Fiction logo

Space I Know Creative

hopefully you like it

By Damien BussingPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
Like

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. However, that has been proven wrong. Considering our ship is picking up screaming on the radio, which is weird. most of the crew are in favor of investigating it, which to be fair makes sense I mean screaming in space is something alright. Still, though it could be something horrible too. Still, I get trying to figure it out and who knows maybe it's something harmless. Also, this thing is very far away from us.

“So we are checking this thing out right?” Talia says Talia was one of our pilots. She was pretty average height. Doe brown eyes and hair. She had it up in a simple ponytail.

“Well, that's what the plan was.” Devon says reframing his point. Devon was the other pilot and the captain. He was pretty tall taller than me that's for sure. He had blue eyes and short auburn hair and a beard.

“I mean it makes sense imagine what we could learn from it." Tyler added he was the researcher on the ship. He Was lanky. He has long blonde hair. And shockingly no glasses so no stereotypes there.

“Yeah, it could be the first alien we actually run across.” Petra added. Petra was the engineer on the ship. She was a very burly woman. Her hair was black and in a bob cut. She had green eyes.

“Or hear me out we could just not do that I mean for all we know it could be a horrible thing that will kill us in very gruesome ways.” I put in my two cents. They all just laughed at me. They always laugh at me whenever I shoot them my opinion, the reason for them looking down on me was probably because I was essentially the janitor on the ship. Although since I also cooked for them maybe more of the maid. Doesn't matter the word the point is that they look down on me for it. Which is just peachy. So for the most part I don't say anything unless I feel it's important. Like right now, I mean it's like I'm the only one who has seen those horror movies based in space where a small crew on a ship explores something they shouldn't and end up all dead in very gruesome ways. I mean screaming in space sounds like a red flag to me, but what did it matter they made their decision. So I couldn't even object which I want to so badly.

"Well, the ship is working on the coordinates so once it's finished well warp to the point." Devon says. And with that we all leave the main deck. With me being the janitor I'm having to go around the ship and clean it. Which by the way Is super fun. I go to the others rooms so I could clean them out, because they are all pigs who somehow makes a huge mess even though I clean them every other day. I don't even know how they do it, especially being in space. I reach Devon's room and open it a very sour smell hits my noise right away that takes my breath away. Oh god, it's filthy I mean the Man leaves everything on the ground and doesn't clean up a single thing. Good thing I have gloves on. I start to clean his room using the cleaning agent only makes things worse for me with the chemicals and that sour smell. God, I'm gagging it's good I can't throw up. Once I'm done cleaning his room I leave as fast as I can taking a few deep breaths of somewhat fresh air on the ship. I go into Talia's room next open it and not the same sour smell but still filthy she just has everything on the floor like Devon. I start to clean her room and it doesn't take as long as Devon's. Once I'm finished I go to Petra's room. I open the door and see Petra in there chilling on her bed. Her room is the least dirty out of everyone's but it still has a few things to clean.

"Matt, you're here?" I nod my head and she looks at me with the cleaning supplies.

"Oh here to clean I take it well let me just pick up the things that need to go for you considering there is not that many." Petra says with a smile. Oh, Petra you're the only good one here. She helps me clean her room and I thank her before I leave. Now onto Tyler's room. I go to open his Door and it's locked. I try knocking.

"No one comes in I'm busy with an experiment!" So I back away and go to my room. Which is the cleanest one here. There isn't a spec of trash anywhere I lay on my bed.

“Everyone buckle yourselves to a seat we will be hitting the warp point.” Talia’s voice came on the speaker. I begin to buckle myself in.

“Warping in 3 2 1” the ships begin to violently shake before smoothing out. The feeling of gravity pressing me down in my chair. My face is numb from how much it's pressed against me. My body was glued to my seat. It honestly feels like a roller coaster. This went on for what I'm assuming was a few minutes, before I get lurched forward in my seat. Got to love inertia.

"Matt someone has thrown up and we need you to clean it up. It happened in the kitchen." A very condescending voice came from Devon. Oh great, I just love vomit. I unbuckle myself and make my way to the kitchen. Once I arrive I see a huge pile of vomit next to one of the seats. Looks like someone couldn't handle the warp like always. Even though he denies it. I know it's Devon which stands to reason why is he on a ship if he can't handle the warping. I grab a bucket and mop. This smells disgusting and it's all over the chair. Good thing I had a strong stomach or I would be throwing up too. It takes me a while but I finally get it cleaned. And then I head up to the main deck. To see if they've found the thing. Getting there was a breeze but once I do I notice something. Everyone was shocked and not the small shocked like life altering shock. They have the faces of people who have seen horror. Looking out the glass window I see why. The thing outside was easily bigger than some planets but that's not what makes it horrific. This thing was a giant mass of pulsating flesh with mouth all over it in many sizes all of which are giving shrieking noises which are all high pitched and varies on the scale although considering a dog whistle hurts my ears this is just torture. And trying to cover my ears isn't helping anything. God damn, it hurts. It seems like everyone else is too stunned to notice. Well look who was right I would be gloating If I wasn't in pain from the noise. Talia managed to get unstunned to try and shake Devon. Who seemed comatose. She then swayed over to Tyler and shake him he managed to get out of his daze and he walked over to the transmission speakers.

"Well let's see if it's Friendly." He then turned the ship's radio to the frequency we heard the screaming on originally.

"Hello, there alien please identify yourself for us and how you're able to scream?" There was nothing coming from the thing to indicate that it understood. He tries again this time slower and louder. Again it didn't work.

"What are you doing?!" I had to give him a dumbfounded look.

"What I'm trying to make first contact obviously."

"And you think it's a good idea to do that look at it."

"So what your just assuming that something like that is bad just by looking at ugly stat talk about close minded."

"No it's called being cautious, and also this thing wouldn't know English or any other languages on earth so what makes you think it's going to understand you in the first place." My god, this dumbass is trying to cause trouble. He gives me a haughty look.

"Well considering I'm the one who is both the Head researcher and I have several PhDs I'm the one in charge." He then turns the frequency up to the max.

"Hello, you ugly alien how are you able to scream in space." And I was expecting nothing but something did Happen. The whole mass started to shift around like a liquid till it had thousands of eyes on us all of which were various sizes and shapes. It stopped it screaming thankfully. But then its opened mouths started doing something weird and the ship began to move towards the mouths.

"What's happening!!!" Tyler shouted. As the ship kept getting pulled closer and closer.

"We can't back up there's no way out!!!!" Talia screamed in terror.

"I know it's not a good time but I was right. You idiots had to go and explore a scream in space. Even though I told you not to and it was a bad idea!!" I yell while laughing hysterically.

"Now is not the time asshole!!!" Tyler shouts. Our shop is now at the mouth of the monster you can see inside its black void of a throat.

"I was right!!!!" Once we were inside everything went black......

Light blinding light hits my view. My eyes Feel like they are taking forever to adjust. I realize I was laying down on my back. Looked up at the blue sky which doesn't make any sense considering that the last time I checked we were in space. I start to get up and my body aches while I'm doing it. When I finally get up I get a better look at my surroundings. Ok, this is weird for one these houses look different from what I'm used to they look like the stereotypical kind of houses you would see in suburbans but it's all empty not a single person around, not the mentioned the sky is too blue and clean. Cause the ones back on earth are nasty and polluted. And the grass and trees don't look like they're about to die at any minute. So where the fuck am I...

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.