Fiction logo

Songbird of the Whispering Woods

A little girl's courage awakens the magic within.

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 2 months ago 5 min read
2

My name is Wren, and unlike the other village children, I wasn't afraid of the Whispering Woods. The towering trees weren't just big, they were giants, their bark a canvas etched with stories and their leaves whispering secrets on the breeze. Mama said they were grumpy old things, only good for firewood. But I knew better.

Every morning, I'd sneak away, skipping past the last ramshackle hut and into the emerald embrace of the woods. Sunlight filtered through leaves the color of emeralds, dappling the mossy ground in a mosaic of light and shadow. There, I'd curl up at the base of a particularly friendly-looking oak, its branches gnarled like ancient arms.

One day, as I confided my dreams of becoming a knight (even though girls weren't allowed) a voice rumbled from above. "Dreams are like seeds, little one. You must plant them carefully to make them grow."

I jumped, sending a flurry of startled birds into the air. Looking around, I saw no one. Then, a faint giggle seemed to escape the leaves above. "Down here, silly," the voice whispered.

Following the sound, I found a face carved into the bark - eyes like little pools of amber and a mischievous smile. The oak was talking! I squeaked, my heart pounding a frantic rhythm against my ribs.

"Don't be scared," the oak chuckled, the sound like rustling leaves. "I'm Oakheart, and it's not every day a brave little knight visits."

From that day on, Oakheart became my secret friend. He told me stories of the world before humans, of dragons that soared through the sky and mischievous sprites that danced among the wildflowers. He taught me about the secrets hidden within the woods - medicinal herbs, animal languages, and the importance of listening to the whispers on the wind.

One afternoon, a heavy silence settled over the woods. The usual chatter of leaves and chirping of birds were gone. Oakheart looked grim, his bark ashen. "The Blight," he rasped, his voice weak. "It's back."

The Blight was a terrifying story Oakheart had told me - a creeping darkness that choked life from the land. My small heart constricted. "But what can I do?" I whispered, tears welling in my eyes.

Oakheart's eyes softened. "The Blight feeds on fear. You, little one, are made of courage. Sing for the forest, sing your dreams, and the woods will sing with you."

Hesitantly, I began to sing. I sang about the dancing fireflies, the playful squirrels, and the whispers that carried wishes to the moon. My voice, shaky at first, grew stronger, carrying through the silent woods. As I sang, the air shimmered, and a faint green glow emanated from the leaves.

Slowly, the silence was broken. A timid chirp, a leaf rustling in the breeze, then another. The green glow intensified, spreading through the trees like a tide. The woods were waking up!

Exhausted but exhilarated, I collapsed at the base of Oakheart. "You did it," he whispered, his voice stronger. "Your courage, your song, it pushed back the Blight."

Looking up at the sun-dappled leaves, I knew the woods were safe, for now. And I, Wren, the village girl with a voice clear and strong, knew that even the smallest could make a difference, especially with the help of a wise old oak tree and the magic of friendship.

News of the Blight's retreat spread like wildfire. Villagers, who once saw the Whispering Woods with suspicion, now looked upon it with awe. They cautiously ventured in, leaving offerings of thanks at the base of the trees. My secret, of course, couldn't stay hidden for long.

When the villagers discovered my connection to the woods, fear turned to something else: wonder. I became a bridge between the village and the forest. The children, no longer afraid, followed me into the woods, their laughter echoing through the trees. We learned the language of the flowers from the dancing dandelions and the secrets of the stars from the wise old owl.

One day, a grand celebration was held at the edge of the woods. Lanterns cast a warm glow on the faces of the villagers, their eyes filled with gratitude. The village elder, a weathered man named Ben, stepped forward.

"Wren," he boomed, his voice filled with respect, "you have shown us the true heart of the Whispering Woods. You have reminded us that courage doesn't come from size, but from the strength within."

He presented me with a small, intricately carved wooden sword. "This," he declared, "is a symbol of your bravery. You may not be allowed to be a knight, but you are our forest guardian, our friend."

Tears welled up in my eyes. It wasn't just the sword, a tangible symbol of their acceptance. It was the warmth in their eyes, the recognition of the bond I shared with the woods and the magic it held.

From then on, I wasn't just Wren, the little girl who talked to trees. I was Wren, the protector of the Whispering Woods, a symbol of courage and the unwavering connection between humans and nature.

Years later, when my hair turned the silver of moonlight and my steps grew slower, I still visited Oakheart. One day, as I sat beside him, a new voice, young and curious, filled the air.

"Grandma Wren," a little girl with bright, inquisitive eyes peeked from behind the oak, "tell me again about the time you sang away the Blight!"

I smiled, my heart brimming with a love as deep and ancient as the Whispering Woods itself. This new generation, unafraid, their laughter echoing through the trees – that was the sweetest reward of all. The magic of the woods, the stories whispered on the wind, would continue, carried by the courage of a little girl and the unwavering friendship of a wise old oak.

Short StoryFantasyFableAdventure
2

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen2 months ago

    Great to have so many saviors in stories.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.