Fiction logo

Angelica and the New Moon

One Night in Huntingdon

By Leona ValentinePublished 2 years ago 21 min read
Like

Inside a two-story cabin in Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, Vincent woke up to thunderous clangor of hammer and nails shortly before midnight. He sat up on a vintage couch and realized that his wrists were tied together with a rope in front of him. He could feel his bruised forehead throbbing in pain which was making him groan.

He followed the constant loud banging and watched Angelica, the resident of the cabin, boarding up the remaining window in the kitchen. “What are you doing?” he timidly asked.

Angelica continued to viciously bang on the nail with the hammer. She was determined to finish on time. Without looking at Vincent, she replied, “What do you think I’m doing?”

Vincent looked around and noticed a light brown barn owl standing on a training perch a few feet away from him. On the floor, there is a white nightgown laying by the perch, and he immediately assumed that the beautiful garment belonged to Angelica. He became clueless about the owl’s presence. He wondered what a woman is doing with an owl in her cabin. He could see the mysterious creature staring directly into his eyes. The look made him even more nervous even though the owl was in a vastly calm state.

He tried to free himself from the rope but failed. “Are you going kill me?” he questioned as he innocently looked at Angelica.

“I should. But before I decide to do that, I need answers.”

Vincent took a deep breath to remain calm. “I don’t know what is going on and why you are doing this, but please don’t kill me.”

Angelica chuckled as she finished boarding the last window. She turned to Vincent and slowly moved closer to him while she was still holding the hammer. “And why should I spare you?”

Vincent widened his eyes as Angelica slowly walked towards him. He placed his full attention on the hammer that was still in her hand. He could feel his heart pounding rapidly in his chest. “Please don’t. I’m begging you.”

Angelica sat in the rocking chair right in front of him. She calmly placed the hammer on her lap. “You haven’t answered my question.”

Vincent hesitated before responding to her. He briefly thought back and finally remembered her question. “Why should you spare me?”

Angelica slowly nodded with a friendly smile.

“I didn’t do anything bad to you.” Vincent paused as he tried to control his tears. “I don’t know what it is going on. I don’t know what I did wrong to deserve this.”

“Maybe you’re planning to do something bad to me.”

“I swear, I’m not. I just needed a place to stay for the night.”

Angelica chuckled for a few seconds. “Of all nights, why tonight?”

“I don’t know. I left New York last night. A college student was kind enough to give me a ride, and we ended up in Harrisburg. While I was there, I was trying to get someone else to take me west. I ended up getting a bike instead. It took me – “

“You stole a bike?” Angelica interrupted him.

“No. Someone gave it to me for free. It took me about nine hours to get here with the bike.”

“I guess this person who gave you the bike had compassion for you.”

Vincent looked at her with deep sincere. “Well, would you have compassion for someone who is homeless?”

Angelica raised her eyebrows. “You’re homeless?” She folded her arms. “So, what are you? A drifter?”

“Not really.”

Angelica chuckled at his answer. She stood up and glared at Vincent. She used the hammer to lift his chin up and tilt his head back. She wanted so badly to intimidate him and show her dominance. She witnessed the sweat running down the side of his face. “What is your name?”

“Vincent. What’s yours?”

“And why should I tell you mine?”

“You attacked me and tied me up. I would like to at least know the name of the person who may end my life.”

After Angelica lowered the hammer, Vincent nervously lifted his head to return his gaze. “I’m Angelica.” She tossed the hammer onto the floor. “And you’re trespassing.”

“Trespassing? No. When I came here, you could have told me to leave. I would have left. Instead, you invited me in and attacked me.”

Angelica pulled out a switchblade from the inside of her windbreaker pocket and automatically revealed the blade which caused Vincent to gasp. She grabbed one of Vincent’s hands and used the switchblade to cut the rope from his wrists.

After the loose rope fell onto the floor, Vincent looked up at Angelica with amazement. “I’m free to go?”

“No.”

There was a feeling of bewilderment that Vincent could not control. “No?”

