Fiction logo

Star Seed

a science fiction chapter by Shaundi Gonsalves

By shaundi gonsalvesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Star Seed
Photo by Brian McMahon on Unsplash

“Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say.” I interrupt sarcastically.

“Please, Jackson. Can you explain the idea you are expressing?” Ms. Wendell asks curiously, trying to include me in the class discussion but also not trying to rile me up.

“No, I can’t, I don’t think you would understand,” I said.

*Buzz, Buzz, Buzz*

“Alright class, it's been a wonderful year! Be safe!” says Ms. Wendell.

I jumped out of my seat and started emptying my desk – it hit me like a rock, it was summer break. I rushed to gather all my supplies out of my desk, carelessly throwing it all into my backpack and running out of the school. I ran down the hall and looked at the building Levi and I had walked in and out of for all these years. But ever since my dreams became real life, I have been walking into it alone and now I will never walk into it again. This made me wonder if I would ever see Levi again.

My brother isn’t dead, he was abducted by aliens. And the only reason why I can believe that “nonsense” is because they warned me many times before doing so. I never realized it was their intent to take Levi, I am not sure why they want him to begin with... I am almost positive there is something else to this I am missing and I am going to figure it out before school is back in session.

I started to have a reoccurring dream. Where I was regularly face to face with the most unique creature I have ever laid eyes on. Standing about seven foot tall withg smooth purple latex skin and one large black eye in the middle of its face.

A neon yellow light beamed brightly in the distance; shining directly into my eyes like it was for me to notice it. Not questioning it much, I rustled around trying to block it from my eyes. Getting comfortable again, it moved- perfectly into my eyesight again. Annoyed, I cover my face with the pillow and drift back off to sleep. The neon yellow light comes back shining into the bedroom even brighter than it was the first time, illuminating the bedroom. Now changing from yellows, to blues, to greens. I jump down off the top bunk with intent to quietly investigate the light outside.

“Hello? What time is it?” Levi says sleepily.

“No, I’m trying to see what’s going on outside,” I reply softly, trying to not wake mom and dad.

“Is someone here?” Are we in danger?” Levi asks cautiously.

“No, go back to bed,” I repeat.

I push the glass window open as the lights continue to change color at different speeds, I hear a high-pitched buzzing getting louder and louder piercing my ears until the laws of physics were defied. It was silent, the entire world around me. I was saying words, but no sound was coming out of my mouth. Levi is jumping around frantically trying to seek protection under the covers, all while the glow of the unknown light source quickly continues to make its way closer to us.

I slam the window shut, still not a sound. Running away from the window, I feel a breeze on my back as the window flies open so viciously it smacks the walls. How can I make sense of this? What is happening? Where is the natural noise of the world? And what is this light?

Exposing itself from the blinding yellow light, there it was. The purple alien, standing tall and silently pointing

“You...”

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.