Fiction logo

Let's Do A time Loop Again

hopefully you like it

By Damien BussingPublished 2 years ago 22 min read
Like

Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. It has some wear and tear along the walls and seats, which are wood with metal frames. The wood looks worn out and some of the metal is slightly rusted. It definitely needs a good refinishing. The passengers were quite numbered, basically, the whole train was pretty full. My seat was at the far back of the train. Everyone was in their own little worlds through various means. Some had books, others had windows to look outside, and some had music they were listening to. Although looking outside my window it's definitely a sight to behold, mountains passing us covered by fog along the tops of their tips and a big rushing river. It was quite the sight to behold, and the rain was misting it up too. An elderly man was walking through the aisle asking people for their tickets. The old man was short balding on top and he had a kind expression on his face. He walked up to me.

“Excuse me young man do you have a ticket for me?” he asked in a ragged voice. I look for my ticket and for some reason I can't find it. Well, this sucks you would think having a ticket would be essential to being on the train, but I can't find the ticket at all.

“Well if you can't find it tell me your name it should be on here.” huh now my name is something I should be able to recall, but I'm drawing a blank. This is so weird knowing your name is second nature by now. Oh man, would he believe me when I tell him I can't remember? He could just laugh it off. As I attempt to answer him he gives me a one moment gesture as he answers his walkie. he gets far enough for no one to hear him as he seems to be listening to someone on the other end. His face got a worried look as he started walking back toward the front of the train in a hurry which is weird. Although I guess I'm safe from getting kicked off. Still though what was all that about. I guess going back to looking out the window would be all I can do right now. Although things on the outside seem to be moving faster. A pretty big building rushed passed my view. It looked like a train stop.

"Hey, that was our stop." A lot of people were saying. As they look over to my side of the train. And now people were getting worried. Yeah, I'm not going to lie this is weird some people were trying to head to the front of the train. To try and find out what's going on. I'm still sitting here not really concerned. Although things are going faster so that is slightly concerning. And now People are getting more panicked.

"Attention passengers everything is fine we will be stopping at the next stop on the scheduled time." A voice from the speakers said. And yet it's still speeding up clearly something is wrong but maybe the controls on the train are out of wack causing it to speed up. Maybe although now it's concerning. Although right now there isn't anything I could even do. I mean it's not like I can stop it. And now it's going faster and everyone is screaming and panicking. I keep looking out the window everything going faster. Until I see the ground getting closer to my window. Oh, shit it derailed. I horrible pain hits my whole body and then nothing. It's just black and nothingness.... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. It has some wear and tear along the walls and seats, which are wood with metal frames. The wood looks worn out and some of the metal is slightly rusted. It definitely needs a good refinishing. The passengers were quite numbered, basically, the whole train was pretty full. My seat was at the far back of the train. Everyone was in their own little worlds through various means. Some had books, others had windows to look outside, and some had music they were listening to. Although looking outside my window it's definitely a sight to behold, mountains passing us covered by fog along the tops of their tips and a big rushing river. It was quite the sight to behold, and the rain was misting it up too. An elderly man was walking through the aisle asking people for their tickets. The old man was short balding on top and he had a kind expression on his face. He walked up to me.

“Excuse me young man do you have a ticket for me?” he asked in a ragged voice. I look for my ticket and for some reason I can't find it. Well, this sucks you would think having a ticket would be essential to being on the train, but I can't find the ticket at all.

“Well if you can't find it tell me your name it should be on here.” huh now my name is something I should be able to recall, but I'm drawing a blank. This is so weird knowing your name is second nature by now. Oh man, would he believe me when I tell him I can't remember? He could just laugh it off. As I attempt to answer him he gives me a one moment gesture as he answers his walkie. he gets far enough for no one to hear him as he seems to be listening to someone on the other end. His face got a worried look as he started walking back toward the front of the train in a hurry which is weird. Although I guess I'm safe from getting kicked off. Still though what was all that about? I guess going back to looking out the window would be all I can do right now. Although things on the outside seem to be moving faster. A pretty big building rushed passed my view. It looked like a train stop.

"Hey, that was our stop." A lot of people were saying. As they look over to my side of the train. And now people were getting worried. Yeah, I'm not going to lie this is weird some people were trying to head to the front of the train. To try and find out what's going on. I'm still sitting here not really concerned. Although things are going faster so that is slightly concerning. And now People are getting more panicked.