Angelica folded the switchblade and placed it back in her pocket. “Just because I untied you, does not mean that I won’t kill you.” She re-entered the kitchen and started heating up the kettle on the stove. “Do you want coffee?”

Vincent hesitated. Deep inside, he would love a hot cup of coffee. However, there were doubts. He was not sure if he should have coffee with the woman who may kill him. “Uhh, sure.”

“Where are you heading to?” Angelica pulled out two mugs from the cabinet.

“Santa Carla.”

“California?”

“Yeah.”

Angelica giggled, “That’s a long travel. What is in Santa Carla?”

“My grandmother.”

“Who are you? Red Riding Hood?” Angelica jokingly remarked.

Vincent lowered his head in sadness. “She’s dying.”

Angelica became sincere and cleared her throat. “I’m sorry. I didn’t know.” She turned to the empty mugs and put instant coffee in them.

“She’s the only one I have. I just want to see her one last time before she goes.”

“You’re homeless. How do you know she’s dying?”

“I ran into a former co-worker at a subway. He told me that my grandmother was trying to reach me at my old job and wanted me to call her as soon as possible. I was able to call her, and that was when she told me the news about her health.”

“What’s wrong with her?”

“She has stomach cancer. It’s stage four.”

“Vincent, I’m sorry about your grandmother.” Angelica poured hot water into the mugs.

“I’m trying to get to her as soon as I can.”

“Let’s hope your bike gets you there fast enough.” Angelica pulled out a jar of sugar from the cabinet and a quart of creamer from the refrigerator. She poured the cream and sugar into one mug of coffee. “Would you like cream and sugar?” She stirred her coffee with a small spoon and patiently waited for Vincent to answer.

“Just extra sugar please. Thank you.”

Angelica poured a little more than a normal amount of sugar in the other mug and stirred the coffee with the spoon. She brought the two mugs into the living room and handed the cup of black coffee with sugar to Vincent.

“Thank you.” Vincent carefully grabbed the coffee, but he was so reluctant to take a sip.

Angelica sat back down in the rocking chair. She noticed his awkward behavior. “Don’t worry. I didn’t poison you.”

Vincent chuckled out of embarrassment. “I’m sorry. This just seems weird.”

“What does?” Angelica took a sip of her coffee.

“You knocked me out and tied me up. Now, we are having coffee together. But I do not know if you are going to kill me.

Angelica rolled her eyes. “I had my reasons for hurting you. I did not want to. I’m just trying to protect myself. If you are being honest with me, then you do not know what is going on here.”

Vincent nervously took a sip of his coffee. He gradually became pleased with the taste. “Okay, tell me.”

“This cabin is secluded. Of all places in Huntingdon, why did you end up here to stay the night?”

“I wanted to pick a quiet place… away from people. Do you know what it is like to live in the streets? To me, it was brutal while I was living in the streets of Manhattan. I see people every single day and night. Noisy, arrogant, obnoxious people. Some so heartless that they would just piss on you for no damn reason.”

Angelica cringed. “People have done that to you?”

“Yes. Angelica, I was spat on. I was kicked, punched, and even ran over.”

“Ran over?” Angelica shrieked.

“Well, not really extreme. It was some guy on a Vespa. The man was in a hurry. I had a bruised leg and some scratches.”

“Ahhh.” Angelica took another sip of her coffee.

“My point is I’m tired of being around people because of my bad experiences with them. I felt the woods would be the best place to sleep in for the night. I was going to find an abandoned shed to sleep in. Hell, I was willing to sleep under a bridge or something. I saw your cabin and figured it wouldn’t hurt to ask if I could stay just for one night.”

“Okay.”

“Do you still have my backpack?”

“Yes, I do.”

“If you have not done so, you are more than welcome to check it out. I have nothing to hide.”

Angelica stood up and placed her cup of coffee on the dining table. She grabbed a navy-blue backpack from one of the dining chairs and opened it to look inside. She pulled out a few articles of clothing, a sports bottle of water, a map of Pennsylvania, three protein bars, a black leather wallet, and a pocketknife. She took her time to observe the pocketknife and held it up for Vincent to see. “You have this? What were you about to do with this?”

