Fiction logo

Sweet Isabee

(The Last Deer on the Moon)

By Landon JonesPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
5
Sweet Isabee
Photo by La Albuquerque on Unsplash

The Earth is shining like a neon sign tonight, thought Isabee as he strolled along the edge of the crater Rov. This is the biggest crater on the moon... I wonder if the Earth could fit inside of it.

Isabee was the last deer left on the moon, and this lonely fact made the young fawn endlessly curious. I wonder if the creatures of Earth can see me here. Mom told me that they have long, magical eyes that make far away things seem not so far away. Wouldn’t that be nice…. But they probably cannot see me on account that my coat is an off-white hue, just like the moon... I probably just disappear…

His thoughts were then interrupted by a strange noise that emanated from behind a moon rock. “Hello!?” he called out nervously, “Is there somebody there? I.. I don’t want any trouble. I'm just out trying to enjoy a stroll!”

“Do not worry, my prince. It is only I, your friend Lucy!” Lucy the hairy tarantula declared as she crawled into sight. “And I’ve brought a gift for you today!”

“Oh my dear Lucy, I’m so glad it's only you! Though I must say, you gave me quite a fright. What were you doing hiding behind that rock?”

“It’s because of the gift, my cherub! It was of the utmost importance that I got it to you. And you know how mean some creatures are to spiders... I couldn’t risk getting squashed to bits. Not today. And since I know you walk this path faithfully every Monday; I hid here and waited.” And at this she began to gag. She gagged and gagged gagged some more, until eventually, somehow, a small, round, glowingly red object rolled from her fangs.

Isabee gasped. “What a very strange, yet alluring present you have brought me Lucy! I do say that is the most beautiful color I have ever seen... May I ask what it is?”

“Why, it is the most delicious fruit on Earth, my deer. The humans created it themselves with their unparalleled magic. It’s called a Maraschino cherry.”

“Wow, Lucy, that is so thoughtful of you! But I must admit... I really don’t know what’s so special about today.”

“Of course you don’t, sweet child, for I am the only one who knows. If you would have known of this fruit before today, it would have made your life here on the moon much less pleasant… If you would have known it was possible... to go to Earth.”

“Earth!?” Isabeee exclaimed. “The planet of infinite color!? How though, Lucy? I thought we only went there when we died, after our memories were wiped clean of this sad, barren moon.”

“Aww yessss,” Lucy hissed, “the great myth.”

“Myth?” Isabee replied, “but every creature on the moon knows it to be true!”

“Well, deer one, every creature on the moon has been lied to. This cherry is the other way to get to Earth. The better way.”

“The better way?” Isabee mumbled, as if to himself.

“Yes Isabee. With the cherry you don’t have to die, and you can keep your memories too! You won’t have to start all over again when you go to Earth. And! Most importantly... you can go to Earth and tell the truth of where we come from! You are the last deer on the moon, Isabee... and so it is your responsibility to go to Earth now. You alone must go and tell the others where we all come from.”

“That does sound quite wonderful Lucy… For I do miss the other deer. I miss them dearly… But it quite scares me, Lucy! What if I eat this thing and something awful happens? Everyone on the moon believes in life on Earth after death… but this… this only you have told me.”

At this Lucy couldn’t help but scowl and let out a sigh. “I know it’s frightening Isabee, but it is your destiny. You are the last deer, after all! Can’t you feel the importance of that in your bones?”

“But Lucy, isn’t every creature important? Can’t you eat the cherry and tell everyone the truth?”

“Hah! My deer child, how you mock me… A tarantula! Spewing tales about the moon!? My insides would be on my outsides with my first word!… No Isabee. You are a deer. And a white one at that. They will listen to you. You must…” She was then silent for a moment, and began again in a rather soft, defeated voice, “The last of the unicorn did not listen to me either, Isabee. And I take it you have heard of their fate on Earth...”

At this a slight breeze, which is extremely rare on the moon, eeked through, nudging the maraschino cherry ever so slightly towards Isabee. And as he sat staring at the cherry, he felt a buzzing in his soul. A giant fly then landed on the treasure, and Lucy didn’t even flinch.

The fly locked eyes with Isabee and began digesting the cherry with its nasty little mouth thing, and with that Isabee knew what had to be done. With one quick head dip and flick flick of his tongue, Isabee and the fly said goodbye to the moon. And what was left was one smiling tarantula and a tiny pool of red, crusting over in the white dirt of a silent planet.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Landon Jones

Exploring existence through writing, art, and existing. Writer of fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. Friend of the inner child. Interrogator of the inner sheep. I stop to smell the flowers (and talk to them too).

art @landonmakesthings

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.