Fiction logo

Stories In the Dark From Grandma.

A lesson to learn when acting up

By ALPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Today I got in trouble with some of the kids in the neighborhood while at my grandma's house. It was nothing personal I was just trying to have fun. Who cares if I may play a little too hard? Well, my grandmother says I do. That's the reason why I pick on Michael and his friends. They are such cry babies and he is easily scared of bugs. Why be scared of dead bugs when at mommy's apartment our kitchen is full of them. I found a dead roach and picked it up. Michael and his friends were grossed out but not me. I picked that stale shell of a bug up feeling the crunching sensation between my fingers and it doesn't bother me at all. It's like grabbing a piece of Frosted Flakes cereal. I had fun teasing every one of them because they were scared and I wasn't.

Grandma asked me, "Devin why do you feel the need to always show how brave you are when everyone else is scared." I looked down toeing my scuffed sneakers into the ground because I know she was mad and answered, "I don't know." Her wrinkled face tensed as she clenched her dentures together in a tight rigid jawline. Her dull eyes went wide knowing I'm fully capable of answering but I wanted to play the dumb card and get away with no lecture. Her appearance was that of an evil witch and the boys from the neighborhood were always scared of her and her frizzy grey hair. We were made of fun of as an object of amusement to show off that they could get close enough and brave. To me this was fun as I tested my boundaries every chance I had when I was over when mom was going through her alone time.

She asked again cocking her head to the side in a testing manner then continued, "Devin, what do you feel when you do this?" I smiled feeling the rush and sensation of victory. It was as if slipping into a warm bath the feeling of confidence that I was better than them. I answered, "I don't know strong I guess. They make fun of us and that makes me mad. And when I scare them and they cry over nothing I feel like I'm Batman. And Batman is a good guy grandma and so am I." I said this proudly looking into grandma's eyes with a sense of purpose. She laughs and says rhetorically, "So you think you're Batman?" I cut her off telling her, "I wish!"

She shakes her quivering head with a smirk then says, "But Batman doesn't gloat he hides in the shadows and punishes the wicked. And by the terror you've been causing wouldn't Batman come to punish you?" I shook my head frantically saying, "No way! I'd tell Batman I want to be like him and I was fighting off evil." She had this look of disbelief then answered, "What gives you the right to say Michael and his friends are evil?" I pleaded, "Because they think we're weird and scary grandma!" She pursed her lips then asked, "Yeah but have they been mean or tried to harm you or me?" "Well no but," I tried to continue but grandma cut me off saying, "No buts Devin did you know Billy and his friends help me by picking up the garbage and racking the leaves?" I tried to justify but my words fell short as I said, "No." She then adds, "And do you know I give them cookies and tea for helping me and ask them to play with you?" I shook my head and that warm sensation of victory turned to guilt. Grandma then added, "Go take a bath and get ready for bed. Grandma has a story about a little boy named Billy and he was a bully."

I kept thinking I'm no bully. I washed up and then dressed into my pajama's as I made my way into my room. I was damp not fully drying off as my top stuck to my chest. I liked the cool sensation when under the covers. Grandma turned on the night light in the corner of the room and I felt anxious because her stories were scary. I only got them when I was in trouble. She pulled the covers over me and pulled up a chair with a grunt as she took a seat.

She then started a story in her soft feeble voice, "So Billy was a bully and he didn't mean to be. He was misunderstood. He didn't know that being different was not a bad thing. He looked at every one who didn't understand him as evil. But little did Billy know the Devil was watching him." I interrupted, "But Billy isn't bad he's just protecting himself." She quieted me saying, "We all think we are the good guys Devin. Let me continue," she paused as I calmed down from my outburst then went on, "For Billy he didn't realize that the thoughts that made him a bully were not his own they were the Devil's whisper. The Devil is the true enemy and he takes on your identity and fills your head with evil thought that you think makes you strong. So Billy kept being a bully until one day he really hurt someone that showed him how evil he had become. You see Devin the world can be rough but when you choose to think it is always that way you focus on the evil and never realize the good that is out there and the Devil controls you." She waited for me to interrupt as I kept a puzzled look on my face then continued, "Billy felt so sad realizing he was a bully that he looked hard in the mirror and questioned the little voice in his head. Little did he know that voice wasn't his it was the Devil's."

I clenched the blanket over my mouth and spoke in a muffled tone, "Really Grandma the Devil spoke? This can't be real?" She smiled cynically then said, "Oh, he is real Devin and he is always watching and waiting patiently to whisper in your ears." I shouted, "No Grandma! No! I don't want to hear this story!" Tears built in my eyes and I wanted to hide. She then asks, "Devin I thought you were brave like Batman? You like to show that and tease your friends." "No grandma I thought I was brave but this is too scary what if he talks to me?" I asked. She answers, "But Devin what if he has and you didn't know it." I gasped in a squeal she laughed and turned on the lights. She then brushes my hair and says, "Devin when the Devil influences you, you need to look back and tell him to get lost. You are not a bully, those kids are not evil, and you don't have to act brave to prove to them that you are better." I asked, "Is that what Billy did?" She then continued, "Once Billy saw that he was not a bully and faced the Devil he was free and lived a happy life making friends and had fun for the rest of his life protecting and making those he cared about feel safe." I interrupted, "I don't know Grandma that sounds scary." She smiled and kissed my forehead then replied, "All good things in life are scary Devin but that's how you find happiness and are truly brave like Batman. Batman faced his fears didn't he?" I answered, "I guess." She left the lights on and left the room.

It was hours before I felt like I could sleep but I had to pee. I inched my way out of bed in the silent of the night. I didn't want to look into the mirror or go to the bathroom. I took a deep breath as I made a break to the bathroom. I felt the cold tile beneath my feet as I quickly flipped on the lights and did my business. I flushed then was about to run out but stopped short at the doorway. I turned around to my reflection in the mirror as my face barely cleared the sink. I don't why I had this urge to challenge myself the only thing I thought was what would Batman do? I turned around and washed my hands. At first I didn't look at myself. Then I did and said, "Look Devil I'm no bully. I love my grandma and I don't want anyone saying she's a witch." Nothing happened and I was relieved but then as I turned to dry my hands off with the towel I saw my reflection smiling and that voice spoke inside my head, "Yes you are. You are a bully." I bolted immediately and screamed, "No I'm not!" I ran to my room and hid under the covers until sleep took me.

The next day I confronted Michael and his friends. They stood there arms folded as if they were guarding the park. They paused as I made my way to them. "Hey Michael. So I'm really sorry I teased you and your friends. I just wanted to say thank you for helping my grandma with chores." Michael head jolted back as he pressed his glasses to his face. His friends said, "Michael come on let's go he's weird and a bully." I flinched at their words bully and turned around in embarrassment. Michael then spoke up, "Devin right?" I nodded my head not looking into his eyes. He then continued, "Do you want to play a game of soccer two on two you and I could be a team." Without hesitation I smiled and answered, "Yes that would be fun."

Horror
Like

About the Creator

AL

Anything about self expression and sincerity is what I love. Writing is a platform to that. I hope everyone finds the courage to express themselves.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.