"Attention passengers everything is fine we will be stopping at the next stop on the scheduled time." A voice from the speakers said. And yet it's still speeding up clearly something is wrong but maybe the controls on the train are out of wack causing it to speed up. Maybe although now it's concerning. Although right now there isn't anything I could even do. I mean it's not like I can stop it. And now it's going faster and everyone is screaming and panicking. I keep looking out the window everything going faster. Until I see the ground getting closer to my window. Oh, shit it derailed. I horrible pain hits my whole body and then nothing. It's just black and nothingness.... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. It has some wear and tear along the walls and seats, which are wood with metal frames. The wood looks worn out and some of the metal is slightly rusted. It definitely needs a good refinishing. Wait why does this all seem familiar? It's weird it's like Deja Vu. Looking outside my window mountains passing us covered by fog along the tops of their tips and a big rushing river. It was quite the sight to behold, and the rain was misting it up, and for some reason, it felt like I have seen this. It's strange. And now an elderly man was walking through collecting tickets from people.

“Do you have a ticket young man?” I start looking around for a ticket and do not find one. Well, this is bad.

“Do you have a name then I could find you?” I'm drawing a blank on the name thing which is weird cause it feels like it's happened before I give him an answer he steps away. he answers his walkie. he gets far enough for no one to hear him as he seems to be listening to someone on the other end. His face got a worried look as he started walking back toward the front of the train in a hurry. Why does this feel so familiar? The old man starts walking to the front at a pretty fast pace. Maybe I should follow him. I wait until he is far enough away not to notice me and I get up and start walking. I see the old man walking inside the front of the train where the driver is. I put my ear up to it and see if I can listen.

“What is the problem?” the old man aks

“Something is going on with the controls and I can’t stop it.” a younger man replied. Well, shit a runaway train this is just awful.

“Well, what can we do.?” the old man aks

“We need to figure out why there is the main control panel that is outside one of the train cars.”

“But how can we get to it you have to drive the train and I'm too old to go out there without dying?”

“Good point what do we do.” I knock on the door.

“Maybe I can help.” the door opens.

“Help you think you can help?” the conductor asks I nod my head. Getting a good look at him he is pretty tall and burly. He has peppered hair and a thick beard. He sighs.

“Ok show him where it is.” the old man leads me out. And takes me to one of the exits. He opens them and feeling that wind hit me in the face stung.

“Listen the thing you looking for is on the other side of this train cart!” the old man yells at the top of his lungs.

“Once you reach it open the box and look at the wiring.” I nod and start to head out, I got this. I grab the side of the train car and god it's slippery as I start to climb onto it. As a bump makes me lose my grip, I feel the wind hitting me. And I fall, oh god no. time manages to slow down for a brief second before I hit the ground and everything goes black..... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. It has some wear and tear along the walls and seats, which are wood with metal frames. The wood looks worn out and some of the metal is slightly rusted. It definitely needs a good refinishing. Hang on why does this feel familiar? I swear I've done this before. The mountain passing by it all feels like I've done it before. Looking around I see a suitcase next to me. I pick it up and open it. Looking inside its contents I see a bunch of papers laying inside. Giving them a read they all seem to be signed by Michel Barnett. I suppose that's my name but I can't remember if it is Weird. Looking through these papers though I'm seeing a lot of corporate documents. All of these documents are various but they all are similar in what they are. Most of these are very serious and illegal things. Hang on am I involved in some illegal things, if so why can't I remember? Man, this is a headache.

“Do you have a ticket young man?” an old man asks. I close the suitcase and try and find the ticket but to no avail.

“If not just tell me your name.” I was about to answer him but he stepped away to answer his walkie. Why does this feel so familiar? The old man started heading back to the front of the train. Why do I feel like I should follow after him? I wait until he is far enough away not to notice me and I get up and start walking. I see the old man walking inside the front of the train where the driver is. I put my ear up to it and see if I can listen.

“What is the problem?” the old man aks

“Something is going on with the controls and I can’t stop it.” a younger man replied. Well, shit a runaway train this is just awful.

“Well, what can we do.?” the old man aks

“We need to figure out why there is the main control panel that is outside one of the train cars.”

