Fiction logo

Strawberry flavored dried fish

Bear found a cat, a beautiful pure white Persian cat, on a rainy day.

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

Bear found a cat, a beautiful pure white Persian cat, on a rainy day.

Bear carried the cat to the worn blanket, carefully dried her fur, and thoughtfully prepared a small, warm fireplace.

The cat woke up and opened her eyes to look around, those sapphire eyes that made the old house shine.

The bear was so stunned by those beautiful eyes that he couldn't speak.

"Where is this?"

"This is, this is ...... me, I don't know ......"

"Silly bear ......" The cat couldn't help but laugh out loud.

"Cat, are you cold? No, no, no, are you hungry? Would you like something to drink? Or would you like to take a break?" The bear panicked for a moment and didn't even know what he was talking about.

It seems that this really is a silly bear.

"Cat! Guess what's in my hand?" The bear ran over happily.

"Is it a strawberry-flavored dried fish?" The cat opened one eye and closed the other.

"No, no, no." The bear took out the rose hidden behind him, "Clang! It's a rose that symbolizes love! Beautiful, isn't it?"

"I don't believe in such things." The cat scratched the bear, "Might as well send me strawberry-flavored dried fish."

"Are there really strawberry-flavored dried fish in the world?"

"Of course there is, my master used to ......" the cat suddenly choked.

"Cat? Cat, what's wrong with you?" The bear could feel that the cat had just been fine and must have remembered something sad.

"Bear, do you want to know why the previous owner discarded me?"

The bear hugged the cat: "It's okay cat, don't remember the sad things, let the previous things go, I will always watch over you in the future."

"Cat! I'm going to open a store, guess what it is?" Bear ran over with a grin on his face.

"You're not going to open a flower store, are you? Bear, I still like dried small fish a little better."

"That's right! I'm going to open a dried fish store, specializing in strawberry-flavored dried fish!" The bear looked smug as he waited for a compliment.

"Bear, honestly, we are poor as hell, where did you get the courage to open a store?"

"If we work hard enough, good times are ahead of us!" The bear swore, with eyes full of little stars.

The cat rolled his eyes, what a silly bear.

The bear was a doer, clanking out a wooden cart, putting the frame on it, and it looked pretty much the same.

The bear worked hard planting strawberries, fishing, drying small fish, preparing various things for the store, and was busy all day.

The cat, on the other hand, either stays on the blanket all day, lazing in the sun, or comes over and makes a mess.

The cat would often knock over the little bottles of spices on the table, turn over the dried fish in the sun, and tangle the wool all over the place.

"Cat! You're such a troublemaker!"

"Bear, I'm just trying to help you ......"

"Cat, you're doing me a big favor by staying put!"

So, the cat lay down on the blanket again and started to sunbathe and purr and purr and sleep.

The cat seems to be extra fond of sleeping lately.

"Cat, why are you messing up again?"

"Bear, I can't do anything right, I'll only drag you down, I think, I should leave ......"

"Cat, cat! I'm sorry, maybe I didn't sound too good just now, cat, don't you go ......" Bear suddenly felt that the atmosphere was not right.

"There's no need for that ......"

"Pop!" The cat still slammed the door and left.

What an unreasonable cat!

What was the bear trying so hard for so long and doing all this for?

The bear hid in his room and cried all night, the strawberries were not yet ripe, the dried fish were not yet dried, don't you like strawberry flavored dried fish the most?

The bear was tired of crying and finally fell asleep.

Do you know why the cat was abandoned by its previous owner?

It was not that the cat was unreasonable, but that the cat was very sick and would soon die.

So, the owner ruthlessly abandoned the cat.

The poor cat staggered on that rainy day of abandonment and collapsed on the roadside.

Maybe she died like that, but I was so upset, I wanted to have a bite of dried fish before I died!

This is why cats are always sickly and always want to doze off.

In fact, that day, the cat huddled outside the door all night and listened to the bear crying all night.

After dawn, the cat finally chose to leave.

She knew that if she died in front of the bear, he would be more upset than he was now.

The cat walked aimlessly, dragging her tired body, and finally, she stopped at an unknown place.

The cat collapsed, and there happened to be a rose plant there.

Bear, thank you for walking with me in my last days, I am very happy, let's make strawberry flavored dried fish together again sometime.

Farewell, my dear bear.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.