Fiction logo

Sometimes, we lie

Or always

By Lisa HerdmanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
3
Photo by Suzy Hazelwood

Dear Myra,

Grandma Jo was a liar. She told me the world was hopeless, and that everything keeps getting worse. That is simply not true.

I believe that nothing is getting worse, but we are all pulling back the curtain together. We are opening as a family. We’re cutting through the bullshit. Pulling back the curtain means those problems have always been there, but no one wanted to admit it before. I'm not sure if anyone wants to admit it now.

I think it just hurts sometimes when things change. A lot of people are not prepared to change and would rather stomp their feet and say they don't want to talk about it. It's so much easier to say the world is "getting worse" than to really stop and think about why you feel that way. I think it is also easier to face bad things when you try to keep them vague and not personal.

And it all sucks, I’m definitely not trying to deny that! But there is a clear line between the ones in our family that have taken this chance to open themselves up, become more vulnerable, and the ones who have built their walls higher to keep themselves safe. I hope they understand one day that they can't always run from things that don't make sense.

Grandma Jo told me that our cousins, Keith and Jake, had something wrong with them. Their lives were full of so much drama and that they’ll never calm down. They were low class, struggling. I don’t believe that either. Jake started selling cars and bought his own house, and Keith got married and has two little boys. I think that life can get messy, and it is meant to be messy!

Everyone grows differently. A sunflower grows straight up, but ivy has a way of curling and climbing and clinging on to anything it can find. The sunflower dies fast, and the ivy might hurt other things along the way, but here we all are breathing the same air and staring at the same sun.

I left a huge bouquet on Grandma Jo’s grave yesterday. I told her about all the things she was wrong about and asked her to be more polite in the afterlife. I’m all she has left now, as no one else ever comes to see her grave. I wish she would have let more people in. I tell her all the good things too, and I'm sure that being pleasantly wrong doesn't hurt her feelings too badly. I’m sorry she never came to see you. I think it was just too painful for her, and she was the type to build walls so high she could no longer see what was on the other side.

I hope you are doing well. I want you to know that I think about you constantly. Your ice cream bowl has become a permanent decoration on top of my fridge. (Don't worry, I don't let anyone use it.) Sometimes, when I buy pistachio ice cream, I'll wish I was sharing it with you.

Anyway, I love you dearly. I still have all the shells you sent me in those glass bottles, along with some sand. I plan to write a letter every year now, so expect to get one from me until I finally get to see you again.

Sincerely,

Allynne

P.S. I found a really cute decorative rock with a ladybug on it that I’m leaving this letter under near the bouquet I left for you.

ExcerptShort Storyfamily
3

About the Creator

Lisa Herdman

I'm learning to be wildly inappropriate, ridiculous, needy - and alive.

Thank you so much for all the support!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a year ago

    Hey, Lisa. Is Myra someone you knew, your mother or sister perhaps, or someone you have imagined? Because if you imagined her, you did a great job. This felt completely from your breaking heart--sad, hopeful & sincere. And Grandma Jo? Is she someone you know, whose grave you visit from time to time alone? And why do you go? Does she serve as a cautionary tale for you? Do you worry about her & hope she's doing well, or at least better. Does it make you sad, standing there alone beside her grave, not so much for her absence as for her misery of attitude while she was here? I'm not sure whether I am asking these questions of you, Lisa, or of me. But this was beautiful, poignant & evocative. It obviously stirred something in me.

  • F. Leonora Solomonabout a year ago

    there was a tattoo i saw that said even in death we are family--this reminds me of that in the best way. life sure is messy Lisa and you know how to capture the mess and make it beautiful.❤️

  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Ms Lisa - I like your Grandma and I like you for telling this — I wrote an article about the changed ‘World’ from a different slant! “The Edge” But you did a better job! — No Lie! — Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, Cal ‘Senior’ Vocal Author

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.