“But how can we get to it you have to drive the train and I'm too old to go out there without dying?”

“Good point what do we do.” I knock on the door.

“Maybe I can help.” the door opens.

“Help you think you can help?” the conductor asks I nod my head. Getting a good look at him he is pretty tall and burly. He has peppered hair and a thick beard. He sighs.

“Ok show him where it is.” the old man leads me out. And takes me to one of the exits. He opens them and feeling that wind hit me in the face stung.

“Listen the thing you looking for is on the other side of this train cart!” the old man yells at the top of his lungs.

“Once you reach it open the box and look at the wiring.” I nod and start to head out, I got this. I grab the side of the train car and god it's slippery as I start to climb onto it. As a bump makes me lose my grip, I feel the wind hitting me. And I fall, oh god no. time manages to slow down for a brief second before I hit the ground and everything goes black... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. It has some wear and tear along the walls and seats. Now I know I've been here before. This all feels like it's happened before. Could I be stuck in a loop? I mean it's possible. It would explain why this is all familiar. Well, I suppose there is one way to find out. I get out of my seat and walk toward the emergency exit. I open the door and everyone around me starts yelling and panicking. I feel the wind hitting me hard as I take a jump out. I get this quick burst of pain then nothing but blackness... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train to get a view of my surroundings. Ok, why am I here? I don't remember this isn't good. The train definitely looks like it has seen better days though. Ok, I'm in a loop definitely in a loop. But there should be a way to stop this right? I grab the suitcase pull out a pen from the inside and draw a two on my hand. I don't know how many times I've loped by now but since I seen two ill just mark it down as two. Ok, let's see I guess the way to break this loop is by stopping the train from crashing. But how I would assume figuring out why is derailed would be the first plan. So let's see ok the train is not slowing down at all so it must be some kind of break issue. So maybe trying to fix that could help, but just one problem I don't know how to fix them. Well shit, what now?

“Excuse me young man but can I have your ticket.” I still can't find it where is that ticket?

“If you don't have it then why not just tell me your name.” before I can answer him he steps back and answers his walkie. This is the part where the train can't be stopped. I get up and start walking. I see the old man walking inside the front of the train where the driver is. I put my ear up to it and see if I can listen.

“What is the problem?” the old man aks

“Something is going on with the controls and I can’t stop it.” a younger man replied. Well, shit a runaway train this is just awful.

“Well, what can we do.?” the old man aks

“We need to figure out why there is the main control panel that is outside one of the train cars.”

“But how can we get to it you have to drive the train and I'm too old to go out there without dying?”

“Good point what do we do.” I knock on the door.

“Maybe I can help.” the door opens.

“Help you think you can help?” the conductor asks I nod my head.

"Maybe I could drive the train while you fix the brakes." the man gave it a thought for a few seconds before nodding his head. He walks past me.

"Ok you can drive Wallace will help direct you on driving so you don't derail us." I nod. He then walks outside and opens the car door and climbs out. Ok, I got this right yup totally got this. Looking at all these buttons and levers oh god I don't have this. I'm going to die and restart the loop. Wallace looks at me with concern.

"Listen young man as long as you don't hit the lever that will speed it up your going to be fine." He gives me a sincere smile. I take deep breaths. Ok, I got this. Looking at how fast the train was going from the front view is pretty nerve racking. It's a straight way which is good. Until I saw a turn. Well shit. I try to do anything to slow it down until it hit the edge and went flying in the air. There were a lot of trees we were flying into. And then a tree went through me... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train. Ok, so that didn't work. I take out the pen and mark three on my hand. Ok so what now? Well, that plan failed but I still got ideas. What if I tried to talk to the conductor before it goes bad? I get up and head to the front of the train. I approach the door and knock on it.

"Who is it?"

"One of your passengers." The doors open.

"Is there something I can help you with Wallace is around If you need anything." I give a deep breath.

"Ok is there anything wrong with your brake system?"

"That's such a weird thing to ask. No there isn't why." He gives me a suspicious look.

"Look this is going to be hard to understand or believe but I'm stuck in a time loop."

"A time loop?" He says dripping with not buying it and thinking it's suspicious.

"Look I understand it's hard to believe but something goes wrong with the brake systems and then the train goes out of control and crashes and then I'm back." He was still giving me a look of not buying it. Until he looked back and saw the train was getting faster.