“I used to live in New York. Remember? A guy needs to protect himself everywhere he goes.”

“Have you killed anyone with this?”

“No.” Vincent drank a little bit of his coffee. “But I have cut a man’s hand for trying to steal my sneakers.”

Angelica nodded in the act of understanding. She placed the items back in the backpack. Everything was inside but the wallet. She opened the wallet and pulled out the driver’s license. She wanted to verify Vincent’s identity by looking at his name and picture on the card. A smirk slowly appeared on her face. “You look cute without your beard and mustache in this picture.”

Vincent blushed. “Thanks. I plan to shave when I get to Santa Carla.”

“So, are you planning to stay in Santa Carla? Or are you planning to move back to Manhattan?” Angelica placed the driver’s license back in the wallet.

“I’m planning to live there. I’m going to move into her house. I inherited the house, her 1972 Chevelle, and close to one hundred grand from her. The money should help me get by for the next couple of years. That should be plenty of time for me to look for a job.”

Angelica placed the wallet in the backpack and grabbed her cup of coffee. “Are you originally from Santa Carla?” She sipped her coffee as she was drawn to getting to know Vincent more.

“Born and raised. Two years after I graduated from college, I found a career as an investment portfolio manager in New York and ended up moving there. For years, I had a great career, a beautiful girlfriend, and a luxurious apartment to live in. Things went downhill when my girl cheated on me. I was severely devastated. I went to drinking. I lost her. I lost my job and my apartment. I became homeless all because I had a broken heart.”

“If you are telling me the truth, then I am sorry that happened to you. And I am sorry for attacking you.” She walked back to the rocking chair and sat down. “I’m just trying to protect myself.”

“Is that why you were boarding all the windows?”

“Yes.” Angelica slowly took a sip of her coffee as her eyes wandered off to the side.

“Are we in the middle of a zombie apocalypse that I don’t know about?” Vincent chuckled.

“Not zombies.” Angelica looked straight into Vincent’s eyes. “I’m dealing with vampires.”

Vincent laughed hysterically and nearly spilled his cup of coffee.

Angelica gave him a stern look. “I am serious. This is not a joke.”

Vincent’s laughter subsided as he tried to control his behavior. He calmed down and cleared his throat. “I am so sorry. I do not believe in vampires. If you are being serious, was that why you attacked me? Are there vampires living in Huntingdon?”

“Vincent, vampires are everywhere. Not just in Huntingdon. Not just in United States. I mean everywhere. You just never noticed them. Their fangs come out when they are ready to attack. They can go under the sun but only for a few minutes. You can see their reflection only if you invite them to your home.”

“So, if you see my reflection, you could still think that I am a vampire because you let me in.”

“Yes. At midnight, the new moon will appear. They come here only during the new moon. That was why I attacked you. You just so happened to arrive shortly before the next new moon. I assumed that you were one of them.”

“Why do they come here during the new moon?”

“To drink the blood of a witch. It is believed that if a vampire drinks the blood of a witch during the new moon, that bloodsucker will become supreme.”

Vincent raised one of his eyebrows. “Supreme?”

“Powerful and invincible. They will always have a reflection in the mirror whether they are invited to a home or not. They become a lot stronger and a lot faster. Nothing can kill them. Not a stake through the heart. Not even the sun. Nothing.”

Vincent drank the rest of his coffee as he was trying to process the story. “So, you’re a witch? And if these vampires drink your blood, they will be super vampires?”

“Yes, that is correct. And witches can’t become vampires if they are bitten because they are immune to vampirism.”

“Can you do spells or something? Like cast a spell on these vampires?”

“Not really. Even though I have a family of witches, I haven’t mastered any spell.” Angelica hopelessly shrugged. “It would be cool to shapeshift like my family.”

“Witches are shapeshifters?”

“Some are.” Angelica drank the rest of her coffee. “I guess I have to rely on the boards to protect me.” She stood up and collected the empty cup from Vincent. “Or maybe rely on you if you’re man enough.” She winked and brought the empty cups to the sink in the kitchen.

