lilith but you must understand…” he said slowly

“Well, I don't” I say blankly. I just stare at him for a moment and then turn and walk away. I couldn't believe I could let his words cut me so bad. The worst part was he was still my favorite even with his cutting words…

Detrix comes running out of the castle in tears. “Are you leaving Sister” He asks through his tears. I grab his shoulder to get his attention. “I’ll be back don’t worry Detrix.

Detrix never understood that I wasn’t his sister, so I always played along. Wilbur comes out of the stables with a broom in hand, so he looks busy. I turn and look at Wilbur.

“Take care of him for me okay” and look at Detrix

Wilbur nods. I wipe the tears from Detrix’s face. “Detrix, until I get back Wilbur is going to be your best friend so you won’t be alone. Okay?”

Detrix nods so I give him one last hug and walk to Saturn.

I untie the stallion. I climb on and hit his rump. He arches back and knees loudly. I know he's just an animal but in a way, I think he was like his battle cry. He starts running toward the river. I felt scared. I rarely left the castle courtyards. The few times I had adventurered out into the Kingdom I had always had Felix with me. I wish I had him with now, but then again if he was here I would never be in this position in the first place.

It felt strange to be alone. It felt quiet. I didn’t like it. I always had someone to talk to from the time I woke from the time I awoke to the time I went to bed. I had so many thoughts I couldn’t share without anyone. It was starting to grow dark, so I decided to stop for the night. I went deeper into the forest and tied Saturn to a tree. I sat down and leaned up against a large sassafras tree. I could smell the spicy earthy tones coming from the roots of the tree. I slowly laid my head on my shoulder and fell asleep.

Series
2

About the Creator

Lily Caudill

I take inspiration from my family roots in The Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky. You will find that my works have a darker undertones with a dash of humor. I am currently working on a novel Conflict of Interest. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.