Fiction logo

Strange phenomena in fever

A family of two generations heard the eerie sound of footsteps

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

I don't know if you have ever experienced some strange phenomena when you have a fever . Now I'll talk about a few strange phenomena that happened to my grandfather and my father when he had a fever . The first are my grandfather's , grandfather he was more than 30 years old , once at home at night suddenly on the fever , fever is very strong , grandmother said ginger soup can relieve high fever , it gave grandfather boiled ginger soup . After he drank it , he went to bed and rested . At that time , living conditions were very poor , grandpa's family lived in a small house in the old city , the door is a long alley , with the kind of paving slate from the main road , about a couple of hundred meters , leading to another main road . Both side against the alley are residential areas , grandpa's bedroom window is facing the alley . At that time , grandpa just lay down for about ten minutes , he heard a sound of footsteps from the alley outside the window , as if someone was running , the sound of shoes on the gravel road clattering . The footsteps ran in from a main road , becoming clearer and clearer from a blur , then ran straight past the window , and the sound became blurred again , and slowly became inaudible . Grandpa is still confused , who is running in the alley in the middle of the night ah ? In the middle of the confusion , the voice came again , the voice became clear again , it seems to be from the other side of the alley back to run . Grandpa called out to his grandmother and said , " Who is it ? who is running in the middle of the night ?" . Grandma said , " You're talking nonsense because you have a fever , who is running ? " . But that night , Grandpa listened to the sound of that voice running back and forth in the alley several times , and then fell asleep in a daze . Later , grandpa's fever went down a lot , and he didn't hear that voice anymore . Some people will say that it is normal to hallucinate when you have a fever . But the weird thing is that the sound of footsteps appeared again when my father had a fever . This incident , I will briefly say it . This incident is not remembered by my father , is my grandmother told me , when my father was in elementary school , once drank cold water , came back to feel cold limbs , that night the fever . At that time , my grandmother still boiled ginger soup for my father to drink , and then used a wet cloth on my father's forehead , and then let him sleep . However , my father could not sleep and always said to my grandmother that there was the sound of running in the alley , back and forth , which was annoying . At that time , grandparents still lived in that house , and my father slept in the very room where grandpa had slept with fever before , with the same alley at the door . And this time , both grandparents were there , and they didn't hear it . That's when grandma suddenly said something to grandpa , took out a pile of things for ancestor worship in the yard , took it outside in front of the alley and burned it , then came back and asked father again , " Can you still hear it ? " . Father said the sound was getting farther and farther away , and then it was gone . Later I asked my grandmother why I had to burn something so that the sound would disappear . Grandma laughed and didn't answer . But she said that when people have a cold and fever , their yang energy is weak and they tend to see or feel dirty things . But with the development of the modern medical system , hallucinations can occur when you have a fever is recognized as normal by the medical community . For me , I prefer to believe that the sound of footsteps in the alley was just a hallucination of my grandfather and father , and not the so-called " dirty things " . What do you think ?

Horror

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.