“I’m still beat after fighting off some of the people in New York, but I’ll definitely try.” Vincent silently laughed. He stopped and looked over at the barn owl. He could not help but wonder about the owl. “I am assuming this owl is your pet. What is his name?”

“HER name is Lucy, and she is not my pet.” Angelica re-entered the living room. “She’s family to me. She’s incredibly special.”

“Lucy likes looking at me.”

“I guess she is still trying to figure you out.”

“How about you? Are you still trying to figure me out?”

“Maybe.” Angelica turned to the clock on the kitchen wall. She saw that it was close to midnight and nervously looked at Vincent. “They’ll be here soon.”

“Do you think those boards will keep them out?”

“The boards have been sprayed with holy water. So far, it works. If they touch the boards, they will regret it.” Angelica walked to the bottom of the stairs to switch on the light in the upstairs hallway. “You can take a shower if you like. I am sure you want to wash off the urine from your body.”

Vincent stood up with relief. “I appreciate this.”

“You can sleep in the bedroom right across from the bathroom.”

Vincent placed his hands together as a prayer. “Thank you so much for letting me stay the night. I will be out of here first thing in the morning. I promise.” Vincent grabbed his backpack from the dining table and approached Angelica at the bottom of the stairs. “I’m still having trouble believing that there are vampires out there. But you seem to know what you are doing. Is there anything you want me to do here to help?

Angelica took a whiff of the stench coming from Vincent. “For now, take a shower.” She smiled with sincere.

Vincent chuckled, “Okay, no problem.” He started walking up the stairs. “Do you think they will do anything to my bike outside?”

“Maybe. If we survive tonight, I might buy you a new one after breakfast.”

“It’s a deal.” Vincent finally reached to the second floor and entered the bathroom.

Angelica walked towards Lucy. She gently caressed the owl from the top of the head to the back. Abruptly, faint sounds of snarls and laughter were coming from outside the cabin. Immediately, she knew that the vampires arrived. She started pacing back and forth with her arms folded to the sound of the torment. The vampires were gradually getting louder and louder which made her even more nervous. Angelica felt her anxiety going through the roof. She approached the couch and laid down as she patiently waited for dawn to come.

Hours later, the sun was slowly rising. The eerie noises from the vampires were gone. Angelica woke up on the couch with a bad headache and a bruise on her forehead. She carefully touched her injured head and gasped because the pain intensified. She noticed blood on her chest and realized that the blood came from her neck. She frantically grabbed her bloody neck and felt bite marks on the left side. She was in pain and very panicky as she turned and saw Vincent, clean and shaven, sitting on the rocking chair. Immediately, she became overwhelmed with utter confusion.

“Good morning, beautiful,” Vincent politely greeted. He slowly grinned to reveal his sharp teeth.

Angelica became terrified by the revelation that Vincent was actually a vampire. She did not say a word. It was as if her voice was removed from her.

“I know this became a complete shock to you. I had to do what I had to do and say what I had to say to get what I genuinely wanted. Pure immortality.” Vincent tauntingly winked at Angelica. “I could have easily picked another witch out there, but you came from an immensely powerful family. You guys are shapeshifters, and I was not going to pass that up. The more powerful the witch, the more powerful the vampire will become. You are indeed powerful. You just don’t have it in you to use your powers.”

Angelica silently lowered her head out of shame. She remained lost for words .

“Don’t get me wrong. I think you are a great woman even though you knocked me out for a bit. At least, I was able to return the favor. I had to clobber you while you were sleeping. I didn’t want the bite to wake you up.” Vincent giggled with delight. “At first, I never understood why you witches resist us. All we want is your blood. We do not want to kill you. You were wasting time and energy boarding your windows every time the new moon was coming. We are actually hoping that you witches and us vampires can work together in peace and harmony.” He grinned sinfully. “Then, it hit me. It finally hit me. You witches are highly selfish. You do not want us vampires to be more powerful or even as powerful as you are. But if you want a war, we can still have this war. If you want to die, I am more than happy to oblige. All we wanted was your blood, but you wanted to do this the hard way. You should be pleased with the fact that you cannot change into one of us. You should also be pleased with the fact that you are still breathing. I could have ended your life if I wanted to, but I like you a lot, Angelica. I mean if you were not so rebellious and aggressive, I probably would have asked you out on a romantic date.” He arrogantly shrugged. “I guess now that I had to bite my way to get your blood, dating me is out of the question.”

