Fiction logo

Snowy Grave

The End…

By Alexis Dean Jr.Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
1

If this is what it feels like, then I’ll happily wish this moment for everyone. This is the way I dreamed I’d go. Few carefully commit to climbing 29,000 feet without considering the chance of themselves being one of the 300 that will never return home. I was not one of the few. I planned every step in my journal. Every entry had a date. And I thoughtfully considered my chances of survival.

The numbing pain in my fingertips, the stiffness of my limbs, the euphoric feeling of reaching the peak, and the gratification of dying while still on top has made my laugh uncontrollable. The shivering has stopped. My breathing has slowed. As I lose consciousness and my control, my body refuses to frown. I solidify on the ground, and can picture all the moments that brought me here. All the faces of despair, horror, and determination at Base Camp. The stories of possible avalanches and ghosts that fueled my sleep deprivation. The last crunch I heard from my team’s boots as they decided to proceed without me.

I started this journey fighting for my warmth to return. And, now I’m more emotional than I could ever imagine. As I watch my last breaths escape and quickly disappear in the air, I’m relieved to finally be able to feel again. If I could reach my journal and steadily hold my pen, I’d scribble for anyone looking for me:

I FOUND MY SMILE.

IT’S STILL IN THE SNOW.

The End.

MicrofictionPsychological
1

About the Creator

Alexis Dean Jr.

Alexis “L.E.X” Dean Jr. is a clean Hip-Hop artist, poet, and educator from Milwaukee, WI. As a writer and music artist, he focuses on the importance of educating through his words and stories...

IG: @DreamsStartYoung

DreamsStartYoung.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Penny Fuller3 months ago

    I love the paradox of meeting a goal and being happy to die atop the peak. This brings interesting thoughts about letting go when dying, nice work.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.