Fiction logo

Stubborn Like a Bull

a short story

By Erin GreyPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Stubborn Like a Bull
Photo by Daniel Lloyd Blunk-Fernández on Unsplash

I knew this day would eventually come.

Walking down the dirt road, making note of the large bright orb in the sky, heat rolling off the rice fields, I walked the lonesome half mile to GT's farmhouse and acres upon acres of animal fields. With each step, I felt the nervous jitters rise from my toes up to my gut, and finally forming into a pounding headache. Or was it the heat getting to me?

I invited myself inside, his family were essentially mine, the only people we could trust out here in the outer lands of the spectacle that made up the walled paradise city. His dad said hello and offered me a glass of lukewarm water, to which I obliged, already sweating, both from the sun, but mostly from the growing fear in my gut. He would never go for my plan.

After taking a quick rest, GT emerged from the barn entrance, his black and white hair standing on end. He never bothered styling it, considering it was going to get messed up after tending to the animals and the insane humidity. With a warm smile, he invited me into the barn and out to the fields.

We walked in silence, and I wasn't sure if this was a good thing. GT was often very good at reading me like a psychic, however it would've been hard to channel those 'spirits' while we walked side by side. Occasionally, he would toss seeds or other treats from his deep coat pockets while treading past different animals. People didn't believe that he could speak to animals telepathically, but I thought it was very much real. If my ability existed, his telekinesis definitely could.

He cleared his throat as we stopped near the edge of a tree line.

"You aren't bringing good news, aren't you." His voice was low, dragging out certain syllables within his desire to add a dramatic flair. I shifted on my feet.

"...I'm leaving." The words mumbled, my eyes spotting my feet in the shade before squinting at the animal in front of us. "When did you get a bull?"

GT snickered, before using his scarf as bait. It always baffled me how he could wear twenty layers and he couldn't break a sweat in this heat.

"The demons of this plane could not handle it, so they entrusted me with the task." Translation: his dad traded something for a bull. "Come hither, Taurus!" He whisked the scarf away, and the bull did nothing. "The beast is a bit...stubborn, as mortals would say."

"It's hot out, GT, even I don't want to pick rice in this heat." I sat in the shade on the lush moss that plagued the ground near the trees and the small stream at the bottom of a slight slope. GT stood still and tall, nearly pouting to the accuracy of my words.

"Clearly you are leaving this world behind you, as you said." Turning his head and sticking a defiant nose in the air, I sulked with a heavy sigh.

"I...never said that, but-"

"But I'm not wrong, correct?"

"...no, you're not-"

"Then the spirits have blown me the west wind once more, they have not failed me!" He stood with his arms out, embracing the sun on his rather pale skin. I winced up at him, the bull behind us making a noise before putting its head back down on the ground. Clearing his throat again, he squatted near me before running a hand over the moss. "Where do you intend to go?"

"The city. The only place I can go." He quickly shifted his head toward me.

"Do my ears hear you correctly? You want to go beyond the wall?" His red eye gazed deep into me, like he was reading me again. I merely rolled my eyes in response.

"GT, you know why."

"Do I now?" He scoffed. "You might have to remind me once more."

"Because of...him." I blushed.

"...him." GT hummed, throwing a nut at the bull who sniffed it off the ground, still refusing to interact much with him. "...you don't mean...the demon of demons himself, do you??"

"That's exactly what I mean." I gave him another look. "I...want to try my hand. And maybe find something better for my life."

I felt him sit next to me with a sigh, again throwing another nut at the bull, that paid no attention to GT's antics. "And this is....something you are going to follow through with?"

"I wouldn't be here telling you if I wasn't serious." I waved my arm exasperatingly. "It's time for me to...spread my own hypothetical wings."

"You could've had wings if you tried hard enough." I heard him grumble before clearing his throat. "What about your mother? You're going to so easily leave her behind and on her own?"

"Fuck her." I spat venom, seemingly upset that he would bring her up. "She can suffer in my absence."

I felt GT's stare soften before he hummed a low pitch. "I...understand your intolerance." Placing an oddly cold hand on my sweaty one, it was his attempt to provide comfort. "I cannot convince you not to leave, correct?"

"Probably not." I chuckled once, stretching my legs and squeezing his hand.

"Keh heh, you're as stubborn as the bull. Right, Taurus?" GT looked between myself and the bull, uniquely named after the star sign, who blankly stared back as us and flicked his tail before going back to ignoring us. I felt his aura shift before I heard his tone change. "If this is what you are destined to do, then I will not stop you. You are...my friend, after all."

"And don't worry, I'll text you-"

"You better or I will hunt you down in the city." He gave me another glare before it instantly softened into a kiddish smile.

"Don't tempt me, maybe I'll leave you on 'read' to give you an excuse to come see me." I joked back, poking his shoulder before I got a ping on my mobile device. I dug through my pocket for it while GT got up to pet the beast in front of us. "Damn, Mom needs me back home."

"Of course, go tend to the needs of your farm." GT was understanding of my responsibilities as he worked on cleaning a spot on the bull's horn. "We will...meet soon to discuss your plan in more detail. And you best come with a plan."

"I will GT, I'll see you soon." He reached for a quick embrace before I wandered back through the fields alone, only the sweat from the heat sticking to me. I guess it was good to be stubborn like a bull. If I wasn't I wouldn't have had the courage to leave. Which is what desperately needs to happen.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Erin Grey

A creator of many different types of media - including writing! Currently a graduate student in PA, I love to write mostly science fiction work (and fan fiction - but that's on a different site). Published author - ask for more info!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.