Angelica raised her head and glared at Vincent. “So, there is no grandmother in Santa Clara. You were never homeless in New York. Everything you told me was nothing but a lie.”

“Everything but I did stay in New York. I was not homeless or anything. I was there to study acting. Looks like that paid off.” Vincent silent laughed to himself.

Meanwhile, a figure in white was slowly walking closer to Vincent from behind. This mysterious person was an elderly woman, and she was wearing a white nightgown. It was the very same nightgown that was laying on the floor near the owl. The old woman continued to creep closer and closer to Vincent without his knowledge.

Angelica saw the woman and turned to where the owl was standing earlier. The owl was gone and so was the white nightgown. She looked back at Vincent and smiled with confidence. “I guess I was not being completely honest with you as well.”

Vincent raised his eyebrows and was filled with curiosity as he stared at Angelica. “Is that so?”

“Yes.” Angelica viewed pass Vincent to make eye contact with the old woman and looked back at Vincent.

“Then, what is it that I should know?”

Angelica leaned closer to Vincent. “I was adopted.”

“Adopted?” Vincent questioned. Suddenly, he could hear footsteps behind him. He quickly jumped up and turned around.

Before the old woman allowed Vincent to react to her presence, she quickly blew green dust into his face. The dust caused Vincent to faint onto the hard, wooden floor.

About one hour later, Vincent woke up outside of the cabin. He found himself tied up in a chair under the sun. The situation made him very worried as he was trying to free himself from the chair. He realized that his strength did not increase, and he was feeling sensitive to the sun. He looked ahead of him and saw two people approaching him. They were Angelica and the old woman.

Angelica folded her arms and delivered a smile out of mockery. “I hope you came to the realization that you cannot receive powers from a woman who was adopted by witches.”

Vincent turned to the old woman and stared at her up and down. He then looked at Angelica. “She is the witch?”

“Yes. She is my grandmother, but you can call her Lucy.”

Vincent quickly looked at the old woman again. “Lucy? The owl?”

“Yes, I was the owl you saw last night. It is a good thing I can shapeshift,” Lucy responded. “You wanted my granddaughter this whole time, but it was my blood that you needed to become supreme.”

“Her daughter adopted me when I was a toddler. Then, when I was seven years old, one of you vampires attacked and killed her. You vultures killed my mother just to become supreme.”

Vincent quickly looked up at the sun while he was fully aware that he was going to be burned to death. “Since you’re not a witch, the sun is going to kill you too.”

“That is where you are wrong, Vincent. While you were having forty winks, my wonderful grandmother was kind enough to let me drink some of her blood, so I could become supreme. Therefore, the sun will not destroy me. I guess it was a good thing that you bit me. Now that I am supreme, I can find that vampire who murdered my mother. You should know that only a supreme vampire can kill another supreme vampire.”

“Let me help you find the vampire who killed your mother,” Vincent desperately pleaded. “Please make me supreme, and I will help you.”

“I don’t need your help, Vincent. You have already proven to me that you cannot be trusted. So, if you will excuse me, I’m going inside to make breakfast.” Angelica began to head back to the cabin. “It was nice talking to you, Vincent.”

Lucy looked up at the sun and back at Vincent. She saw that his skin was turning red. “We’ll come back out and clean up after breakfast.” She followed Angelica back into the cabin.

Vincent was left alone outside. “UNTIE ME! GET ME OUT OF THE SUN! I DON’T WANT TO DIE!” He released a blood-curdling scream as he felt the sun burning his body to a crisp.

Horror
Like

About the Creator

Leona Valentine

Hi. I have been writing since I was a kid. After college, I published a poem called "Dark Heaven" in a book titled The Colors of Life. I love writing short stories, poems and more. I enjoy parenting, art, meditation, and martial arts.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.