Fiction logo

Date With the Devil

a short story

By Erin GreyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Date With the Devil
Photo by Hans Vivek on Unsplash

I approached the looming double doors, as confident as a mortal could be. It was my only opportunity to meet him, the one everyone clamored to be his partner, and it was finally my turn to have a one on one meeting with the work of the devil.

Knocking, the door parted and I pushed through, showing a spacious and luxurious office space, fit for a villainous king like himself. The sturdy oak desk sat near the back wall opposite of the door, the chair empty. My eyes roamed to the window, looking out over the fiery landscape of the underworld, I still couldn't believe the elevator brought me down here.

"Welcome, my guest." A creaky voice came from a lanky figure by the window. A long, slender tail swished before slinking away, the body turning around. He was just as handsome in person as he was on posters and promotional materials.

"Reshik..." After stepping a few more feet into the room and the doors closing behind me, I knelt in his presence, as expected. "It is a privilege to meet you."

"Call me Riley." He directed, holding a glass of possibly red wine, or maybe blood, in his hand. "It's my...human distinction."

"Of course, Riley." Keeping my head and eyes down, I respected his wishes as I heard him step towards me.

"You may stand, I give you permission." His voice dragged on, standing about six feet away. Getting off my knees, I revealed my height, but the slight heels added a couple inches to my average height self. I smoothed out my navy blue dress that hugged my waist and flared out when I twirled. Our gazes met, his honey yellow eyes greeting my dark grey.

"It's....thank you for letting me meet you." My hands fidgeted with my dress as he took a step forward, a hand coming to my face.

"Marigolds?" He noticed the yellow flowers wrapped within my braided hair. "To match my eyes?"

I giggled, blushing to his form being close to mine, I could smell his smoky cologne, or devilish self, I couldn't tell. "Marigolds represent good luck, and positive vibes."

"You know they also represent jealousy and despair, correct?" Riley smirked, showing his enlarged canines. I sometimes forgot he was an ancient creature, maybe it was because he looked no older than 25.

"I...didn't know that, no." I blushed out of embarrassment, looking down. "I should know, I'm an occult artist..."

"Don't blame yourself, Miss Dryar," He kept his smirk, circling me slowly as I stood still. "You are young, you have miles of learning ahead of you, providing you don't fuck it up."

"I-I wouldn't want to mess it up." I wasn't sure what he was referring to, but I was letting my nerves show. I soon felt a gentle yet dominant hand on my shoulder, easing me to relax.

"Calm down. Your shoulders are rather tense, Celeste. May I refer to you as such?" I shuddered with another blush, it felt weird hearing him refer to me by first name.

"Oh uh....yes, I'm okay with that." I didn't expect the devil to be so polite. Or was this a façade?

"I don't wish to make a beauty like you uncomfortable." He swiveled with grace around to the other side of his desk. "It's not often I meet someone like you. Poised, kind, not risque, and your interest in the occult is very exciting." It's almost like he read off a resume.

"Of course, Riley, I wouldn't dare disrespect you." I sat across from him, hands resting on my knees. "And the occult...it's been in my family for generations."

"Really?" Riley raised a brow while fiddling with an all metal pen on his desk. "What caused that?"

"It's said that my grandmother from nine generations ago killed a demon beast." I spoke with such excitement, I thought everything was working in my favor. Riley was taking an interest in my occupation and-

***

The marigolds lied. I lay dead on the floor of Reshik's office. He stabbed me with a pen before ripping my heart out, the same death his father had to my Grandmother Katrine.

I was filled with much despair as I gasped my last breath.

Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Erin Grey

A creator of many different types of media - including writing! Currently a graduate student in PA, I love to write mostly science fiction work (and fan fiction - but that's on a different site). Published author - ask for more info!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.