Fiction logo

Soulmates of the Sea

Julia's Second Journey

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

This is my fourth day on the Titanic. I have no regrets about it. I am pleased with the decision I made. I was going to board the Celtic, but I want to get back to New York as early as possible. Perhaps, my new life will finally start.

Marriage, maybe. Is thirty too old to start a family even though I am the youngest? My older brothers and sisters, all eleven of them, have their own lives in America. Busy. Happy. Loved. In one way, I am like them. However, I feel that happiness and love are a few of the things that I am missing in my life.

I was once in love. His name was Richard. When I was twenty-eight, I was the housekeeper for the Haskells in Massachusetts. Richard was their neighbor. His mansion was right across the road. Richard was around my oldest brother Michael’s age, and he owned a few stores. I wanted to be with him. But there was one problem. He was a married man with children. However, he had problems in his marriage. There were speculations that his wife was having an affair with a much younger man in his early twenties. Every Friday night, he would come over for Bourbon and play cards with Mr. Haskell. I would overhear stories about his wife. Every time I walked by them, Richard would adoringly stare at me as he smoked his expensive cigar. We kissed only one time. After that kiss, I would have intimate dreams about Richard – night after night. I could not take it anymore. I could not handle the attraction we had. I did not want to be with a married man. I was not sure if Richard wanted to seduce me in order to seek revenge for his wife’s infidelity – or if he genuinely was in love with me. Was he willing to leave his wife for me? I was confused… so I left. I relocated to New York City.

I had to return to Ireland. My mother needed me. Her heart was too weak, and I did not want to leave her side. When she died, there was a mixed feeling of despair and relief. I was content that she was no longer in pain – and I was also free. I wanted to not leave my homeland, so I could take care of my father. However, a bigger part of me wants to follow my dreams. Maybe I could find something I was not able to find in Richard. Maybe, I will finally meet my soulmate. I have been yearning to find my true love. As much as I miss my father, my heart tells me to travel to a new land for a better life. A better life with someone special. This will be my second time staying in America. And this time, it is for good.

Here I am, staring at my reflection in a gold flower vase in Cabin C55. I cannot help but wonder if I am pretty enough. Will I ever meet another man like Richard? Will he be ready for a new bride? Will I be happy? I know true love is out there. But where?

“Julia, I need to speak with you.”

I place the vase on the end table by the bed and look at Mrs. Straus. After brushing the dust from my outfit, I deliver a gentle smile. “Yes, Mrs. Straus?”

“Julia, I would like for you to go to meet Mr. Millet. I met him in the library. He seems to be an exceptionally good man. He told me that he needs help cleaning his room. So far, none of the maids showed up to clean for him yet. Would you go to Cabin E38 to help him, please?”

“Yes, Mrs. Straus.”

“Thank you, Julia. You have always been a good worker.”

As I am leaving the cabin, Ellen, Mrs. Straus’s personal maid, pulls me closer to her.

“Some of the officers here cannot keep their hands to themselves,” Ellen whispers to my ear. “Be careful.”

I remember her words and cautiously exit the cabin.

So, what is a third-class passenger like me doing in first class? I have been a maid since I first arrived in America. I have worked for a few wealthy families. Shortly before I had to return home to Ireland to take care of my sick mother, I was Mrs. Straus’s maid in New York City. It was always a pleasure working for her. She is a kind and generous woman. After two days on the ship, we saw each other on the deck, and she was incredibly happy to see me. I did not expect to see any familiar face on this ship, but there she was. When we talked on the deck, I learned that some of the maids became ill and were not able to work. Because there were not enough maids to work on the ship, she asked if I would be interested in helping. I will say that Mrs. Straus can move mountains. She was able to speak with officials about me helping on the ship. Am I being paid for this? No. But at least, I get to be in first-class during the day. I go back to third class when it is time for me to sleep.

As I am trying to find Cabin E38 in the halls, an officer approaches me with an unsettling grin.

“Are you lost?”

“I am trying to find E38, Sir,” I timidly respond.

“Are you that new maid from third class?”

“Yes, Sir.”

“Just make sure that you go back to third class when you are done with work.”

“I will, Sir.”

The officer unexpectedly grabs me by the waist and pulls my pelvis closer to his. “You do not want any consequences, do you?”

I feel the fear overwhelming my body. I want to slap this unknown officer, but I am terrified. “No, I do not.”

The officer proudly smiles. “Good girl.” He gives my pelvis a big squeeze and walks away.

I nervously try to focus on my destination. I cannot get the encounter out of my head. Is this the man Ellen was talking about? Is this the officer who touches the maids? I never felt touched like that before. I was afraid that he was going to kiss me. Now, I am afraid that I may quit cleaning on this ship. No man ever treated me like that. I am very uncomfortable doing my new job. Why do I feel light-headed?

A FEW MINUTES LATER

“Ma’am, are you alright?”

I open my eyes and see this gentleman looking down at me. He is staring at me the same way Richard did. He has to be the same age as me. I am so mesmerized by his dark eyes and dark hair. I feel my hand in between his. I cannot help but feel a tingling sensation in my body as I am trying to speak to him. I am feeling warm, and his body feels even warmer. A smile slowly emerges on his face. Could he be pleased with my presence? I feel the attraction between us.

“Ma’am, can I get you anything?” This handsome man gently helps me up as I continue to stare at him.

“I am fine. Thank you.”

“What is your name?”

“My name is Julia. Julia Barry.”

He takes my hand and kisses it. “Julia, my name is Washington. Washington Roebling the second.”

I blush over the kiss. I want to move on and find Cabin E38, but I also want to stay and speak with Washington.

“I saw you fainted. I am not sure what the officer’s name is, but I think that is the third officer. I think he wants to seduce you.”

“Then, I’ll see to it that it never happens.”

“You are very beautiful.”

I smile and shyly look away from him.

“I would like to invite you to dinner in my cabin.”

He is inviting me to dinner? I did not expect anyone from first-class to do that.

“I do not think I am allowed to have dinner in first-class.”

“I will talk to the officials here.” Washington gently holds my hands. “I would love to have dinner with you, Julia.”

“When?”

“Tomorrow night?”

“Tomorrow night is good.”

“Good,” Washington says joyfully. He starts to slowly walk away as he smiles at me. “Meet me in Cabin A24 tomorrow night. I would love to get to know you.”

“I would love that. I must go now and clean.”

Suddenly, we experience this violent lurch on the ship. We heard the loud gasps from the other passengers and look around.

“What was that?” Washington asks.

I shrug. “Maybe the ship accidentally bumped into something small.” I turn around to find Cabin E38. However, I could not help but feel worried on this journey. I am having the urge to deliver an important message to Washington. I turn back around to face him again. “If for any reason I cannot make it to our date tomorrow night, may we meet again in our next lifetime.” As I am walking away, I notice that Washington stands still with confusion.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.