Fiction logo

Snowy Commute

The longest wait

By Heather Zieffle Published 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
20

Wrapping my plaid scarf around my face, I head out my front door. It’s early, the overcast sky adding to the darkness of the winter morning.

The stillness captivates me, the crunch of my boots in the deep snow is the only sound as I make my way to the bus stop. Lazy flakes continue to fall, and glittering trees turn the plain street magical.

The first snowfall was always exciting.

Similarly bundled faces greet me as I take a place near the bus shelter, and I return their muffled “Hellos” with a courteous nod.

The air around us fogs from our combined breaths and the sound of stomping feet is loud as we try to keep our toes from freezing.

We focus our stares on the slow-moving traffic, hopeful our ride is just around the corner.

It’s snowing harder now, the flakes hitting with stinging force against wind-chapped cheeks. The same frost that coats the trees now coats my eyelashes. I don’t think it looks as nice on me as it does on the trees.

As the minutes tick by without any sign of our bus, the frozen landscape no longer seems so mystical. Booted feet shuffle restlessly, and scarfs are pulled tighter as a sort of desperation fills the surrounding group.

Using my teeth to pull my glove off, I check the app on my phone. “Delayed by 20 minutes,” I gasp.

A collective groan from my fellows before someone mumbles. “Damn. I miss summer!”

Microfiction
20

About the Creator

Heather Zieffle

I've been writing for a few years, and I'm grateful to have found my passion! I've self-published several sci-fi romance novels on Amazon, but want to branch out into fantasy soon. Any feedback is welcome!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor4 days ago

    Hi-Hz ~ Such a marvelous StoryTeller ~ I'm putting on my gloves as a read through; never owned a scarf. Living in So. Cal we have the beach/snow/desert within short reach; but, I've never felt the need to do snow-cold; even to impress the girls....Hmm! - Always with my Respect - j.in.l.a.

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Shamreena3 months ago

    Well written 😌✨

  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    Wonderfully relatable 😌

  • Paul Stewart3 months ago

    This is exceptional. Taking a tiny relatable slice of life and just using that to deftly describe the details so that we feel like we're there. Stunning work Heather, congrats on a fine fine Top Story!

  • ROCK 3 months ago

    Oh, how I relate to this. Excellent, skilfully procured!

  • Alistairpo3 months ago

    Great tekst

  • Marie Wilson3 months ago

    A good read, invoking all kinds of community & shivers! Congrats on TS!

  • JBaz3 months ago

    Been there more than once My toes are still frozen Congratulations

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Awesome work! Your writing really pulls the reader into the scene- a masterfully drawn moment! Congrats on the top story!! :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.