Fiction logo

Stargun Smuggler

Chapter 1

By Fantasy WriterPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Photo by <a href="https://unsplash.com/@liuchen37?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Chen Liu</a> on <a href="https://unsplash.com/s/photos/science-fiction-space-ship?utm_source=unsplash&utm_medium=referral&utm_content=creditCopyText">Unsplash</a>

Orion sat with Zoey and Kate at a massive solid wooden table directly in the middle of the bridge on their class two lancer, debating about what strategy would be best for the smuggling job that Orion had managed to get them.

"We should use a diversionary tactic to lure the guards away from the side entrance. We could then quickly dispatch the remaining guards at the door and use a boot drive to open the door swiftly. As long as we move fast, we could be in and out in under five minutes." Kate stated, staring directly at Zoey, who was opposite her at the table.

Zoey gawked at Kate while saying, "But you don't seem to comprehend if the alarm goes off every Kessle on the planet; civilian and military will be hunting us. It would be far better to infiltrate their security systems to help guide you guys via com's to avoid being detected. Not only that, but Orion does have a few connections here we could use to get us in, might cost us some Plats, though."

Kate tensed up, standing up from her chair looking down at Zoey. "I don't like the idea of you being on this ship alone while Orion and I risk our lives to get the goods! I don't trust you, and without more people, I won't agree with your plan!" Her eyes burning with passion as her whole body trembled with adrenaline from being insulted.

Orion quickly realizing things were about to get out of control, "Ladies!" He said, intervening, "While both Ideas are good, I do have to agree that Zoey's idea seems like the best chance of success without detecti-"

"You would take her side! You can't seriously expect me to go along with this?" Kate interrupted, shouting at Orion. She turned to face him while looking him square in the eyes. They gazed at each other, staring intently, trying to read each other for clues or hints.

Placing his elbows on the table in front of him, he touched his fingers together and closed his eyes, breaking eye contact with Kate. He sat for a long minute, gathering his thoughts; he needed Kate for this mission, but he required Zoey as well.

"Gahh, what am I to do? I can't make Kate mad, but her idea is way riskier, especially being down two members. I know she doesn't trust Zoey the way that I do, but there has to be away," Thought Orion.

"Yes, I do, Kate," Orion stated in a soft-calm voice before opening his eyes, reestablishing eye contact with Kate. Her entire body swelled with fury and anger at his words. All of the hairs on the back of his neck stood up; he could almost physically feel the rage and tension seething from her. He continued in the same calm voice, "I need you with me, Kate. There is no one that I would rather have watching my back other than you. I will do this job alone and without you, if you leave me no choice. You and I both know you'd rather be by my side if something goes wrong."

Kate scowled, gritting her teeth, "As much as I hate it!" She said between her teeth, "I will agree to her plan... But only for you, Orion." Kate turned to face Zoey again, pointing her index directly at her, and said, "you may trust her, but I, DO, NOT!" She spun on her heel and stormed off the bridge, enraged with them.

Orion and Zoey sat in silence, both processing everything that had happened. A wave of regret roared in his belly, overwhelming his thoughts, "I forced her hand like that of a cornered animal with no way out but one, my way. I knew she would help no matter the situation if I pushed the right buttons, I trust Zoey, and in time hopefully, she will too."

Taking a deep breath, Orion wrestled his internal demons into submission, gaining control over his volatile emotions. He turned his head to look at Zoey, then broke the silence, "One of these days, you're going to have to tell me why she doesn't trust you. All I know is you guys have some horrible history, and neither of you will talk about it." Orion shifted in his chair, getting comfortable.

"Do you still remember the day we met?" Zoey asked softly, changing the subject. She stared up at the soft amber lights above their heads, waiting for Orion's response.

"Yea, I remember a hard day to forget." He replied as a smile spread across his face. "That was the first job I did without Kate; if I remember correctly, she had some family emergency come up last second." Orion paused for a moment, then continued, "I remember getting down into the pit seeing all the cages full of people. I tried my hardest to ignore them, pretend like I didn't see their pain and suffering. I just wanted to finish my deal, mind my own business, and get out."

