Fiction logo

Suddenly

That day my brother-in-law said, "Look at you, you're twenty-three years old, what do you look like? I remember that day, I did not do anything, did not say anything. Perhaps, it is because I did nothing. Later, I explained this to myself.

By Linda T HarberPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Suddenly
Photo by Vladislav Glukhotko on Unsplash

That day my brother-in-law said, "Look at you, you're twenty-three years old, what do you look like? I remember that day, I did not do anything, did not say anything. Perhaps, it is because I did nothing. Later, I explained this to myself.

But, all of a sudden, I remembered what Yuan Lang said to Xu Sanduo in "Soldier Assault": What age is twenty-two? It is the age of eating at noon and being hungry at 12:30. In life, two words - are fresh. Is your life fresh? Not new. Yuan Lang asked Xu Sanduo this.

But, what kind of age should twenty-three be? I don't know. There is no one to tell me what twenty-three should be like. The so-called youthful years should have a young and wild, personality, I never know what it should be.

Suddenly, it feels like I'm getting old. The fact is that you'll be able to get a good deal on your own. At least, no one has ever said that I am mature and stable.

The only thing that many people say is that they are twenty-three years old. It seems that twenty-three years old really should have something. Love, career, and even family. I don't seem to have anything.

So, during the holidays, there were people who were anxious to call me to sell me.

It's just that there's never a bottom in your heart as to what you want to have. I just can't figure out why I need another person to be involved in my life.

When you turn on the TV, you find that there are more and more matchmaking programs. The fact is that you can find a lot of people who are not able to get a lot of money to spend on their own.

Suddenly I felt that love has never been ignorant to me. I had also imagined myself as a proud princess when I was young and ignorant, imagining that there would be a Prince Charming. The fact is that, at the age of twenty-three, you seem to be more eager to have a long-lasting relationship and an uneventful life.

I've watched my nephew grow up day by day and listened to my sister talks about her and my brother-in-law's days of bickering and fighting. Sometimes I wonder if I had followed my sister's footsteps step by step if I would have had my own family and even a cute child.

I remember that before junior high school, I always followed in my sister's footsteps. After junior high school, however, we went on a different path. Today we are, today's life, I don't know which is what I want. If someone asks me if I have ever regretted studying for so many years. I don't know if I can say as simply as my sister that I don't regret not going on to school in the first place.

Who said that everyone has a reason for every road they take? This will not have the so-called regret or regret.

The fact is that you are still young, still ignorant. The fact is that you will find a lot of people who are not able to get a good deal on a lot of things. Occasionally one or two sentences, are always taken from various places. I remember someone said I like to sigh blindly, but now I am always speechless for a very long time.

It's just that, no matter what, life has to go on. We always have to grow or continue to grow old.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Linda T Harber

Love to read, love to create, love to live

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.