Fiction logo

Spilling the Tea

It's Tea Time

By E MPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
2
Spilling the Tea
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

Jane set the china teapot down on the little glass table in front of us. She sat herself down on the lounge next to me, teetering on the edge, getting ready to pour the tea into the cups. She leaned over and placed one sugar cube in each, poured the earl grey tea and topped it up with a swirl of milk. She turned to me and handed me the dainty, floral cup and saucer and smiled at me as she picked her own up and settled back into the lounge to get comfortable.

“So”, she said facing me. “What's all this about?”. She took a sip of tea and the rim of the cup covered her mouth and nose but her eyes were staring straight at mine. They were piercing blue and matched the daisies on the cup. She reminded me of a barn owl sitting on a perch, silently stalking her prey, or in this case, waiting for me to speak.

“Well, you'll never believe it Jane. I was so embarrassed, I was. I felt like I just wanted to disappear", I said as I paused for a sip of my own tea. "It's Mrs Whitlam you see. She's accused me of stealing whisky from the drinks cabinet in Mr Whitlam's private study!”, I continued, speaking quickly as I watched Jane's face for her reaction. She was my best friend in London and had known me ever since I moved here 5 years ago. She knew I was a good, respectable nanny, I was one of the best.

“Oh Katherine! I'm utterly shocked. What on earth is she thinking? Surely she knows you'd never do such a thing?”, Jane said with a hand placed dramatically over her chest in shock.

“Well I'd hoped she'd never think so but Mr Whitlam arrived home from his station in France. He injured his foot and can no longer fight. He called me into the study at 5pm last night after I'd gotten the children settled and ready for dinner. I was just on my way out the door when he called me in. I knew it must've been important, I half thought he might be raising my wages, but no. Do you know he even had the local policeman there”.

“Oh heavens Katy! What did you do? What did he say?”

“Well he just blurted it out as if he already believed it to be fact! Two whole bottles from his personal collection – gone, stolen. Of course I vehemently denied it. I was in such shock and embarrassment. I may not be the best nanny in England but I’m a good worker and reliable and I would never steal anything from anyone”, I said in my own defence, Jane nodding her head in agreement.

“Of course not! How dare they accuse you of that in such a way. How hurtful to your reputation as well. If they fired you you'd never get another job and then what would you do with your William still away at war. I'd like to know what he'd say about all of this. Are you going to write to him to tell him?”

I shook my head and sat up straighter on the edge of the lounge.

“Well, this is the best part. I went home so upset and angry that I thought I must write my resignation. I mean I didn't want to leave Jamie and Sarah, they're such good children, but my reputation was at stake. So I wrote it up on my finest writing set, went to bed early and rose early so as I could be at the house to speak to Mr Whitlam before the children woke up”, I took another sip of tea.

“Yes, go on”, Jane encouraged.

“Well to my surprise, Mr Whitlam was waiting for me in the entrance hall. He motioned for me to go into the study and as I entered the room I looked to the desk and saw an open, half drunk bottle of whisky. I suddenly thought 'Oh no, not again' but he asked me to sit down and started to apologise to me. He said he was very sorry for the terrible accusations and that he had found Mrs Whitlam in the kitchen late last night with the bottle on the desk and she was so drunk that she admitted it was her that had been drinking them all along! She blamed me as there was no-one else!”.

“Oh my Katherine, how shocking! He must've been terribly sorry and embarrassed himself by this stage. Why on earth was she hiding it from him?”.

“Well he said that she had been so stressed out that he was away in France fighting the war, she hadn't had any letters or telegrams from him and she needed to escape all the realities in her life for a while. I can't blame her for that I suppose, but she should never have said it was me. I suppose it's going to be quite difficult for her to see me on Monday morning. Perhaps she'll stay out of my way for a little while”.

“Oh my, yes I suspect she may! And they say we lower classes have all the problems! How common! Come now Katy dear, have some more tea. I've to tell you all my gossip now”.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

E M

Hey there! ☺️ Thanks for stopping by. Hopefully you enjoy some of my work!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.