"I'm glad you changed your mind," she grimaced, thinking about the past, "had you not shown up, I would be dead right now, Hell if you had waited three minutes, I would have been gassed and dusted." Zoey's voice got soft and quiet towards the end, her eyes glazing over slightly.

"I saw the person before you get 'gassed and dusted,' as you put it," Orion admitted trying to remember precise details. "I couldn't control myself once I fully realized what was going on, I don't regret doing it looking back, but man, it caused one hell of a headache for me."

Zoey leaned back in her chair, kicking her legs up on the table and saying, "I watched from my cage when you activated that bomb; I was astonished and confused. I wasn't sure what you did to shut down their network systems, causing all of the cells to malfunction. As soon as my cage opened, I vividly remember thinking to myself; I had to do whatever it took to go with you. I felt like you were the best chance of escaping."

Orion remembering his reaction when he activated the bomb and it made him laugh aloud. She shot him a curious look, and waited patiently for him to collect himself before explaining. "That was an E.M.P.U.S (Electro-Magnet-Pules-Uniwave-Shock) device worth five-hundred Plad, and I detonated it in the middle of that pit. Without ever having a thought of how I was going to escape or what might happen. I just decided at that moment that I was gonna set that bomb off and cause a mass riot, and to think you thought I was your best chance of escaping." He chuckled some more before continuing, "I think had you not decided to follow me, I wouldn't have gotten out; you were the one that spliced the control panel that got us out of that pit."

Zoey's face lit up with curiosity as she began asking questions, "Five-hundred Plad?? Holy cow!" She exclaimed, surprised at the value, "Well, it worked out at least, and we both made it. Were you buying or selling the bomb?" She asked.

"I had just bought it, had big plans to use it on a job that we'd been working on to turn a profit. However, we had to scrap that plan because losing that Plad was a setback." Orion sighed loudly, "Zoey, I've known you for almost a year now. You've never once lied to me or broken my trust, or done anything disrespectful. Your intelligence and knowledge of programming are astounding, and you're the best lancer pilot I've seen. The things you can do with a computer are insane, and I feel lucky to have your help." He felt a need to make it clear that he trusted her, to make sure she knew that he valued and respected her skill set.

Zoey's face flushed pink as she accepted his gratitude with a significant smile and said, "I feel in debt to you, Orion. You truly did save my life and the lives of many people I knew that day. I am glad to be of help; everyone in your squad except for Kate has made me feel accepted and welcome. You guys are my family..." Her voice trailed off as tears welled up in her eyes, slowly rolling down her cheek to her chin. She took several deep breathes.

Orion didn't quite know what to say, but he felt the same way about his squad. He loved all of them for different reasons, and he, too, considered them his family. "I'll be honest with ya Zoey, I understand what your saying. The few times I've not been here on this ship with you guys, I've felt alone. As long as you continue to treat us with respect, we will always be here for you." Standing up from his chair, he walked around the table to where Zoey sat, outstretching his arms to hug her. She sat motionless for a few seconds before standing up, embracing Orion in a hug.

"Thank you, Orion," Zoey whispered in his ear, hugging him more tightly.

"Anytime, Zoey, if you need or want something, all you need to do is ask." He replied to her, gently releasing her from the hug. Zoey, however, didn't let go; clinging on to him, she buried her chest face in his chest, sobbing lightly. Orion reembraced her, patting her on the back, reassuring her everything was going to be okay. Several minutes passed as they stood hugging in silence.

"Not to be rude," Orion stated, "But sense our plan has been settled, we really should get on the move." Eventually, Zoey released him from the hug, her eyes puffy and swollen from crying.

"I will get the ship started and get us on the move," Zoey said, looking into Orion's eyes one last time before she too walked off the bridge headed for the cockpit, leaving him alone on the bridge.

Series
3

About the Creator

Fantasy Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.