"Did you do something!?" He's pissed

"No, I didn't do anything." I plead

"I knew I shouldn't have let you on this train and now the passengers are in danger." What the Fuck does that mean? He gets up In my face

"What did you do!?" He grabs me by my throat choking me out. My oxygen is leaving me. My lungs feel like they're on fire. not good. Everything goes black...Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train. Oh god, what the hell was his problem? That was horrifying to experience. I can still feel his hands around my throat. I mark a 4 on my hand. Also, what was me being here have anything to do with this? Just who am I then? And why can't I remember? Ok, focus on getting out of this time loop. Ok no then what if i go to the break systems before it happens? I get up out of my seat.. And walk towards the emergency exit. and open it causing everyone once again to panic. As I grab the climbable parts and start to go to it. The wind is hitting me so hard it's painful and cold. My hands keep wanting to slip but I keep my grip strong. It takes me a while but I finally managed to get to the box on the side and of course, it's locked. I try everything to pry it open. God damn it! There's got to be something. I see something in the crack area it looks like an emergency key. I grab it and carefully open the box. Only to see the whole system was broken. Well shit. How do I fix it? I slam my head against the side. Is this what happened to him the first time? And now the train is getting faster. Oh great, I'll guess I'll try the underneath. I carefully try and get down lower. Only for the train to hit a bump and knocked me loose. I start falling like a rock and everything goes black. Ok, 5 times the charm maybe. This time I managed to make it under the train holding on for dear life to try and figure out the breaks but nothing helpful to be seen there. Just a piece of the railroad that got uprooted and hit me in the face. So 6 it is. For god's sake, this is just getting ridiculous. I will once again try and reason with them

"Ok listen up people you are all in a time loop." Everyone looked at me like I'm crazy.

"Did you take any drug, sir?" One of the passengers asks.

"No, I'm being serious?" They all just ignored me. What the fuck is with them? I hear an announcement from the speaker. Would the man who is standing up right now come to the front? I assume that means me. I walk to him.

"Ok look Mr. Barnett I'm being tolerant of you because you paid A Lot of money for this train ride but you will not rattle up the passengers got it." Just who am to earn that kind of venom? He gives me a look of pure hatred. Just what did I do? The train then starts getting faster. The conductor notices this.

“What did you do?” oh boy here we go again. I'm not dealing with this. I take off running to the exit and jump.... Ok 7 times now hopefully I can do something. Maybe I should figure out who I am? So I'm hated for some unknown reason. And I don't know how to go about it. So I have a suitcase with illegal documents so maybe I was a horrible person. But still, there has to be a way to stop this. wait couldn't I just detach the front of the train that could work to slow this down? I walk to the point where the trains attach. I grab the lever and pull with all my might to move it. And thankfully I managed to pull them apart. Yes yes yes, I did it! The train slows to a stop and does not crash. I did it I stop the loop.... Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train. Wait what the loop happened but I stopped the train? What kind of hell is this? Wait am I already dead then? Is that what this is? Was i a bad person who had this coming?

“Ah, but of course, you deserve this fate.” the voice of the old man rings in my head I look for him only to find everyone frozen.

“You had this coming after all you were a very bad person.”

“No your wrong I'm not.” he laughs.

“Oh but you are Michel Barnett you've done awful things to get ahead.” all of these frozen people were speaking with his voice.

“I'm not that kind of person.” I try and defend.

“Yes, you are Michel your just a rotten person not caring at all about what you did. For instance, the child labor you allowed because it was cheaper for you, or the fact you willingly didn't even bat an eye to all the horrors that were going on in your company.”

“No your wrong.”

“Hell, you even backed up terrorists and supplied them the money to obtain weapons to wreak havoc, so many lives you ruined and ended it's quite the body count for someone who has his hand clean.”

“What that can't be.” he laughs.

“You even tried fleeing once your company was found out for all of its activities. And by boarding a train to get away with all of your evidence. You killed all of these people in the crossfire of someone killing you.”

“I did it, it was me.”

“Yes it was and this is your punishment spending out your last moments dying forever. Now then let's reset the loop.” Where am I? I suppose that's a good question to start with. It would seem I'm sitting on a train...

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.