Fiction logo

Starting Up A New Relationship

Prologue

By LynnPublished 11 months ago Updated 8 months ago 3 min read
Like
Starting Up A New Relationship
Photo by Kat J on Unsplash

Marcus, seriously, how could you do this to us? Nyla screamed. Her lips curled into a sneer as she glared at him. “Why'd you leave me at the altar on our wedding day?” Marcus was quiet. He met her gaze with a look of pure revulsion, no hint of regret in his eyes. “Why not ask your friend Paris?” Shock and confusion coursed through Nyla as her eyes widened. She couldn’t understand why he would say this. “Paris.....my best friend.” She was totally confused. Her heart was in pieces and felt like they let her down. Was everything a lie? She thought to herself.

As she slowly backed away, Nyla couldn't help but feel an overwhelming sense of dread slowly creeping up in the pit of her stomach. Marcus left her in shock and sadness.

Nyla was bawling when Yasmine came to get her. Like a puzzle, the scenes played in her head, but she couldn't seem to make sense of them. Yasmine noticed how hurt she was. I always knew Paris was a joke. That was a dirty move. Marcus hooked up with Paris behind your back. "I wanna hurt her right now," said Yasmine. She knew exactly how Nyla felt. She felt like they had stabbed her in the back. Yasmine took Nyla home. Nyla was exhausted. Once she stepped inside her apartment, she immediately headed to the bathroom to take a shower. She saw a text from Paris come through.

“Hey Nyla. I am sorry about what happened. I hope you can forgive me. Marcus and I started to seeing each other 2 months after you two were engaged. I wanted to let you know, Nyla, but I was too afraid to tell you. I never expected to fall in love with him, but as I got to know him better, I fell harder and harder. Ny, please know that I am sorry for what I did and I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me.”

Paris.

She couldn't believe what she was seeing - it was right there, in her face. Secretly, Marcus and Paris had been seeing each other without her knowledge. She fell onto her bed, exhausted and emotionally drained. She tried to forget what happened that morning, but it stuck with her. Her mom called, but Nyla didn't pick up, so she left a voicemail.

“Hey baby. Hey, it's your mama. Would you like me to get you anything? I can’t believe that happened to you. Mama loves you, no matter what.”

Nyla heard the soft compassion in her mother's voice. She couldn't hold back the tears that flowed from her eyes. It was hard to forget the pain Marcus had caused her. Her first love, who she thought she could trust, turned out to be disloyal and cheated on her. It was as though the weight of the memories had come crashing down on her, and she could feel her heart breaking with the pain and sadness. She drifted off to sleep after crying all night, wondering if she could ever forgive him and move on.

The Next Day

Nyla woke up drained. She set down the binged watched episodes of Naruto. Yasmine came over, bringing her favorite breakfast from Nola Grill. “Hey Girl. I brought your favorite breakfast while we watch some anime.” She said excitedly. Nyla smiled. She was always so happy when Yasmine was around. Yasmine made her forget about her pain for a moment. “Thanks girl.” She said as she hugged her friend tightly. The two watched episodes of Naruto and cheered each other on as they tried to guess what will happen to Naruto. "Feeling any better, Nyla?" Yasmine asked. Nyla was struggling to hold back tears. Marcus took all the money we saved. Marcus took out a loan using our savings as collateral and now I'm broke because of him. I got nothing. "Gotta bust my butt to fix my life," she replied, her voice shaking. “I’m so sorry, Ny. Let's be real. Marcus is a dummy. Don't even get me started about Paris. I’m sorry cuz. She is not your friend, but no sweat 'cause I'm suing Marcus to the max. Cause if he thinks he can just break you like that. He messed with the wrong family, Yasmine said. Don't sweat it, I got your back!” said Yasmine.

Young AdultLove
Like

About the Creator

Lynn

I'm a writer. I write fanfiction, screenplays, and novels. I also watch anime and also listen to K-Pop. I also write for hire. I tend to daydream alot which is probably one of my secrets to writing.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    I hope this isn't written on personal experiance. Sadly, It's happened to a few a people over the years, I'm sure. I can't imagine the pain of getting jilted! Good job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.