Fiction logo

Survival Sense

Always listen to that little voice in your head.

By Mark GagnonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Survival Sense
Photo by PJ Gal-Szabo on Unsplash

Some places just put my internal alarm systems on active standby. Alma Latinas was just such a place. Sure, I’d visited this cantina before with several friends, but never alone. Actually, Gringos never visit this part of Nuevo Laredo alone, and I know this, so what the hell am I doing here? When you’re twenty and bulletproof, in your mind anyway, no place is off limits.

The night started out with four of us doing a cantina crawl. As the night stretched on, several of the guys met some nice virtuous senoritas, and I knew I wouldn’t be seeing them until sometime tomorrow morning. Sir Robert, of the weak constitution, had faded back across the border several hours ago. That left me wandering around places I shouldn’t. Finally, I saw a sign, not from God, but it could have been; it was multi-colored neon and made a buzzing sound. My salvation, Alma Latinas.

When I walked through the door, all my senses were immediately assaulted. Loud mariachi music was playing. The interior was lit in dull yellow light, so I had to strain my eyes just to navigate my way to the bar. The place smelled of stale beer and tequila with just a hint of vomit. As I ran my hand along the bar’s surface, I could feel my fingers stick to it. My shoes had already become entrapped in the flypaper that was supposed to be the floor. I ordered a shot of tequila, the good stuff with the worm resting at the bottle's bottom, and tried to drink without grimacing.

It didn’t take long before a couple of large, well-tattooed gentlemen, wearing leather vests with the word Banditos emblazoned on the back, stood on either side of me. The larger one, speaking in a Texas drawl, said, “What in the hell are you doing in here alone, boy?” That’s when my Survival Sense kicked in, blaring a loud warning in my head.

I actually knew these guys. We Air Force pukes, as they fondly referred to us, and the Banditos, Texas’s chapter of the Hells Angels, had actually partied together a few times. Usually, all went well until too much beer flowed. Once that point was reached, it was time to bail in a hurry or see what the inside of a Mexican jail looked like. My senses told me that the situation was almost at that tipping point.

I exchanged pleasantries with the gentlemen for a short time, hoping the shorter of the two, only six feet three inches, didn’t remember our last encounter when I had gifted him a black eye. Finally, an opportune moment presented arose, and I excused myself, feigning a need for a trip to the men’s room. No one with working olfactory senses actually goes in that room. The ruse worked, and I skirted the far wall, making it to the exit. As I started walking out the door, I heard a resounding crash as a table collapsed under the weight of a person who had just been tossed onto it.

My departure was none too soon. The local Policia was already exiting their cars, batons in hand. They rushed past me like I didn’t exist, which was an excellent development for me. Normally, a lone person exiting a bar where a brawl is in full swing is the first person they detained.

Off toward the East, I could see a faint glimmer of the morning sun’s rays peaking over the horizon. Once again, thanks to my Survival Sense, I had lived to see another tequila sunrise.

It was a beautiful sight!

Adventure
1

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.