Fiction logo

Storydropping

when a writer slyly watches and listens to people in public places to find inspiration for a story

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
8
Storydropping
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez 🇨🇦 on Unsplash

“I wish you wouldn’t do that here. Can we please just get one moment together?” Alana regrettably hit the table with her fist. It was hard to silently yell in a crowded restaurant, but Thomas was gone. Her husband said he’d stay focused on her tonight, but that quickly felt like a lie.

“Don’t do what?” Thomas snapped back to reality. “What are you talking about? I’m listening!”

“Listening to who? You’re at every table, but ours!” She loudly whispered.

“No, I’m not! I didn’t bring the notebook! I’m focused! This date was my idea, remember?” Thomas reached across the table for her hand, but she pulled away.

“Clearly!” Alana crossed her arms.

“What?” Thomas felt guilty.

“Whenever you need ideas, you always find a chaotic party or terribly busy place and absorb as many characters as you can in a night. You’re storydropping. Aren’t you?” Thomas felt ashamed. She’s known his tricks for years. She knew the night she caught him crashing her best friend’s wedding reception. And, the night she secretly read her name scribbled in his little notebook after they made love for the first time.

“I…I don’t know what to say.” Thomas stammered.

“Say nothing, Thomas. Just write.”

“What?”

“You have ten minutes. Write the ideas and thoughts scrambling in your head. Then, will you be here with me tonight?” Alana fought back tears.

“Yes.” Thomas looked into her eyes.

“Good. Start.”

He pulled out his pen.

Then, slowly his notebook.

And began to write.

MicrofictionLove
8

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Brin J.6 months ago

    oh... I'm guilty of this... a bit differently though. I can't stay present in a social setting for very long. My mind wanders to my stories, picking up on where I left off to add details that'll get the plot moving. I try to be in the present and listen to what people are saying, but nothing holds my attention. They're usually discussing things that don't interest me... And I don't want to overwhelm people with my stories either.

  • Naomi Gold6 months ago

    LMAO! First of all, I feel so called out. I totally do this. Secondly, him pulling out the notebook after denying he brought it took me out! 🤣

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    This was great! 🤣😁 I saw an old episode of Catfish the other day where the catfish was an author looking for how “characters” would respond to different situations. 🤯 that would be much worse than this form haha

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.