Fiction logo

MyMyMine

a fragile and important private body part on a child

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 7 months ago 1 min read
2
MyMyMine
Photo by Sajad Nori on Unsplash

She screams…

As a father of a highly energetic three year old, you become conditioned to differentiate various screams you hear throughout the day.

Laughter. This scream is high pitched, short, and followed by contagious cute giggles. Code Green.

Frustration. This scream is loud, long, and followed by or begins with a puppy-like growl. Also, may include the sound of an object being thrown or shattered. May require attention. Code Blue.

Spontaneity. This scream is still being unofficially studied, but possibly the result of having an goofy father who passed on part of his genes. Code White.

Pain. This scream is loud as Frustration, high pitched as Laughter, and random as Spontaneity. But, alarming. It’s a feeling many parents know. Code Red.

I drop the soapy dishes in my hands, and race to the living room. Then, check the scene…

There’s Old Town Road blasting from the speakers. My daughter crying on the floor. And, surprisingly nothing broken.

I kneel down to her…

“Love, what happened? There’s no blood. See, no blood. What happened?”

“I like this song.” She sniffles.

“Yes, I know.” I pause the music. Did you dance too hard?”

“I dance too hard on Horsie!” She screams.

“Horsie?” I search the floor and see her child-sized broom close by. “Aww, you and Horsie had a party?”

“Yes! I dance on my horse, and it hurt my MyMyMine!” She stomps.

“You rodeeeee till you can’t no more!” I sing.

We both smile…

Then I press PLAY

MicrofictionLoveHumorfamily
2

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Behavior is interesting! Keep riding until you can’t no more! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.