Fiction logo

Take a Bow

The Greenlight Festival Creator Mariann Carroll

By Mariann CarrollPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
35
Take a Bow
Photo by Joshua Earle on Unsplash

It’s January 1, 2021. The frozen pond of Evergreen Town has a celebration called Greenlight Festival. It lasts for two weeks. The festival opens at 6 pm and lasts till midnight. The Greenlight frozen pond is surrounded by green lights that makes it look like it's illuminated by the northern lights. It's a magical fortnight. The Greenlight frozen pond is situated at the edge of the town, near Farmer Wubbels’ Barn. Farmer Wubbels has a great big, beautiful, modern barn where the townsfolk sell their homemade items during the festival, from Homemade jellies and jams to homemade knitted winter hats and gloves. They have portable heaters inside which folks use to get warm after ice skating on the frozen pond. The music is blasted from the Barn by local DJs who volunteer their service to the festival. Nothing is going to stop this festival; people have been cooped up indoors for far too long. The fireworks and the drone shows with music are the highlights of each night.

My friend Melinda, has invited me to come with her to watch our hometown star - male figure ice skater who made it to the Olympics, Chad Antonio. I've always had a crush on him. Chad's family is from Spain, originally a line of Bullfighters. While Chad is not a bullfighter, he ice skates like one. Tonight Chad will perform a humorous ice skating skit with a plastic electronic bull on ice skates to entertain our townsfolks and visitors. The show is amazing and Chad is just so handsome in an exotic kind of way. He looks so sexy in the gold and white Matador costume. Melinda’s boyfriend, Jake, is Chad's best friend. Melinda told me Chad will be retiring from skating at the age of 35 in order to manage their family business. I hope he will still perform in our town's Greenlight Festival. Chad is coming out of the barn in his regular clothes - snow boots, black jeans, and a green winter coat with his family Bull Cattle company logo, a Bull with Green Horns. His ice skates are hanging from one of his shoulders.

Chad takes a bow while we clap our hands, making his way out of the Barn. “Thank You,” Chad says to us. Melinda and her boyfriend are holding hands. Melinda introduces me to Chad, saying “ This is my best friend Melonie.” I say hi to Chad shyly. Chad smiles at me and makes a joke to ease my shyness. Everyone can't help but laugh at how funny Chad is. Chad puts his arm around my shoulder like we've been friends for a long time. We head to the frozen pond nearby and sit on the bench to put on our skates. The pop song is blasting on the sound system near the frozen pond. Most of the people in town are skating, including the children. Everyone starts clapping when Chad started skating on the frozen pond. Chad takes a gracious bow.

When Chad is on the ice, he seems like a different person - until I almost fell down and have to hold on to something nearby, which is Chad. Chad holds me closed until I feel comfortable skating on ice. One of Madonna’s slow songs starts playing. Chad keeps on holding and moving to the rhythm of the song. It feels like Chad and I are the only people on the frozen pond. Melinda and Jake sit this song out, watching from the bench. When skating with Chad, it's like I am a professional ice skater myself. I've never ice-skated like this before. Everyone stops skating and watches me and Chad skate together. I feel like I'm flying on the ice. The song has ended and everyone is clapping their hands. Chad does not bow this time, but waves at everyone we pass on our way to the bench, where Melinda and her boyfriend are seated. We talk for a while and then skate again until midnight. Chad offers me a ride home. Melinda is happy for me and rides home with Jake.

Chad asked if I am planning on going to the festival tomorrow night and I tell him "Maybe.” He asks for my number. I give him my cell phone number. Chad walks me to the door of my apartment and gives my right hand a kiss. He bows to me and says, “ Goodbye; I hope we see each other tomorrow.” He's surprised me: I never expected someone to kiss my hand in this day and age.

( I hope you enjoy this story as much as I enjoy creating it! If you like it please give it a hearted.)

Short Story
35

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • JBazabout a year ago

    It felt like you were writing from experience.

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    This is a wonderful happy story! It sounds like a perfect night.

  • I do remember this. it was hearted, lovely story

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Very nice, and romantic. Well done.

  • C. H. Richard2 years ago

    Honestly the first few sentences I thought the Green Light Festival was real. Nicely done💚

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Great intro chapter for the whole story. Outstanding!!!

  • I can't be the only one who wants to know what happened next!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.