Fiction logo

Surprise moment

On Sunday, Wei Xuyin and I had a date to hang out. We happened to pass by a pet store that had different breeds of cats, and we rushed into the pet store with great enthusiasm to see what was going on.

By David R HallPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Surprise moment
Photo by Irish83 on Unsplash

On Sunday, Wei Xuyin and I had a date to hang out. We happened to pass by a pet store that had different breeds of cats, and we rushed into the pet store with great enthusiasm to see what was going on.

We both fell in love with the same cat. It had a round head, big eyes, and gray fur, and looked clean and cute. Wei Xuyin said, "My family has a poodle, my mom is not going to buy me another cat." I replied, "My mom and dad won't agree to me having a cat either, because they think it's troublesome to have small animals."

On Monday morning, on the way to school, I said to my mom, "Mom, I saw a gray kitty with Wei Xuyin yesterday, can you buy it for me?" Mom, with her eyes glued to the road, simply replied absentmindedly, "Let's talk about it later.". When we arrived near the school, I quickly got out of the car as usual and watched my mom's car drive further and further away.

In the afternoon, my dad came to pick me up and I asked him, "Dad, I want to buy a cat, is it okay?" Dad asked, "Having a cat is more trouble oh, you have to deal with its feces every day oh, can you do it?" I quickly nodded my head and said, "Yes." Dad hesitated again and said, "Why don't you go home and ask **** Mom for her opinion?" I immediately felt like a deflated ball.

A week passed, and it was the weekend morning, Mom and Dad went out early, I left home alone to do my homework, and suddenly I felt the house was so quiet. Two hours passed, I finished my homework and went back to my room to listen to a song. I vaguely heard the sound of the door opening, and I thought it must be my mom and dad coming back.

Not long after, my door was gently pushed open and my mom came in and asked, "What are you doing?" I said, "I'm listening to Deng Ziqi singing." Dad said, "Come out and look, there's a little guest in the living room." I was thinking: What kind of guest would mom and dad invite to our house?

When I walked into the living room, I saw a little gray cat, looking at me dumbly, and I almost jumped up and asked, "Mom and Dad, where is this kitten from?" Dad smiled and said, "This is an American shorthair cat, very docile, we bought it for you as a birthday present. You can give it a nice name." I jumped happily, lay down and stared at the kitten for half a day, and said, "Its eyes are so round, just like cherries, let's call it Cherry." I felt so happy at that moment, it was a great surprise.

From then on, Cherry was the first thing I hugged when I got home every day; she lay by the foot of my stool when I was doing my homework and never disturbed me; she licked her paws and fur when I took a bath; she was waiting for me at my door every day when I opened the door after I woke up, and she became my playmate after I finished my homework every day. At this time, I feel that our home is starting to become lively!

I had my teeth pulled

On Sunday morning, I was chewing on a sugar cane, but when I used my strength, my tooth hurts! When I felt it with my hand, it was moving. My mom looked at it and said, "I think you need to pull a tooth, I'll take you to the hospital later." When I heard that I was so scared that I felt like a rabbit, thinking, "Does it hurt to have a tooth pulled? I was so scared.

When I arrived at the hospital, I saw a lot of patients, smelled the pungent smell of sterile water, and heard the sound of other people's children crying, which made me even more scared. When I walked into the office, I saw the shiny pliers and the doctor in a white coat, I asked in a low voice, "Doctor, does it hurt to have a tooth pulled?" The doctor reassured me, "No, it doesn't hurt, it will be fine in a minute." I lay on the bed, my eyes tightly closed, my mouth wide open, frowning, and my palms so nervous that my hands were sweating. Shortly after, the doctor said, "The extraction is finished, you can get up now." It didn't hurt that much to have a tooth pulled!

I will take good care of my teeth, brush them regularly, and keep my teeth healthy.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

David R Hall

Reading makes you feel good

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.